We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again for sure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Mahina Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Mahina Beach Resort
Save Saved
You added Hale Mahina Beach Resort to your Saves list
3875 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
Palisade, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Would stay here again for sure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was our first trip to Hawaii and we were very pleased with our stay here. The grounds are beautiful and immaculate, family friendly and just the right size. The swimmable beach (not easily found!) was a real gem. (It's flanked on both sides by rocks, so it's pretty "private"). Huge Honu (green sea turtles) in these waters every day. A monk seal made her way onto the beach one day for a looong nap. Lots of chaise loungers and chairs available (free) for use. Pool is a little chilly, sauna is very nice. Grassy yard is terriffic for lounging on - no sand in your sandwich! We didn't venture to many other beaches because this one was just perfect, especially if you have kids, or just want to be close to your unit for meals, snacks, naps, etc. The manager (Larry) is friendly and helpful. We read some other critical reviews before our trip that made us hesitant to book here, but those are not true reflections of this property. (Probably had obnoxious children!) There is road noise at night, but I think all the properties along this strech of road are likely the same. (It wasn't terrible). We were in unit B201. The queen bed is ok, the pull out couch bed was fine for kids but not very comfortable for an adult (never met a pull out couch that was!). We saw around five teeny tiny ants in the kitchen one day when food was left on the counter. Otherwise, not a single bug! (Keep your food - all of it - in the fridge). This unit had a boogie board for use, laundry soap, dishwasher soap and two beach towels. Hair drier could be replaced. Plenty of bath and kitchen towels. Extra pillows and blankets. Toaster, coffee maker and supplies, plenty of dishes, untensils, some spices, etc. Large portable fan. We didn't watch TV once, so can't speak for that. Furniture was clean and comfortable. Close to shopping and dining. Safe area - we saw people out jogging early, early in the morning each day.

Perks to staying on a 2nd or higher floor - great views of the ocean for whale watching. Perks of a ground floor unit - walk right out into the yard and beach from your unit (rather than out the front, down stairs and through a locked gate each time). Unit A is further from the pool and faces the ocean more.

Room Tip: Perks to staying on a 2nd or higher floor - great views of the ocean for whale watching. Perks of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    31
    11
    3
    6
See reviews for
72
57
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I came here with my family on Christmas break and I was in love with the ocean front. I loved the private and quiet (and CLEAN) little beach. Not a lot of other hotels in Maui offer that! It wasn't super fancy so all of the people were really down to earth! It was perfect to have a grassy area with a good ocean view... It's more comfortable than lying right on the sand, but still had the same beachy feel and experience. The pool was also very clean and a nice temperature.

We had a few problems with appliances, however. The toaster clearly had some safety issues, as it shocked my sister a few times. The washer and dryer kind of sucked (we were in a condo style) and the vacuum did a less than stellar job. Otherwise it was well equipped and well kept!

The staff we met was all very welcoming as well, and it was surprisingly affordable for the time of year, location and cleanliness. I'd stay here again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Choose a ground level room, so you can walk right out to the beach rather than coming down a flight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

What an absolutely wonderful place to spend your vacation! We enjoyed everything about this place, we couldn't have asked for anything else, it had it all! The view is absolutely fantastic! It was really nice to have a pool and the beach right there, without having to drive to find one! We had 4 adults and a 2-year old, and it fit us all comfortably.
There were turtles that showed up at the beach everyday, they were the highlight of our vacation :)
We were a little worried about the lack of A/C, but like other reviews mentioned, you can get enough cross breeze through the condo that it cooled it off nicely.
Having the beach toys & snorkel gear available for our use was also very handy and convenient!

From the first time in contact with the owners, they were friendly & pleasurable to deal with.

We loved this place, and would recommend it to anyone wanting a great place to stay, and we also hope to return :)

Room Tip: Units in the "A" building will have sun on the lanai's in the afternoon - it didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Beautifully appointed, comfortable beds, and equipped with everything you could ask for....from kitchen and snorkeling equipment to post it notes! The location is convenient - an easy walk to stores or a 10 minute drive to Lahaina. Although there is no air conditioning, both the breeze, and the fans kept us cool. We spent 6 blissful days here enjoying the private beach and the well kept grounds and pool. The view from the lanai is spectacular - especially at sunset. Mornings were also spent on the lanai watching the sea turtles...all in all a great place to just relax. Super people as well - One of the residents kindly shared his hot bbq coals so we could cook our dinner without waiting. Linda is one of the owners and is informative, well organized and easy to deal with. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Fantastic condo equipped with everything you need from beach gear to kitchen utensils. Great location and beautiful grounds. Nice private beach and a postcard view from the lanai. Very comfortable condo - would stay again without hesitation!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

In short, this place is amazing, when we stepped into the apartment we stepped into a postcard of Hawaii.
The fit out of the apartment was tastefully done, no small feat when the lamps are pineapples, the furniture perfectly suited to the environment, and very comfortable, and when you step onto the deck the view is amazing with palm trees, sand and ocean.
We spent 4 nights here on our honeymoon after time in Waikiki and Hilo and this was the easily the highlight of our trip.
The apartment come with everything you could want and with a large supermarket just down the road, we didn't rent a car and the walk was a comfortable 20 minutes, everything is easily available.
The owners are great to deal with and i woudl very happily stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chehalis
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful 11 day stay at the Hale Mahina. We've been to the other islands but had not been back to Maui since our honeymoon 35 years ago. Things have changed on Maui!!! This one bedroom condo is an end unit, with windows down the side in the living, kitchen, bath and bedroom, which was great for the cross-ventilation and no one walks outside your door. It was nicely appointed with just about everything you'd need for an extended stay. Some things were new, some needed attention, but nothing to make you stay away from this unit. Larry, the manager, was very nice and the grounds are kept impecible. The nice sandy beach is wonderful and shared by only 4 condos. Rarely more than 10-20 people on the beach. The sea turtles were fantastic and sometimes crawl up on the beach to take in the sunshine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hale Mahina Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Mahina Beach Resort

Address: 3875 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Hale Mahina Beach Hotel Lahaina
Hale Mahina Beach Lahaina
Hale Mahina Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Mahina Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.