We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really the Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mahina Surf

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mahina Surf
4057 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% OFF 14+ Night Stay
Ranked #11 of 42 Specialty lodging in Lahaina
A TripAdvisor Member
“Really the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2004

This turned out to be the most wonderful place for a holiday. The ocean and sunset views are second to none. The unit are nicely equipped including full kitchens. Although there was no air conditioning, bit was not needed with the nice trade winds which blow through the condominium. There were also two ceiling fans which kept it very pleasant. It was very nice to have high speed internet access available at no extra charge to keep track of family email and news. You will really enjoy the park like setting of this condominium with the beautiful gardens and flowers. It certaily deserves a 5 star rating!

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    22
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2004

This is a pretty place but they have too many rules. We are a family of six and they had a rule of no noise after 8pm. There is no air conditioning so you have to keep your windows open and so any talking you do will be heard. Of course at 8 we are not ready to be completely quiet so it made me feel uncomfortable that we were on vacation and I basically had to make the kids whisper. The no A/C really is too hot even with the windows open. It is neat that the turtles swim in the water just outside the condos. The pool is a good size. The units are a bit old but OK. The staff is nice and accommodating. You can't swim in the ocean here but we knew that. Maui is just not Kauai which is probably why it was a bit of a dissapointment to be here. It is an OK place to go but I wouldn't go back again because I don't want to be told when I have to be soooo quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2004

Some of the units are a bit old. I peeked at the neighbor's 2 bedroom unit and it was newer compared to where we stayed. The best thing about where we stayed it had everything, cooking utensils, books, guides, and beach gear.

The previous reviews posted here were mostly accurate. All units face the ocean, there are turtles at sun set, bbq grills were very useful, and the management was outstanding.

I can confirm that the sprinklers start at 5:30AM everyday. The first night was annoying but after that I did not even feel them.

We went in August and it was HOT!!!. Air condition would have been nice but we knew this when we made the reservations but the heat caught us off guard. We usually go to Maui either before or after the summer.

Overall, we really had a nice experience; the grounds were very well kept. If you are expecting a 5-star resort look somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2004

I was invited to stay with a friend. (He paid) It was great! I counted 15 turtles just off shore one night waiting for the best sunset I have ever seen. The locals sit by the pool every night around 5:00 and B.S.
Over all I hope I was not Maui spellbound but I would like to return someday.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2004

This place was just wonderful. Every condo has such a beautiful view. We fell asleep to the sound of the ocean everynight. We stayed here from 3/24/04-4/1/04. The sunsets are indeed some of the best I have ever seen in my life. We saw whales jumping every day right from our lanai. Our condo was very clean and stocked with everything you need, especially in the kitchen. There is laundry facilities there, too. There is a fish market and supermarket just a 2 minute drive away. We grilled fish or steak every night on the BBQ grills that are on the property. It is very easy to make friends with your neighbors. The rental staff is awesome and will help you with whatever you need. I have traveled to Europe, South America, the Bahamas and all across the mainland. This was one of the best places I ever stayed. I really enjoyed staying in a condo vs. hotel.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2004

My wife and I spent our one year anniversary at the Mahina Surf.
Learned about the place from a local resident. We found the condo, its grounds, staff, and entire experience as nice and fullfilling as one can hope. We would recommend the place to anyone. It is private yet conveniently located, clean and homey within, yet spectacular just one step out the lanai. The views are worth framing, sunsets like dreamscapes, the lapping of waves wake you each morning. Still a good deal, but recommend you get in before prices go up.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2003

We recently had a great 2-week experience here. People are nice, managers are very helpful and responsive to any questions/concerns.
Extremely well maintained. Beware, no air conditioning, however.
Hopefully you won't need it. This part of Maui tends to be windier and a bit cooler than the Kaanapali area. Our unit was beautiful and well-appointed. When they say "ocean front" you can believe it ...
great view of Molokai and we enjoyed snorkeling with the turtles in front of the condo nearly every day. Good swimming beach within walking distance. Recommended by a friend who has gone for 10 years and we weren't disappointed. Great for families! We honestly didn't notice any early morning noise, but we are early risers and were on the 2nd floor.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mahina Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahina Surf

Address: 4057 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 Specialty lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mahina Surf boasts fifty-six, oceanfront one and two bedroom condominiums situated on two intimate acres of lush tropical gardens. Ideally located on Maui’s leeward shore, renowned for its year round sunshine, cool tradewinds, and pristine beaches.Each Mahina Surf suite is uniquely and generously apportioned. All units include living rooms, full baths and fully equipped kitchens.Our one-bedroom suites are ideal for couples seeking a romantic retreat, or for a family of four on a vacation getaway. Two-bedroom units comfortably accommodate as many as six adults. Regardless of the unit you choose, your expectations are sure to be exceeded.Private lanais provide relaxing, unobstructed ocean views of the neighbor islands of Molokai and Lanai. Just a few minutes ride to the north or south, the resort areas of Kapalua and Kaanapali offer world class golf, tennis, dining, shopping, and a host of beach activities. In the winter months the waters off West Maui play host to migrating humpback whales, putting on spectacular displays - many of which can be seen from your own lanai! Explore the many wonders Maui has to offer, like the famous road to Hana, or the summit of Haleakala.Stroll the tropical gardens...relax poolside and work on your tan....or fix your own intimate sunset dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mahina Surf Hotel Lahaina
Mahina Surf Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahina Surf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mahina Surf to your Saves list