We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week at the Fish Condo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Mahina Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Mahina Beach Resort
3875 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 28 hotels in Lahaina
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
“Week at the Fish Condo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

After a week on Oahu with family my wife and I were ready for some quiet time. We had invited our favorite travel friends for a week on Maui and found the Fish Condo (A-406 at Hale Mahina) just north of Lahaina. All the reviews we found were outstanding, which made us somewhat suspicious, but from our initial contact with the owner we began to understand why. Not only do the pictures truly represent the condo but every contact and email we had with the owners was fantastic. The condo was perfectly setup to meet all our needs and the location could not have been better. If we ever find ourselves making a trip to Maui again we will definitely look at the Fish Condo first.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    30
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
66
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our family loved the Hale Mahina! We stayed right before Christmas and didn't want to leave. We swam with the turtles everyday! The kids played in the pool and hot tub. We read books on the lanai and watched the sunsets and waves break directly in front of us. It was great having a beach to yourself! The condo was perfect for our family. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen and living room were plenty big enough. It was clean and nicely decorated. We were greeted with a bowl of local fruits which we enjoyed immediately! The condo is located near grocery stores, restaurants, and a paved beach walk near the larger hotels. You can walk to most of these, but we drove because of the kids. The snorkeling is OK here, but it is better up the road at Kapalua beach. The thing about this place is, it feels like a home, not a hotel. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife made the resos after a recommendation from her friend. There are certainly aspects of this place I would rate higher than a 3. The view is terrific and the ground/beach are great. Private and kept up well. The room was pretty nice but was laid out kinda funky and could stand some updating. Left at that this is a 4 for sure. However this place is really noisy and I mean really. Some nites were better than others, but apparently her friend failed to mention they bring earplugs. Also I like to meander around where we stay. You can walk a VERY limited beach, but there really isn't much else. A couple of areas a ways south, but nothing basically around here. We drove everywhere and walked very little. The opposite of what I'd like to do. Adequate, but if I had been choosing, I would have gone somewhere else for a different area. Everyone I talked to liked the facilities, except the noise. I think some units are better than ours.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in June 2013. 2 adults, 3 kids (ages 8,5,1). We rented room A405, a two room, two bathroom condo on the top floor of the resort.

Pros:
Management: Beth (the owner) is great. Very responsive, easy to work with. No issues at all. She makes sure you have what you need.

Value: Great value for the price. No concerns with the price. very reasonable for a beachfront condo on Maui.

The Condo: The rooms were great. Great beds, 1 king, 1 queen, and a pull out couch. Large kitchen with everything you need to cook. 2 bathrooms, 2 showers/baths. Family room was a good size. Balcony was great. LIterally right on top of the ocean. Room was very clean. The room also has boggie boards, life jackets, beach toys, beach towels, beach chairs, snorkle gear. We brought all of that as we'd stayed in Oahu, but nice to know it's there if needed.

The Beach: Perfect! You essentially have you own beach. It's amazing! We had huge sea turtles swimming by every 10 mins, even had some come on shore to sun bath. That was amazing. The sand is perfect. There are some coral reefs to one side of the condo where we snorkled. Waves are mild. Kids could boggie board, but not adults. The beach was never crowded. Typically had it our ourselves or shared it with 3-4 more people. We didn't leave the condo for the first 3 days because we didn't need to.

Resort: The pool is great. Clean, great temp. Also has a hot tub. The best part of the resort is that there is a large grassy area before the beach. The condo provides beach chairs which you can keep on the grass and not get everything so sandy. Was great for us since we had young kids. I was also amazed at how well the grounds are maintained. Landscaping is perfect.

Location: Lahaina is a great town in Maui. 30-40 min drive from the airport. Lots of shopping and restaurants. Only a 5 minute drive to DT Flemming Beach (Top US Beach Trip Advisor 2006) and Ka'anapali Beach (Top US Beach Trip Advisor 2013).

DT Flemming Beach Park was the highlight of my time in Maui. Perfect waves for boggie boarding. I could spend days at this beach. We went twice. BIt too rough for smaller kids, but my 8 year old was able to boggie board with me with just a few minor wipe outs. I loved this beach. Not crowded, great waves, soft sand. A slice of heaven.

Also a very short drive (<5 mins) to a supermarket. We cooked most meals at the condo. The store has everything. No need to stop at Walmart by the airport. This one is much better, fewer crowds, and good prices.

Cons:
Condo doesn't have AC. with the windows open and fans you don't need it. you'll be fine as the temp is usually mild and there is always a strong breeze. But it did make it loud to have the windows open at times. There is a fairly busy road behind the condo. For the most part, not a big deal. Could only hear outside noise in the first bedroom. That's the only negative from my perspective.

We loved our stay in the Hale Mahina. I read reviews that the onsite property manager is unpleasant. We had no issues. Only saw him once a day when he was cleaning the pool. He was great. I'm not sure you can beat this location. Private beautiful beach (with turtles) and close access to some of the best beaches in Hawaii. Highly recommended and we would return.

Room Tip: 4th floor (top floor) has amazing views and gets a great breeze. Room A405 was great. bottom floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The "Fish Condo" was a great place for our family to stay while vacationing in Maui. It was a home away from home. We had almost everything we needed in the kitchen plus all the other extras for laundry and bath. The view from the lanai was amazing! We really enjoyed eating our evening meals on the lanai while watching the sun set. Just gorgeous! The people at the complex were very courteous and friendly. The pool was a favourite with the kids as well as the sand and ocean. We are looking forward to another vacation stay at the "Fish Condo". A very memorable experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This was our first trip to Hawaii and we were a bit nervous about the "Fish" condo because things aren't always what they appear to be on line. But this was by far one of the best places we've stayed in! It was clean, well equipped right down to binoculars for viewing whales and other sea creatures off the beautiful balcony. The owners have gone above and beyond to make certain that their guests are comfortable and feel at home. I can't say enough about how wonderful our trip was thanks to the lovely place we were fortunate enough to have stayed in.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Hawaii 5 times and can say without hesitation this is the best beach,best view you could possibly imagine. Perfect virtually private beach, views of two other islands,stunning sunsets,visits from sea turtles,great snorkeling. The grounds exceptional as well,immaculate and beautiful landscaping.

We stayed in 205 - A. Upgraded kitchen,two sinks in bathroom,washer and dryer,a balcony with a spectacular view. Wonderful breeze all the time. The street noise in the bedroom is the only downside. But we slept very well,it never really bothered us.

Our fellow vacationers ranged from young honeymooners,families with small children to older couples. We never felt crowded or were disturbed in any way. Everyone was so polite and considerate.

We will be back ....

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hale Mahina Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Mahina Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Hale Mahina Beach Hotel Lahaina
Hale Mahina Beach Hotel
Hale Mahina Beach Lahaina
Hale Mahina
Hale Mahina Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina
Address: 3875 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Mahina Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hale Mahina Beach Resort to your Saves list