We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but room just average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas to your Saves list
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, but room just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were very excited about staying at this property after viewing it online. Unfortunately, we were in the South bldg., which is showing some wear. This property is billed as "Resort Villas", but was nothing more than a glorified hotel room with a kitchenette. Another disappointing discovery was that our room did not have a lanai and we were really looking forward to enjoying the outdoors. Next, our room overlooked the parking lot which was adjacent to the highway. Needless to say, we could not leave our patio door open at night because of the noise. I could understand it, if the property was sold out, but I think it was about 50% occupied. Lastly, if you want any type of housekeeping, it is an additional charge! On the positive side, the staff were very friendly & the concierge gave us some restaurant recommendations that we really enjoyed. The grounds were beautiful and there were several common areas with barbecue grills & seating if you wanted to cook outdoors. If we return to this property, we will definitely request the North bldg. as none of the rooms face a parking lot.

Room Tip: Request a room in the North bldg. and make sure it has a lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Aloha Teri F,
Mahalo for taking the time to provide us with your review. On behalf the Westin Ka’anapali Ocean Resort Villas, we would like to apologize for the highway noise that you endured and the conditions of your villa. Please know that we genuinely care about your stay and would be pleased to have the opportunity to hear about the details of your stay. If you’d like, please send me your preferred contact information to krystle.silva@westin.com, so that we may reach out to you. Again, we apologize for our shortcomings and look forward to hearing from you soon.

Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,459
    647
    242
    120
    74
See reviews for
1,060
978
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This trip and this resort were our worst timeshare experience yet. We are owners and this is our home resort. First, don't believe anything the sales force tells you. Over promise and underdeliver seems to be the motto. The management team spends all day sorting out guest complaints. The major one seems to be rooms. What else is there? Their ocean views are more like pool views and the resort is packed and noisy. There are only 6 floors and if you are on the bottom 3 you might as well invite the whole resort into your bedroom. Or you could enjoy Hawaii by keeping your curtains closed all day. If you need to change towels in your room, you pay for it. If you need some recommendations beyond the few that the concierges know about then you can wait while they google it. As if you can't use google in your room on the painfully slow internet.
We spent the first day of our brief trip changing from one part of the resort to another part. Downgraded our room from ocean to island view just to get some privacy. We took a room nobody wanted and were promised an extralate checkout because nobody wanted the room anyway. Checkout day came and we were told the room was assigned to somebody else and out we go.
Want a chair on the beach? Pay for it. Not the umbrella mind you, the chair! The umbrella is much more (which is standard). The beach, with spectacular views I admit, is a narrow strip of sand. And is treated as cash cow by the resort. But don't expect to find water to drink or shave ice nearby. And bring your own chairs. I'm sure they fit in your carryon bags!
The resort is far from Ka'Anapali proper and anything convenient. You can't do anyhting without driving. That way you are forced to settle for their meager offerings. And you can wait in line behind everyone else.
There are a lot of nice resorts on Maui, this isn't one of them.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Aloha Paul D,
Mahalo for taking the time to post your review. As it is our commitment to provide renewing experiences for our owners, we are disappointed to have read your comments that stated otherwise. I understand that our members of our staff have in good-faith responded to you to help rectify the issues you’ve encountered during your stay.

We truly do value your ownership and if you wish to discuss your stay further please email Krystle.silva@westin.com with your preferred contact information and we will be happy to connect with you. We hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

On arrival, there was a drawer full of the previous occupants' clothing, dirty linens on the pull-out bed, and a bathroom that hadn't been cleaned very well. We spent our time outside, enjoying the pools, the ocean and the beautiful garden. When we left, we left a precious set of our young daughters' groovy girls dolls and clothing inside a very well-hidden space inside the ottoman in our hotel room. We realized our mistake and called first thing the next morning. Security told us that there was nothing they could do until housekeeping could enter the room...that it was up to the occupants to call. It took two more days for housekeeping to have a chance to clean the room, and then "there was nothing there". After three pointless phone calls to security, they passed on my information to housekeeping, who never called back. To have something so personal to my children stolen with no adequate follow-up from the hotel was extremely frustrating. I feel so disappointed with Westin for not looking into theft on their property.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Lesley N,
Aloha and thank you for choosing us as your Maui resort destination. Here at the Westin Villas, we strive to make your stay as renewing and relaxing as possible. We regret to have failed to meet a standard less than perfect for your stay. I apologize for the number of items mentioned in the review. Our leadership team is eager to pinpoint the process breakdown with your daughters’ missing dolls as we understand how precious they are. We would be grateful for the opportunity to find the items and return them as soon as possible. Please send me your preferred contact information to Krystle.silva@westin.com so that we may reach out to you. Again, we sincerely apologize and hope to hear from you soon.

Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We first stayed here in 2011, and became owners on that visit, even though we were given what had to be the worst room on the property. It was in the South Bldg, ground floor, with no lanai, and a window facing the bar. If I remember correctly, there was no shower. Just a jetted tub, with a shower massage thing. But it was March, and that is a very busy time on Maui, and we were really impressed with the rest of the property, and the location.
When we stayed in May of 2013, we used our 1BR Island View, but actually got an Ocean View in the North Bldg (where we bought), on the side where the next building is going to be, and overlooking the adult pool. We were very happy with the room. It was up high, it was quiet, and we had a nice view.
The gym equipment has been updated, and is now very nice. Much better than our first visit.
The beach here is wonderful, and the restaurants are good, and there are so many more restaurants and shops nearby, too.
We did ask for more hangers, and never got them, but the service was good, otherwise.
There was a noisy child in the adult pool one time, with 2 of the Westin staff standing right there, and they did nothing. When I mentioned this later, they said if I had said something they would have taken care of it.
Overall, the property is very nice, the rooms are good, and have a full kitchen (if you count a microwave as an oven), the staff is good, and we do not regret become owners.
We'll be back again this year, and we are looking forward to it!
I recommend checking out local talent Damien Awai, who performs on the property. Talented singer/ukelele player.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We checked in yesterday. Booked our stay months ago and requested two beds since there are four of us. Nancy helped us and she is very nice. We got to our room which is ground floor and facing parking lot. Food crumbs all over the kitchen and hideaway bed. :( We tried to get a different room with two beds but wouldn't accommodate which was disappointing since we booked so far in advance. Grounds are pretty but rooms are very disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Aloha and thank you for choosing us as your Maui resort destination. We regret to hear that we have not provided you with an exceptional first impression. Checking into a dirty villa can leave a negative lasting impression that overshadows the rest of any trip.Please accept our apologies for this. We would be more than happy to discuss how we can make the rest of your stay an outstanding one. Please dial “0” from your villa phone so that we may discuss. Mahalo for sharing your comments with us, and we look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crookston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I am a SPG member and have been to several of their properties including St. Thomas, Cayman Islands, Nassau & have always felt welcomed & received great service. The gentleman that checked us in here had a superior attitude, did not make us feel welcome and was a bit rude to say the least. The restaurant/bar employees for the most part were good however there are some that need a talking to. We found the property/ location to be very desirable and would recommend staying there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Let me preface this review with a note that I am a SPG platinum member and have been for many years. I have grown accustomed to a certain service level and to say this hotel fell short would be an understatement.

The property itself is lovely, the pools and beach are awesome.

The room itself is a joke and SPG should be ashamed. I am staying in Room 4100 (studio) with an island view (this means parking lot). I think maybe I am supposed to have a view of a fountain, bit its not working. The bathroom has mold/mildew all over the shower and worse, hair in the shower drain and ants in room.

Generally as an SPG platinum, I review some sort of amenity, not here... in fact there was not so much as a free bottle of water in the room. To the contrary, expect to be nickel and dimed to death at this property. Here is a sampling.

Need new towels? $8.00
Turndown Service? $15.00
Chair on the beach? $15.00
Park a car? $10.00

Additionally expect every bellman or valet to linger until the appropriate tip is dispensed (generally I tip well on my departure), so this is quite annoying.

In the era of big data and all that SPG knows about me, I am simply astounded a the lack of client intimacy here. Here are a few tips.

1.) Always, always, always upgrade SPG 4/5 or at least tell them you did
2.) A free bottle of water goes along way
3.) When I made dinner reservations, they always asked if I was EPG elite, they should know this.

I have stayed at many SPG beach properties and there is simply no way this is a level 7 property. A few I can recommend much, much higher are the St. Regis Punta Mita or the Le Meridien Phuket or Bora Bora.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. As a valued SPG Platinum member, your feedback is very important, and we deeply apologize for the multiple issues you have encountered. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. Please feel free to contact me at krystle.silva@westin.com, as I would love the opportunity to prevent similar events from occurring.

If you have any further questions or comments, please let me know.

Sincerely,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning vistas and an exotic, idyllic setting on exclusive oceanfront property on Maui's North Beach, with golf, tennis, swimming, nd more. Perfect for a Hawaiian destination wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.