We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place w/a few drawbacks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mahina Surf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mahina Surf to your Saves list
Mahina Surf
4057 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
East Wenatchee, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Place w/a few drawbacks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2008

The grounds and owner/manager were absolutely wonderful. I sent my espresso maker with some games, and they were very gracious in making sure the box was waiting for us when we arrived. Beautiful views, clean condo, interntet connection, and awesome, heated pool (which was nice when it rained) made our stay great. We were lucky enough to see whales from our place during our stay.

Only major drawback was no air conditioning so you have to leave your windows open at all time which can get quite noisy with outside voices; road noise when traffic started up; gardening early in the morning; not to mention the automatic sprinklers outside our bedroom window that seem to go on every half-hour starting at 4:30 a.m. from neighboring property; and outside drip when it finished raining that seemed to go on for hours,

Little drawbacs include the lack of description of rooms and beds. When we arrived for our two- bedroom loft, we found one double bed and two single beds in loft. We also had family staying in newer condos at Kanapali Plantation that had washer/dryers in the unit (as opposed to pay-laundry next to office at ours), air conditioning and plenty of items to use at the beach (we had nothing), but they didn't have our beautiful view of the ocean!

This place is nicely located to Lahaina but out enough that you aren’t right in the thick of it. We were able to drive to many nearby beaches and activities within minutes.

Overall, after living on the Big Island and staying on Oahu several times, Maui just didn't impress me that much. Maybe it was because I didn't have enough money or didn’t have the time or good weather to spend in Hana! PS- Don't take the guided snorkel tours - you can see much better on your own!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Air Conditioning & Noise
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    23
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
california
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

The grounds are perfectly kept! The view of the ocean is quite lovely at any time of day. The sunsets are incredible. There are large turtles right in the bay all day long! We saw dolphins swimming by one morning. There is a pool and BBQ grill. There are laundry facilities on the grounds. Very close to some good restaurants. The kitchen was well stocked. All furniture was nice. Would not recommend for children. Best for couples or adult friends. We will return.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — no ac
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2007

This is a great little condo resort in west maui. Very peaceful with great views of the ocean. Our 1 bed + loft condo was clean, decorated with the essential hawaiian furniture, on the left side with a view of the ocean and pool. The only drawback is no beach access but Kaanapali only 10 min away. Management was very accomodating. Great value.

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2006

We stayed 7 nights at the Mahina Surf. The landscaping at this hotel is absolutely beautiful, not to mention the awesome ocean view from any condo in this complex. This complex is right on the ocean, there are lava rocks on the sand and turtles feed near the rocks. You can see them swimming, they bob their heads out of the water and sometimes you’ll think they’re waving at you! You can sit on the rocks and enjoy the view and sunset, it’s gorgeous, just like you’d imagine paradise! And if you dare, you can snorkel and get near the turtles!

The inside of the condo we stayed in could have used a little renovation, but overall it was very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. It was not a luxury condo as a 5 star would be, but it had the necessities. The price was comparable. Please note there is NO air conditioning. There are fans, but when it gets too hot and humid, it can be uncomfortable. Also, the swimming pool area is very nice, but there is NO jacuzzi.

Overall, our stay was nice, but I was put off by the office management. On our second day, construction workers showed up at the condo next to ours. It sounded as though they were guttin’ the place. They were banging and smashing for hours. The staff (on-site property managers) never told us. It sounded to me these workers were excessively loud and throwing tools. I finally had enough and went to the office and asked how long this would go on. I was given a poor excuse that they (the office managers) thought we had gone for the day. I don’t know where they got that idea. The workers then quit for the day, but were back the next. We were hoping they’d finish up that day. But unfortunately, they were there all week! One day it sounded like they were using a jackhammer! We couldn't believe it! Thank goodness we had other activities planned, and had not intended to spend all of our time at the condo!

In my opinion, these are very poor and unprofessional property managers. Apparently, they must have known these workers would be there all week, but decided they’d wait to see how much we’d complain.

It could have been our bad luck, but needless to say, we would not stay there again.

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2006

We stayed at these condos in late January of 2006, where we joined some friends at the last minute. Because we made these plans at the 11th hour, we had to change rooms a few times. The staff was very helpful in working it all out. It could have been a real hassle, but they made sure that our new rooms were cleaned early so we could just pack up and move over to the next w/no delay. Hopefully, you won't made your reservations so late and that won't be a problem. At any rate, I am glad we did it that way b/c it allowed us to see a lot of the different rooms. I believe there are 56 units, and between our room changes and seeing the rooms of several friends, we got a good look at 7 different rooms.

They do vary quite a bit, but even the least desirable room in the place was clean, functional, and well maintained. The less desirable rooms were distinguished by the fact that they were less cozy, less decorated, but that's really about it. All the rooms have lanais, and all the ones we saw had dishwashers, microwave, etc. They all have fantastic views, and since we were there during whale watching season, it was absolutely incredible. If you are interested in the "coziness" factor, then I would suggest the following: When making your reservation, ask some pointed questions about how updated certain rooms are. Ask about the price of the room and how it compares to other same-sized rooms (there are 1 bdrm units and 2 bdrm units). A good clue is that if the room is priced higher, then it's nicer. Again, though, there are no bad rooms, but some are certainly nicer than others. They give discounts for longer stays (10 days, I think, or for AAA.

As compared to other places I've seen and stayed in Maui, this is a really fair value!! It's big enough that the staff is experienced with running a professional establishment, but not so big you have to deal with crowded pools, overpriced restaurants, and crazy children running all over and the like. Kids are welcome, but volume is kept in check. Our friends had an infant and another had a toddler. No problem; in fact, great space for toddling around the lawns. If your kids are around 8 or older, it may not be lively enough for them, however, and you won't want to have to worry about noise, so I'd not recommend for them.

The place is so peaceful and friendly. Many of the condo owners seem to live there year round, making for a real community feel but w/enough non-owners that you never felt you were an outsider, either. The grounds are impeccable, with all sorts of beautiful plants and flowers, and pathway down to the rockery and water, a great bbq area (don't worry, it's well away from rooms, so no bbq smoke is detectable), and a fair-sized, warm pool. Incredibly views, truly. You can see Moloka'i, too. The location is not Lahaina, as stated on this website; it is actually in Kahana, between Ka'anapalii and Kapalua. Very good location for exploring all up and down the west side of the island.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2006

We stayed at Mahina Suf during our honeymoon. It was recommended to us by a coworker and we were so pleased with the recommendation. I've recommended it to others since our stay and they've all reported a pleasant experience at Mahina Surf.

I goofed when making our arrangements and we arrived the night before our actual reservation. It was late and we were tired. I was in tears thinking we'd have to sleep in the car on the first night of our honeymoon! The resident manager was so kind and let us into our unit one night early. Even though the unit hadn't been totally cleaned yet, they provided us with blankets and allowed us to "crash" for the night in the unit.

The location is a short drive from Lahaina town and is awesome. Very well kept grounds, nice pool. Everything was very clean. The only not-so-pleasant part of our stay was when, on our second night, our "neighbors" arrived late at night with a small child who cried and cried and kept us up a couple of times--but this was no fault of the property.

All in all, I WILL be back someday. Very nice place, reasonable prices, great location that offers visitors a peaceful, tropical setting to enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2000
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2005

We had come over for a wedding and the friends that we came over with suggested staying with them. The location was easy to find,which was helpful. We loved the quiet and cleanliness of the grounds.Everything was better than expected. We are planning on going over again in May 2005 and staying at Mahina Surf just for the relaxation. Aloha

  • Stayed May 2003
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mahina Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahina Surf

Address: 4057 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mahina Surf boasts fifty-six, oceanfront one and two bedroom condominiums situated on two intimate acres of lush tropical gardens. Ideally located on Maui’s leeward shore, renowned for its year round sunshine, cool tradewinds, and pristine beaches.Each Mahina Surf suite is uniquely and generously apportioned. All units include living rooms, full baths and fully equipped kitchens.Our one-bedroom suites are ideal for couples seeking a romantic retreat, or for a family of four on a vacation getaway. Two-bedroom units comfortably accommodate as many as six adults. Regardless of the unit you choose, your expectations are sure to be exceeded.Private lanais provide relaxing, unobstructed ocean views of the neighbor islands of Molokai and Lanai. Just a few minutes ride to the north or south, the resort areas of Kapalua and Kaanapali offer world class golf, tennis, dining, shopping, and a host of beach activities. In the winter months the waters off West Maui play host to migrating humpback whales, putting on spectacular displays - many of which can be seen from your own lanai! Explore the many wonders Maui has to offer, like the famous road to Hana, or the summit of Haleakala.Stroll the tropical gardens...relax poolside and work on your tan....or fix your own intimate sunset dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mahina Surf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahina Surf Hotel Lahaina
Mahina Surf Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahina Surf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.