We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Views (Sunset Amazing) B206” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Mahina Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Mahina Beach Resort
Bookmark
You added Hale Mahina Beach Resort to your Saves list
3875 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Views (Sunset Amazing) B206”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We really had a great time and the room and views are amazing! We traveled with our kids 10 & 8. They were water bunnies all week long.

The location: You are 10 minutes from downtown and 5 minutes from Kaanapalli resort area.

Room Tip: Amazing views from this room. No A/C but solid fans and the room airs out with a great draft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    31
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
73
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thornton, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I was extremely pleased with our stay at the "Fish condo" A-406. The folks that manage it are very through and thought of every detail. I have no doubt this is the best condo in the complex. I will be going back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We loved our stay at Hale Mahina. The condo is close to Kaanapali and Lahaina, but far enough to avoid their crowded beaches and general noise. It doesn't get any better than a private lanai only a few steps to the ocean shore, and AMAZING sunsets every night. We saw several sea turtles swimming and sleeping on the beach during our visit. The best thing about Hale Mahina is how quiet it is! Even with the pool close by, all the guests and residents are very respectful of others. Owners Garrett and Dianna are very hospitable and welcomed us with a "Maui fruit basket". They also keep lots of beach gear for visitors to borrow during their stay: snorkels, masks, beach towels, etc. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantua, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our family of 4 had a wonderful stay at the Fish Condo. This unit was fabulous with a beautiful ocean front view, a wonderful master and guest bedroom that had very comfortable beds, linens etc. The place is so peaceful at night time sitting by the pool or listening to the waves crash from the balcony. Everyone at the Hale Mahina were so friendly and the location was exceptional. We ate at Dukes (5 minutes away), shopped at the Whalers Village and Lahina (10 minutes max), and loved going to Napili Bay (5 minutes away). Our daughters ages 15 and 13 never wanted to leave the condo! We would recommend this Condo and expecially this unit to anyone.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 4th floor are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

After a week on Oahu with family my wife and I were ready for some quiet time. We had invited our favorite travel friends for a week on Maui and found the Fish Condo (A-406 at Hale Mahina) just north of Lahaina. All the reviews we found were outstanding, which made us somewhat suspicious, but from our initial contact with the owner we began to understand why. Not only do the pictures truly represent the condo but every contact and email we had with the owners was fantastic. The condo was perfectly setup to meet all our needs and the location could not have been better. If we ever find ourselves making a trip to Maui again we will definitely look at the Fish Condo first.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our family loved the Hale Mahina! We stayed right before Christmas and didn't want to leave. We swam with the turtles everyday! The kids played in the pool and hot tub. We read books on the lanai and watched the sunsets and waves break directly in front of us. It was great having a beach to yourself! The condo was perfect for our family. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen and living room were plenty big enough. It was clean and nicely decorated. We were greeted with a bowl of local fruits which we enjoyed immediately! The condo is located near grocery stores, restaurants, and a paved beach walk near the larger hotels. You can walk to most of these, but we drove because of the kids. The snorkeling is OK here, but it is better up the road at Kapalua beach. The thing about this place is, it feels like a home, not a hotel. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife made the resos after a recommendation from her friend. There are certainly aspects of this place I would rate higher than a 3. The view is terrific and the ground/beach are great. Private and kept up well. The room was pretty nice but was laid out kinda funky and could stand some updating. Left at that this is a 4 for sure. However this place is really noisy and I mean really. Some nites were better than others, but apparently her friend failed to mention they bring earplugs. Also I like to meander around where we stay. You can walk a VERY limited beach, but there really isn't much else. A couple of areas a ways south, but nothing basically around here. We drove everywhere and walked very little. The opposite of what I'd like to do. Adequate, but if I had been choosing, I would have gone somewhere else for a different area. Everyone I talked to liked the facilities, except the noise. I think some units are better than ours.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hale Mahina Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Mahina Beach Resort

Address: 3875 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Hale Mahina Beach Hotel Lahaina
Hale Mahina Beach Lahaina
Hale Mahina Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Mahina Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.