We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good and bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Mahina Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Mahina Beach Resort
Save
You added Hale Mahina Beach Resort to your Saves list
3875 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“good and bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There is good and bad about Hale Mahina.  We spent two weeks there in January.  First the good.  The grounds, beach and pool area are lovely.  There are beautiful hibiscus flowers of many colors.  Larry, the resident manager, does an excellent job of keeping everything clean and neat.  There is a nice sand beach and an area with no rocks where you can get in the ocean.  It is not a long stretch and is confined by lava rocks on both sides so not enough for much of a walk.  There is a small pool but the deep end is 7 feet, too deep for small kids.  Also a very small hot tub.  Sea turtles sometimes come up on the beach for a long nap. Like many other condos on this stretch, you better not be a light sleeper or you better have some foam earplugs, because the street noise will cause you problems at night or early morning.

We stayed in unit B-101.   It is nicely furnished with 2 recliners and a couch.  It is tastefully decorated.  The interior of the unit is very livable.  Well supplied with dishes and pots.  It has a nice kitchen area with stainless steel appliances including a full-size refrigerator and granite counters..  All the usual small appliances including blender, toaster, microwave, etc.  There is a good sized TV with cable.  The bathroom is nicely tiled and there is granite in there as well.  The artwork on the walls is very nice.

There is one ridiculous aspect of the complex.  There are no gas grills.  There are 4 charcoal grills, only 2 that are usable.  This is so 1980.  First you have to buy the charcoal.  It takes a half hour for the coals to be ready to grill, This means that while your coals are heating, other folks are waiting around, or you are waiting for them.  Also, it takes a long time to cook your food, much longer than with gas.  And who wants to mess with dirty charcoal today?  This is the only complex we have been in, wherever we have been, without gas grills.  Spend a thousand bucks and buy some grills.  There are 42 units here.  It can’t cost much each to buy the grills and propane.

Unit B-101 has some serious downsides.  It has a dirty carpet.  You can’t keep a carpet clean when people are coming in from the beach, so tile the place.  There is no lanai.  There is a  concrete slab that extends 3 feet from the sliding glass door, Where the concrete ends there is  dirt, or mud when it rains.  More reason for dirty carpeting  There are 4 disgustingly old and weathered patio chairs.  If you choose to put a towel over these and sit on them, your feet are in the dirt, or mud.  Other ground floor units have lanais that are tiled and extend 8 feet out, with better patio furniture and you can get an ocean view.   In fact the unit next door, owned by the same person I heard, has a lanai with nice furniture.

The sidewalk that separates the two buildings of the complex comes right in front of B-101, so people often walk by, and look into the unit.

The ocean view is seriously obstructed by foliage and another building.  There is no ocean view from most areas inside the unit.  In fact, most ground floor units in this complex are obstructed by foliage.

This unit is not accessible for handicapped individuals as there are 2 steps from the bedroom to the kitchen.

The shower is partially enclosed by a glass panel.  There is no shower door.  This necessitates getting into the shower before turning it on, meaning you have to stand in cold water until it heats up. It is difficult to keep some of the water from going out on the floor.  It does have a nice shower head.

The unit is on the beach, but we had no beach towels.  We called the management company who referred us to  the office, but there is no office.  We called the cleaning company who rented us 2 beach towels for $2 each.  Why didn’t the owner go to Costco and buy a few beach towels?  Tenants should not be required to buy or rent their own beach towels.

It is hard to understand how an owner who has spent a lot of money on the interior of the unit has not spent the additional money needed to improve it.  

Final verdict:  Can I recommend Hale Mahina?  Yes, with reservations.   But, even with the nice and liveable interior, not Unit B101.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    31
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
73
63
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
De Winton Alberta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at this condo to find thick dust, hair leaves etc under the bedroom furniture. Obviously only cleaned around the edges. There are now curtains at the windows not blinds as previously stated in a another recent review. The countertops were redone and a new stove and microwave. The refrigerator water and ice dispenser does not work. The dishwasher is gradually melting inside. There were two broken toasters and when we asked for one that worked she said basically it is what it is???? She then sent another email to say that a new one was on its way, which needless to say never arrived. The buiding manager Larry was kind enough to lend us one. The light on the lanai in a previously mentioned review is still not working because she won't replace it.
She repainted the walls in the condo herself and there is paint everywhere baseboards, floor, trim etc. We had to peel painters tape from all sorts of places.
The pot lights in the bathroom have no covers on them and are filthy. There is a slab of raw wood above the washer and dryer. No cleaning utensils save a very dirty broom and dustpan and brush. Vanity sink is rotting away and the tap is very hard to turn to change the water temperature. The kitchen cabinets are in a very poor state of repair. The chairs and the ceiling on the Lanai are growing mould. Finding space to hang clothes or store suitcases was a challenge at least. Every cupboard is full of her junk including numerous fold away beds, even one under the bed in the bedroom. One of the kitchen cabinets was crammed full of old paint cans. This unit is noisy due to its proximity to the pool and the hot tub and the bedroom backs on to the car park and the road..
On the upside the resort is small, well managed by Larry and the views are amazing. Whales and turtles galore. Not really suitable for children as there is nowhere for them to play. Basically this condo needs a full renovation.

Room Tip: Condos in the A block are the best, Ground floor units very dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Potomac, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

This lovely, west-facing, top-floor condo is a real GEM! Aside from the very comfortable beds and other furnishings (charming fish-theme throughout), the owners have gone "that extra mile" by providing very nearly all of the comforts and necessities of home for their guests; from kitchen to ocean, binoculars to first aid kits, they have thought of it all. And on top of that, there are the spectacular views from the lanai! Indeed, during our six days, each morning began on the lanai watching sea turtles and rainbows as well as the rose-pink reflections on the clouds from the sunrise behind us. Then, in the late afternoons, we found ourselves hurrying back to the lanai so as not to miss yet another spectacular sunset! A perfect venue!

In addition, the Hale Mahina complex has very well-kept grounds with an immaculate pool and jacuzzi, a pool cabana with an outdoor shower, chaise lounges and chairs, grills, picnic tables and benches, and a very swimmable beach.

Other pluses: Communication with Linda, one of the owners, was excellent. Also, the housekeeper is available should there be any problems. It is obvious that these owners are well-organized and eager to ensure that their guests have a wonderful stay at the "Fish Condo". And their efforts will not be in vain as we cannot wait to schedule a 2-week return trip!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

If you are looking for granite and travertine, move on. If you are looking for a million dollar location on a private beach, keep reading. From what we have seen, B206 is an incredible value. We stayed 8 days and wish we could have added more days. The unit is clean and comfortable. Kitchen is very well outfitted and yes, there was plenty of toilet paper, kleenex, paper towels and regular towels. We don't come to Maui to sit in a unit so we don't care that it is not the absolute fanciest place here. Furniture is comfortable and unit is very clean. We have not seen one single ant or bug of any sort. Owners were great to deal with and responsive to any of our questions. On site manager was super friendly.

View: You sit on your lanai and sip coffee in the morning and a cocktail at sunset. You hear the waves crashing 24/7. Walk 20 feet and you are at the pool or on the perfectly sandy beach. It simply does not get any better than this.

We loved the location because we could walk to a fantastic grocery store/farmers market and get morning coffee or smoothies. We also loved to walk down and connect to the 3 mile "beach walk" on Ka'anapali beach. 5 minute drive to Lahaina.

As far as the previous review my dad had an expression. "If you want to go to heaven, you got to die to get there". If this last reviewer wanted a 2 million dollar unit that looks like a photo out of a Maui magazine, then pay $500 a night. If you want a nice and comfortable condo on the beach, you have found the right choice.

Already looking to book 2016.

Mahala

Mark and Sue

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Vista, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

When you book something online, you never know how it'll turn out, but I'd say we really picked a winner here. Others have criticized this complex as being somewhat dated, but B302 has been completely renovated and we couldn't have been happier. The ceiling fans do a pretty good job of keeping things comfortable, but A/C would've been nice. I've seen other reviews that complained about noise from the adjacent street, but we didn't find that to be a problem at all.
This is truly an oceanfront unit. The lanai overlooks the beach, with the island of Molokai in the distance. The lanai itself is nicely furnished, and we enjoyed the beautiful sunsets every night. Though the beach itself is pretty small, there's a large grass area right above it, which is where the pool is located.
If I had any complaint, the west side of Maui is not relly convenient to the airport, but it's still only about 45 minutes away. There are lots of dining options nearby, and we especially enjoyed Aloha Mixed Plate, Kimo's, and the Paradise Grill, all in Lahaina.
All in all, we couldn't have been happier with this unit. The owner Carole was very helpful, and provided us with lots of suggestions for activities, dining, etc. We'll be back!

Room Tip: This is an older complex, probably built in the 70's. Many of the units have been renovated in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

We stayed in Condo B205 in September 2014.
Positives..
Spacious Lanai with exceptional views of the ocean.
Watching the turtles swim by every day.
Nice pool area with hot tub
Negatives..
No shade or umbrellas provided by the pool area
The condo was VERY DATED. There was a sun umbrella provided but totally unuseable. Broken to bits but still left on the lanai with other rubbish childrens beach toys..( note there is no suitable beach for children to play on anyway, just a small area of sand which the waves crash onto)
No bulb working on the lanai in the evening, as was in fact many of the lamp bulbs in the apt were blown.
The bedroom was dark and dingy with old dark brown wicker window coverings and was VERY noisy due to the proximity of the road.
The bedding was old and dated, not at all inviting. We have travelled extensivlely in all levels of accomodation and even cheap motels have offered clean crisp white linens as norm.
Did,nt want to put our clothes away as the furniture was unappealing.
The washing machine/ dryer had a vent tube which was hanging out of the ceiling.
The kitchen was again VERY dated. The counter top was bashed and damaged and none of the crockery matched. A mismatch of numerous utensils which seemed grubby to use.
The drawers were lined with wallpaper and the kitchen roll holder was hanging off the wall due to rusty screws.
We noticed that a number of these issues were also comented on by anorher reviewer in April 2012 and the owner had responded saying that she was going to address the problems. It appears that the only thing that was sorted was the front door issue.
When we booked this condo we were not given the Condo No until we were e-mailed instructions of directions and entry info etc.
We would not have chosen this condo if we,d found earlier reviews on it.
Avoid B205

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Let me start by saying AWESOME. When you walk through the front door you know you nailed it. Warm, homey, inviting. Every morning we would have our breakfast on the balcony enjoying the warm breezes and phenomenal views. The decor is beachy cool. The walk up and down the stairs makes sure you are getting your exercise in...you can always use the elevator. Our 3 and 5 year old girls pretty much stayed in the ocean or pool the entire time. We had our best family vacation ever. Cheers, Solo

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hale Mahina Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Mahina Beach Resort

Address: 3875 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Hale Mahina Beach Hotel Lahaina
Hale Mahina Beach Lahaina
Hale Mahina Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Mahina Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.