We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A207 is OK but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Mahina Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Mahina Beach Resort
3875 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Palo Alto, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A207 is OK but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent a week here, and maybe the place suffers in comparison to our condo on Kauai, but it felt a little drab and rundown. We actually went to a hardware store to get parts to fix a few of the screens that kept falling off. There is no ice maker though one is advertised. The bedroom faces the street, and views from the deck are obstructed. A207 is woefully short on towels -- apparently each condo is individually owned so there's no consistency from one to the other. No a/c, but that's not unusual.

There are only two charcoal-fired BBQs to be shared by about 70 condos, so there's a lot of traffic between 6:30 and 8. The pool and spa are nice, surrounded by a lawn area, but they're usually full of hollering kids. (Which is fine, especially if you brought some kids of your own.)

But there's plenty of parking and lots of places to shop and eat nearby. You can jump right in the ocean and see turtles while snorkeling -- turn to the left and head southish for a nice little reef.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    31
    10
    3
    6
See reviews for
70
56
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed in B 401 and we had the best time. They had recently remodeled and the décor and furnishings were lovely. We thoroughly enjoyed the beach, it has easy access and we spent every day enjoying the warm water. The pool was lovely, but we didn't really use it when the ocean was RIGHT there calling our names. LOL. Our unit didn't have air conditioning, but it was do-able. There was a breeze every evening. Actually the only "cons" I can think of was it was really quite windy at this location, which we've never experienced before in Maui. REALLY windy a few times where the sand on the beach would actually hurt when it hit you. Maybe it was a fluke. Also there was construction going on in the condo next to us where they were very loud removing tiles and running saws, but I guess that can't be predicted. :( All in all, truly one of the best times we've ever had in Maui, and a good value for beachfront and near Kaanapali, Lahaina, etc. LOVED it.

Room Tip: B 401 is a corner unit with a nice cross breeze to cool you down at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longislandny
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My family just finished the most amazing vacation at Hale Mahina in this unit. Everything about it was perfect. The views are spectacular! The master bedroom and bath are off the hook. All day and night you hear the waves crashing. So many thoughtful special details throughout the condo. The kitchen is loaded with every possible utensil Appliance beautiful dishes great heavy pots and pans. We love to cook and it was just terrific. all of the beds were so comfortable with soft high thread count sheets and cozy king size pillows. Many fluffy oversized beachtowels boogie boards and snorkel gear were also there for us to use. This unit is particularly special because it is on the top floor and the cathedral ceilings are just gorgeous wooden planks. It felt quite spacious with my husband tonight and our three children in their 20s. The grounds of the condo are also meticulously cared for with loads of gorgeous flowering trees and a beautiful pool and hot tub. I would've cried when we left if we weren't heading for the onion house on the big Island. Thanks Randy and family for a wonderful vacation in Maui!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at The Fish condo as we had stayed in other condos nearby and had seen the building. The advantage of the Hale Mahina is that it has a beautiful pool and jacuzzi on the ocean side with a wide lawn before the nice beach (with large turtles feet away from shore and often visiting the shore) so it creates a very nice social area for activities and as a view from your balcony. The Fish Condo is on the 4th floor which creates great ocean views from the generous balcony and two story ocean view window and there is an elevator close to the front door to make the climb easy. Having a good shower and bath on each floor was also convenient as is having one bedroom on each floor. The condo was very clean and very well stocked with beach gear and kitchen tools and we had a great time! You can't beat it for the price and for my taste I would much rather be there with an "at home" feel than in a much more expensive hotel. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

In mid April 2014, my family stayed in Fish Condo A-406 for 13 days. It was WONDERFUL!!! The condo is decorated very cute and spacious and the kitchen is to die for stocked with everything you need and then some! It is right on the beach with a view so beautiful.Lots of huge Turtles, Whale sightings galore and yummy yummy sunsets and rainbows. Beds are very comfortable and bathrooms stocked with your every need! Linda (the owner) is a phone call away if you need ANYTHING!!!! There are so many extra things provided like boogie boards, coolers for picnics, BBQ's, etc etc.When I vacation I like to pick a location that is NOT a "Party" place. I want quiet and less people. This is that place. We will be staying there on a regular basis!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln City, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Just returned from a week in Maui, where we stayed at the Fish Condo, A-406 at the Hale Mahina Beach Resort. It was the perfect place for my sister and me to unwind. Cheerful, fun fish decor, nicely appointed kitchen and comfortable beds. We had our coffee on the lanai each morning and saw plenty of turtles and even whales breaching in the distance. I stayed in the guest bedroom, which does have road noise, as mentioned in other posts, but I can't say it bothered me that much. I know when I first stayed at this complex, I was worried about the lack of air conditioning, but it really is not a problem with doors and windows left open, thanks to the tradewinds. We had a great time snorkeling every day at a different spot and driving around the island. But probably our favorite times were just hanging around the condo and swimming/snorkeling at the little beach there. It may not be Honolua Bay (a can't miss BTW), but it is convenient and I actually saw a fair number of fish... just steps from the condo! Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best view and the Fish Condo is on the top floor of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This condo has a lovely view of the water and all the amenities you could want. It's on the top floor so there's a lovely loft area, perfect for parents while the kids sleep below on the fold-out couch. Our daughters started in the additional bedroom, but road noise was hard to keep out with the louvered windows. Other reviews mention this, and my suspicion is that the building is now old enough so these windows can never be completely closed- hence the road noise. But on the beach side of the building, the sound of wind and waves blocks out any road noise. That and the plentiful pool toys, beach and snorkeling gear and well-stocked kitchen made for a lovely visit. It was the end of March, so we not only saw turtles in the water, but one came up on the beach, and there were whales breaching in the distance. For families with young children, I would highly recommend the Fish Condo. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hale Mahina Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Mahina Beach Resort

Address: 3875 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Hale Mahina Beach Hotel Lahaina
Hale Mahina Beach Lahaina
Hale Mahina Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Mahina Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hale Mahina Beach Resort to your Saves list