We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas to your Saves list
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
West Branch, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We have been coming to Maui for the last 5 years and stay at our timeshare the Westin Kaanapali villas. I can't say enough great things about this resort. It truly is like being at home, but with an amazing view and great staff. We always have clean rooms and the grills and pools are amazing. The staff is more than willing to help in any way they can. They will let you borrow left toys and body boards for the week and then pass then to the next family. I have snorkeled different places in Maui and the best in right in front for the resort. We have a turtle that we see every year. The whales are always putting a show on for us when we are there. If you stay here you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: ocean view in building 8 on floor 5 is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Aloha Jennifer M,
Mahalo for taking the time to share your ownership experience. We appreciate you sharing your KOR expertise with other travelers. I am sure it will help them decide that the amenities we offer allow for a relaxing and stress free Maui vacation. I couldn't agree with you more that whale season is a great time to visit it always seems as if whales are putting on show specifically for you, they are sure fun to watch. We cannot express how lucky we feel to share our lovely island with loyal & valuable owners such as you.

We hope to welcome you back next whale season.

Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,452
    646
    241
    120
    74
See reviews for
1,057
974
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Had a fabulous time in Maui while staying at the Westin Kaanapali villas. We have stayed here a couple of times in the past, but this time my husband and I were impressed by the level of service we received. The staff went out of their way to ensure that all the guests were well taken care of on the property. All requests were handled promptly and courteously. Mahalo!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and can't fault the hotel for anything. Friendly and efficient staff, very comfortable room and kept immaculately clean; not at all noisy (we were not on the pirate ship side). The free shuttle to Lahaina was terrific; we took the one to Whalers Village one day but then discovered that it is a beautiful 45-minute walk each way from the hotel and so did that instead.The only thing I'd change is that next time I would book a one-bedroom so we could have a balcony: we had a small railing but no room to put chairs out- hardly a concern with all the chairs available pool-side. Previous reviewers are correct: if you are going for a short time and want to relax, a car is not necessary: we likely wouldn't have used it very much.

Room Tip: Ask for the 4th floor or higher and midway through the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The rooms are clean and the beds are outstanding. The service was good. Be aware, that the kitchens are only lightly equipped if you are planning to cook your own meals. This is a big property so be prepared for a lot of people at the pools and at the beach. Our ocean view room on the third floor in building 4 which was well back from the ocean looked out past building 3 to the parking lot between the building and the ocean but any view was blocked by trees. The beach out in front falls steeply to the water and the water gets deep quickly so be mindful with young children and seniors. Happily, the sand is soft and plentiful. The restaurant options on the property are limited so avoid peak times particularly at breakfast. The valet can also get very busy at peak meal times as a large number of people drive to nearby restaurants. We flew out let in the evening, so we took advantage of a reduced rate to stay in the room after the 10 am check out. We enjoyed another day at the beach and were able to clean up and head to the airport in the evening. The property also is connected to a great beach walk for those who like to walk near the beach in their walking shoes.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed here for a week with another couple. Room itself was very nice as is the pool area and the beach. However - we decided to splurge a bit and pay for an "ocean view"! We were assigned a two bedroom suite in building 7 of the north complex that was MUCH closer to the main highway than to the ocean and the view was VERY minimal. After speaking with a very lovely front desk receptionist we were able to get moved to a fifth floor unit three layers closer to the ocean (and farther from the road.) The view was OK - but mainly of the vacant lot next door and the abandoned building project next door. Road noise was still so much that couldn't sleep with the screen door open. Had I been shown exactly what they called "ocean view" before paying for the upgrade I would never have spent the money for what I got. A partial ocean view room that opens to the pool would offer much less traffic noise and be more pleasant.

A couple other things: We ate at the beach front sports bar one night when we were exhausted and didn't want to go out - big mistake - I would give this restaurant/bar a one star rating (expensive and so so food.) We hadn't found out that Duke's ocean grill was a short walk up the beach and is a MUCH MUCH better place to eat! Highly recommend eating at Duke's!

The pool at the Westin is very nice. However if you would prefer to have a chair on the beach for the day be prepared to pay $40 per day for two chairs and an umbrella. (We stayed at Kapalua last year and the beach chairs were complimentary.)

Lastly - there is a $10.42 self parking fee per day at this property. We booked this property through Hawaiian Airline Vacations and this wasn't disclosed to us. Just FYI.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a week stay at the Westin Villas. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit and had a nice view of the Ocean. I can't not say enough about the friendliness of each employee we met. The resort was beautiful and made traveling with our toddler easy. They offered a crib, high chair and diaper genie for our room. I definitely plan to stay here again on our next trip to Maui!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Aloha CanLo,
Thank you for your detailed review and your recommendation to other travelers. We greatly appreciate it. We are pleased to read that our staff went above and beyond to help with your traveling needs. Thank you for sharing your experience and we can’t wait to welcome you back soon.

Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The Westing Resort Villas are very nice and we enjoyed our stay. It is not for everyone in that it is a condo type resort, which for us, was wonderful. The limitations here are that there are few dining options, actually one one restaurant on the north complex and one on the south side. We ate at both, and they are not bad but not overly outstanding; but expensive as one would expect. You're best bet is to walk down the path to Duke's, an excellent dining option right on the beach. Highly recommended.
If you have a 1 bedroom like we did, you have a full kitchen. So if you don't mind cooking some, it is a nice option. The outdoors grills are wonderful, and if you like cooking out then this is a good option. The grills are spotless, and well kept. They take very good care of them and that is nice.
If you do decide to cook some yourself, I strongly advise to take the tip that I saw on-line as well---go to The Times Supermarket which is very close, about 3/4 mile. A seasoned traveler told me that he always went to Safeway and Costco until he went to the Times. He was right. The prices are very reasonable overall and a nice store. The best option and close one at that. I thank him for his post!
Most rooms as others have said do not actually look at the ocean. With that said, opt for the standard garden room, its cheaper and most ocean view rooms you have to squint to see it. Ocean front are nice, but personally not worth the cost.

We do love it here, but it can be very expensive for limited services. If a large room is important to you, then this could be the place. And for what it is worth, this is mostly an older, quiet crowd. After 8 pm, you hardly see a soul.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Aloha,
Mahalo for taking the time to provide your feedback. It is always exciting to hear from our guests about their experiences. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the facilities and made use of the BBQ grills. We appreciate you sharing your KOR expertise with other travelers. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Westin Villas.

Mahalo
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning vistas and an exotic, idyllic setting on exclusive oceanfront property on Maui's North Beach, with golf, tennis, swimming, nd more. Perfect for a Hawaiian destination wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.