We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! Loved Mahina Surf and the turtle viewing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mahina Surf

Save Saved
You added Mahina Surf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mahina Surf
4057 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% OFF 14+ Night Stay
Ranked #11 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Alpine, Wyoming
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WOW! Loved Mahina Surf and the turtle viewing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed in 222, which is a 2 bedroom 2 bath condo that has been upgraded. We were very happy with the condo. There was a bedroom and bathroom down and another bedroom and large bathroom up. Beds were very comfortable and the condo was nicely furnished. There is a flat screen TV in the living room and another large flat screen TV in the upstairs bedroom with DVD players so we were able to watch a few DVD’s we had brought with us.

We .were thrilled with the view from the lanai and the location of the condo away from the parking lot and road. It was great being on the top level so we were able to leave the downstairs bedroom windows open with nothing but tropical plants outside the window. There is a separate entrance to the condo so no there is no corridor like other large condo complexes we’ve stayed in. I liked being in a small complex and having all the peace and quiet. I spent a lot of time in the pool on my floater and reading on a chaise lounge. There are plenty of chaise lounges around the pool for the guests.

The pool is heated and the grounds are gorgeous with tropical planting. Right out in front of the complex is the best treat all! Turtle viewing! Turtles feeding and sunning on the rocks every day. Saw as many as 8 turtles at a time sunning on the rocks. Also saw a ton of whales from the lanai since we were there in January.

We really loved our vacation at Mahina Surf and will be back to 222!

Room Tip: 222 is on the side that doesn't get the direct afternoon sunlight so it stays cool all day long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    22
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukie
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Loved Mahina Surf Unit 222 and turtle viewing!

My friend and I stayed at Mahina Surf last October and felt we picked the perfect spot for out Maui vacation. The grounds were gorgeous and well maintained. Mahina Surf is a small low-rise complex so it was quiet and relaxing. Enjoyed the heated ocean front swimming pool and the turtle viewing out front. All the units have ocean views from the large lanai’s so our view was magical.

Unit 222 is a very comfortable upgraded unit. We each had our own bedroom and bathroom, which was nice as we had our own space and didn’t have to share a bedroom. The unit has new tile flooring, new paint, new curtains and new furniture, bedding and decor. Not all the units are upgraded so check before you book!

The location was great. We were a short drive to Kapalua, Lahaina and Kaanapali and able to walk to the beaches at Kahana. We were able to walk to Dollie’s and Roy’s to eat if we didn’t want to drive. However, we stayed in quite a few nights and cooked on the barbeques since we had the best view right there at Mahina Surf.

Check-in was easy. Tammy at reception takes care of everything. Right next to reception are coin operated washers and dryers and clothes lines with clothes pins which came in handy.

All in all, it was a fabulous vacation and I can’t wait to go back and stay at Unit 222 in Mahina Surf.

Room Tip: We loved #222 and will return there each time! Quiet, beautifully furnished, with a lovely view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were thrilled to arrive at our condo after a long day of travel and were so delighted to step into a beautifully decorated and cozy place. Were were a large group so the kitchen was perfect for preparing our meals. The kitchen was very well stocked with every thing we needed. Loved the granite counter tops. Plenty of bed space for our group of 6. Enjoyed many sunsets form the lanai, and breakfast there as well while watching the Turtles that live right out front. The view is fantastic. Trade winds were plentiful and kept us very comfortable along with the ceiling fans. The grounds are lovely and the heated pool is great, however you must have a swim with the Turtles. What an experience. If you are looking for the ultimate stay Mahina Surf #204 is the place. We found this condo under mauiturtlecondo.com. We will be back.
Enjoy

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We have stayed at the Mahina Surf several times and in several different units. Each time, we are delighted by the accommodations and especially the manicured grounds and beautiful saline water pool. Every unit has an ocean view and you can snorkel directly off the grounds of this complex, swimming amongst the many sea turtles who gather in this area. The office staff is especially friendly and helpful. On our most recent trip (April 2012), we had the chance to visit two different units, in addition to the one in which we were staying. Both were beautifully updated, clean, and filled with amenities. A part of me says, "Keep this place a secret" but I believe it is better to share our feelings about what we think is the hidden jewel of Maui!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is the perfect place to spend your Maui Vacation. What a spectacular location! Unit #204 is the best spot in the Mahina Surf complex. It's literally just steps to the beautiful saline pool, or you can veer a little to the right, and cool off in the Pacific Ocean. The sunsets from the deck are amazing! Don't forget the Mai Tai's. The unit has been very recently renovated, and looks great.
Granite countertops, new cabinets, great showers, and most important, the beds are really comfortable. The Mahina Surf grounds are neatly kept, and the pool is very clean. There's also a great BBQ at the oceans edge! You can literally watch the whales breach while you cook. For me, the best part was snorkeling with the turtles. I've snorkeled all over the islands, but i've never seen a place where the turtles congregate in such large numbers. I made a small video of the turtles, and the condo owners (Joe and Connie) put it on the #204 Website. It was all shot right outside the condo! Check it out! Many of them come out of the water to sleep, so you don't even have to snorkel to enjoy their presence. The name "Maui Turtle Condo," is well deserved.
I booked unit 204 directly through the owners at Mauiturtlecondo.com. it was like renting a condo from good friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My wife and I along with my brother and sister in-law stayed here for a week. We were in condo 204. It was very nice and everything was updated, what looked like very recently (wireless internet, flat screen tv, well maintained/clean). Great view of the water. Love the fact that you can walk down and almost always see turtles at the feeding ground right in front. Also loved the BBQ grills that overlook the ocean, nice touch. It was also nice to have a quiet and peaceful place to come back to after a day of adventures.

http://www.mauiturtlecondo.com

Room Tip: 204 was updated, wireless internet, flat screen tv, & clean The closer you are to the water, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Absolutely fantastic Maui location. I have stayed at Mahina Surf # 204 on several occasions, and am always overwhelmed with this spectacular Maui location. Mahina Surf is located convenient to the West Maui Airport facility, and also to the amazing
visitor opportunities in nearby Lahaina. Mahina Surf grounds are quiet, peaceful, and
exceptionally well kept up. Enjoy amazing sunsets, and view sealife from the patio deck of Unit # 204. Unit # 204 is appropriately known as the Maui Turtle Condo, and is
an amazing comfortable, clean, and well furnished home away from home. After a visit, you will eagerly anticipate your next stay there. Simply outstanding!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mahina Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahina Surf

Address: 4057 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mahina Surf boasts fifty-six, oceanfront one and two bedroom condominiums situated on two intimate acres of lush tropical gardens. Ideally located on Maui’s leeward shore, renowned for its year round sunshine, cool tradewinds, and pristine beaches.Each Mahina Surf suite is uniquely and generously apportioned. All units include living rooms, full baths and fully equipped kitchens.Our one-bedroom suites are ideal for couples seeking a romantic retreat, or for a family of four on a vacation getaway. Two-bedroom units comfortably accommodate as many as six adults. Regardless of the unit you choose, your expectations are sure to be exceeded.Private lanais provide relaxing, unobstructed ocean views of the neighbor islands of Molokai and Lanai. Just a few minutes ride to the north or south, the resort areas of Kapalua and Kaanapali offer world class golf, tennis, dining, shopping, and a host of beach activities. In the winter months the waters off West Maui play host to migrating humpback whales, putting on spectacular displays - many of which can be seen from your own lanai! Explore the many wonders Maui has to offer, like the famous road to Hana, or the summit of Haleakala.Stroll the tropical gardens...relax poolside and work on your tan....or fix your own intimate sunset dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mahina Surf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahina Surf Hotel Lahaina
Mahina Surf Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahina Surf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.