We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mahina Surf is the hidden jewel of Maui” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mahina Surf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Mahina Surf to your Saves list
Mahina Surf
4057 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Cupertino, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Mahina Surf is the hidden jewel of Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We have stayed at the Mahina Surf several times and in several different units. Each time, we are delighted by the accommodations and especially the manicured grounds and beautiful saline water pool. Every unit has an ocean view and you can snorkel directly off the grounds of this complex, swimming amongst the many sea turtles who gather in this area. The office staff is especially friendly and helpful. On our most recent trip (April 2012), we had the chance to visit two different units, in addition to the one in which we were staying. Both were beautifully updated, clean, and filled with amenities. A part of me says, "Keep this place a secret" but I believe it is better to share our feelings about what we think is the hidden jewel of Maui!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    22
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is the perfect place to spend your Maui Vacation. What a spectacular location! Unit #204 is the best spot in the Mahina Surf complex. It's literally just steps to the beautiful saline pool, or you can veer a little to the right, and cool off in the Pacific Ocean. The sunsets from the deck are amazing! Don't forget the Mai Tai's. The unit has been very recently renovated, and looks great.
Granite countertops, new cabinets, great showers, and most important, the beds are really comfortable. The Mahina Surf grounds are neatly kept, and the pool is very clean. There's also a great BBQ at the oceans edge! You can literally watch the whales breach while you cook. For me, the best part was snorkeling with the turtles. I've snorkeled all over the islands, but i've never seen a place where the turtles congregate in such large numbers. I made a small video of the turtles, and the condo owners (Joe and Connie) put it on the #204 Website. It was all shot right outside the condo! Check it out! Many of them come out of the water to sleep, so you don't even have to snorkel to enjoy their presence. The name "Maui Turtle Condo," is well deserved.
I booked unit 204 directly through the owners at Mauiturtlecondo.com. it was like renting a condo from good friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My wife and I along with my brother and sister in-law stayed here for a week. We were in condo 204. It was very nice and everything was updated, what looked like very recently (wireless internet, flat screen tv, well maintained/clean). Great view of the water. Love the fact that you can walk down and almost always see turtles at the feeding ground right in front. Also loved the BBQ grills that overlook the ocean, nice touch. It was also nice to have a quiet and peaceful place to come back to after a day of adventures.

http://www.mauiturtlecondo.com

Room Tip: 204 was updated, wireless internet, flat screen tv, & clean The closer you are to the water, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Absolutely fantastic Maui location. I have stayed at Mahina Surf # 204 on several occasions, and am always overwhelmed with this spectacular Maui location. Mahina Surf is located convenient to the West Maui Airport facility, and also to the amazing
visitor opportunities in nearby Lahaina. Mahina Surf grounds are quiet, peaceful, and
exceptionally well kept up. Enjoy amazing sunsets, and view sealife from the patio deck of Unit # 204. Unit # 204 is appropriately known as the Maui Turtle Condo, and is
an amazing comfortable, clean, and well furnished home away from home. After a visit, you will eagerly anticipate your next stay there. Simply outstanding!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Friendly, comfortable and beautiful views. Very well situated with nearby stores, sandy beaches and various restaurants. The grounds are well kept and the staff are helpful - both before your arrival and during your stay. Although the pool is small, it offers a lot of seating and the pool and deck seem to be cleaned daily. Every condo has an ocean view and the grounds are a good size for the number of people who stay here. There is onsite laundry and communal BBQs. We were very pleased with every aspect of Mahina Surf and the only reason we wouldn't give it a 5 is that it's an older property and it just isn't a 5 star. We will be back.

Room Tip: Each condo is individually owned so you need to decide on your priorities: view, one or 2 bdrm, newe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Stayed at Mahina Surf because friends were there and because we had a good experience previously. This time we were booked into unit 221 as it was the only one available on the same date as our friends visit. Our experience with unit 221 was not good. Upon arriving were noticed the window on the front door was comming off and things went downhill from there. Upon entering the unit we noticed the rattan furniture was broken and the cushions were ripped and soiled. Also the downstairs bedroom doorknob was loose and would not shut, the kitchen sink faucet was dripping and paint was peeling from the cabinets, and the toilet would leak when flushed. Upstairs the window hardware was broken and the smoke detector was open and the battery was missing. Later that night we found out that the hot water would run out after just one quick shower, not good for a 2 bedroom unit. In the morning we were dissapointed to find ants on the kitchen counter. Management fixed the leaks and window hardware but this unit is in urgent need of a major remodel. On the plus side, this unit, like all the others at the Mahina surf, has a beautiful view and the grounds are well kept. Each unit is individually owed and reflects the owners care or lack thereof. Make sure you get a complete description of the unit you are renting. Pictures would be best, since management does not disclose any shortcommings of the units.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Just returned from a 2 week stay at Mahina Surf Condominiums. The condos are individually owned so vary in updating, decorating etc. but they all have wonderful views. The location is fantastic, and the condos are adequate. As I said, they are individually owned so some are nicer than others. They all have one thing in common, very small bathrooms. There is coin operated laundry on the premises, which is very nice. The front office staff is terrific, especially Tammy who is super friendly and helpful. The rates are reasonable for Maui, and everyone is supposed to be quiet from 10 p.m. to 8 a.m. It is a great resort for children, nice pool and lots of grass to run on. We were there with family so it was nice we could all easily associate with each other at all times.

Room Tip: main floor condos are one bedroom (sofasleeper in living-room) so much handier to the pool etc. Ups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mahina Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahina Surf

Address: 4057 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mahina Surf boasts fifty-six, oceanfront one and two bedroom condominiums situated on two intimate acres of lush tropical gardens. Ideally located on Maui’s leeward shore, renowned for its year round sunshine, cool tradewinds, and pristine beaches.Each Mahina Surf suite is uniquely and generously apportioned. All units include living rooms, full baths and fully equipped kitchens.Our one-bedroom suites are ideal for couples seeking a romantic retreat, or for a family of four on a vacation getaway. Two-bedroom units comfortably accommodate as many as six adults. Regardless of the unit you choose, your expectations are sure to be exceeded.Private lanais provide relaxing, unobstructed ocean views of the neighbor islands of Molokai and Lanai. Just a few minutes ride to the north or south, the resort areas of Kapalua and Kaanapali offer world class golf, tennis, dining, shopping, and a host of beach activities. In the winter months the waters off West Maui play host to migrating humpback whales, putting on spectacular displays - many of which can be seen from your own lanai! Explore the many wonders Maui has to offer, like the famous road to Hana, or the summit of Haleakala.Stroll the tropical gardens...relax poolside and work on your tan....or fix your own intimate sunset dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mahina Surf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahina Surf Hotel Lahaina
Mahina Surf Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahina Surf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.