We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Save Saved
You added The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Top Notch Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stay was between Dec 22-29

From start to finish this resort did not disappoint.

The rooms were very clean, view was great, and staff were exceptional. Recreation for this resort is an A+ (Something to do for everyone.) If you are looking for a romantic trip however, this may not be the resort for you. Lots of young families stayed at this resort and lots of parents letting their little ones run wild. I found some vacationers had no respect for others when it came to respecting others space and quiet time. This was a negative, but not a reflection of the resort as a whole. If we wanted more couples (quiet time) we left the resort to go into Lahaina or a beach. We both had a chance to utilize the spa and it was wonderful! A very relaxing experience and we are planning to come back next year!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,341
    589
    223
    113
    66
See reviews for
980
886
30
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

There are actually TWO resorts in one, the South and the North Building. While the North is newer and every "villa" and I use the term loosely has all ocean view rooms as opposed to the South tower which also has island view rooms, it is the inferior of the two towers in my opinion. The South Tower has a much more beautiful lobby and entrance. You can see the ocean from the lobby, not so from the North Tower. And if you are in building 5 in the North Tower as we were and you rented a car which is likely, then the trek from the car to the room to use a term of art, is a monumental shlep. Especially if as is likely, you are carrying groceries to your refrigerator.

The rooms are nice enough with average timeshare decor for the furnishings. The bathroom and Jacuzzi tub are spacious however, there is only one sink. We had the smaller studio villa and although it had many amenities like a two burner electric stove and a SS sink, they were small with virtually no counter space to prepare food. Unless you're Donald Trump since you're staying for a week, you'll be preparing several meals in the room and the sink and counter space were inadequate. The property is immaculately maintained and the pool at the North Building is a dark color and not very attractive at all. Swim in the South.Pool.

Massages as is the case in most resorts are overpriced at $157 for 50 minutes. And they assume you are cheap because they automatically add a $27.00 tip on top of that!! You can apparently modify it upward of downward but good luck with that.

You are free to visit the Sheraton and the Westin Resort & Spa which are hotels, not timeshares but are also very cose by Starwood Properties and you can charge anything there to your Westin Villa account and room number. What they DON'T tell you however, is that you cannot use their pool, or their towels and if you rent a cabana double chair on their beach, It's $50 as opposed to $12 if you're staying there. In other words, feel free to charge food and any other exorbitant rental to the Villa, but don't dare use their amentites! By the way, if you are a snorkler, the best on Maui is at the Sheraton (Black Rock) and it is free and walking distance from the Westin Villas although they do have a free shuttle. It's about 1/2 a mile.

Room Tip: The week's rentals usually start on a Friday, Saturday or Sunday and I assumed Friday was the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review. As we strive to provide our guests with a better, different and special experience. We are very concerned with the comments you posted and would like the opportunity to personally discuss your recent stay. We would greatly appreciate if you would send your name and contact information to me at krystle.silva@westin.com so that one of our Westin team members may reach out to you. Thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to hearing from you soon.
Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed recently at this resort and have to say it was really nice. We had a smaller villa not facing the ocean, actually facing the hi way but not a big deal as it was quiet and we really only spent nights there. Having a kitchenette was great as was the complimentary BBQ's. Saved us so e money and time going out. Beach is great and snorkelling also fantastic but little ones need to be careful as it is a steep slope from the beach into the water and kids can get knocked down. For snorkelling be careful of the reef as it is close in and shallow. Great fish, coral and sea turtle watching, much better than Black Rock although debatably the Black Rock beach may be better for just a beach day and building sand castles with the kids (Sheraton is right on this beach and has a parade). Loved having a washer/dryer. If we knew that we could have packed a lot less. Pools at the resort are great. About 8 of them divided into three sections. There is a kids pool with pirate ship which was a hit, if your kids are older they will enjoy the water slide. Hot tubs are nice too and a great place to unwind after dinner (pools likewise). Nice looking up at the stars from the pool. Only caution would be they will try and pitch you to buy a time share, it wasn't aggressive and we declined. You could do it and get ~$100 but it takes around 90 minutes and we felt our 90 minutes was worth more than they were offering considering we had no intention of buying (our son was also sick so we valued our time more and may have done it if he hadn't been sick). Liked the regular shuttle to Lanaia. If you wanted to stick to just the Kaanapali area you could actually skip renting a car as the shuttle would go to Black Rock beach and into Lahaina town where you can buy groceries and shop. All in all very nice and I would go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We found the villa to be a very good hotel.

Pros:
1. Full services - kitchen and in room laundry was AWESOME
2. Concierge almost around every corner and all were very helpful
3. The shuttle service provided by the hotel made needing a car almost non-existent!
4. Easy access to beach

Cons:
1. The food and service at the restaurant in the South Tower was far inferior to the food and service to the poolside/beach restaurant in the North Tower. As a matter of fact, we enjoyed the North Tower restaurant and our server Lance better than the "free breakfast buffet" in the South Tower.
2. Check-out time was 10 am with no exceptions which was disappointing. Our flight was not until 5:09 pm and the "Lounge" they had prepped for other travelers with similar circumstances was hot, muggy (it didn't help it was located in the basement) and felt like you were in a gym … Oh wait, the work-out facility is located next door!

Our only regret is that we were not seasoned veterans to the hotel. Otherwise, we would have made a much more concerted effort to buy groceries, but that was not a huge concern since we found food cost far more reasonable than that of Kona (Big Island) which we visited earlier that week.

Room Tip: Rooms in the North Tower are simply newer and better… The North Tower has less "activity"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

My family and I checked into the Westin Kaanapali the Saturday before Christmas. We arrived very late due to a bit of delay in our flight. We had booked an 'oceanview' one bedroom; and similar to others reviews, the first room was received definitely did not have an ocean view. I will state that the room was updated and was in very good shape, just had no view; was at the back of the property and by the parking lot, so my guess would have been very noisy. We worked with Brandon at the front desk and he moved us to room 2318 which had a very nice ocean view (you could even hear the waves crashing to shore). Now with that said, the room was a bit beat up, as you can see from my photos. I'm assuming these rooms get used a bit more.

The Pros: Comfortable heavenly bed in the bedroom; my daughter used the pull out couch in the living room and had no complaints. Did I say the view was beautiful? The kitchen had everything we needed, including a pitcher for iced tea. We went to the Safeway in Lahaina (just a short free bus ride away) and got what we needed for breakfast and lunches. We opted to keep our daily cleaning service and make our own eggs and toast each day (Microwave bacon is such a great invention). Patio had two chairs, liked sitting outside listening to the ocean. This room had a great view of the "pirate ship" pool by the kids club. Was not noisy either. Several grill areas and they were kept meticulously clean daily. The main pool (on other side of building) was beautiful, great water slide and seating areas. the staff are great about removing peoples belongings if they are just holding chairs for more than an hour. the beach is beautiful and staff was available to provide rental cabanas ($40/day), umbrellas, or lessons, etc. The staff came around regularly offering food/drinks, $5 Mimosas before 11 each day, can't beat that. There is a washer/dryer in the unit and housekeeping left a box of soap a day for the washer. Housekeeping was fabulous actually. The towel program allows you to 'check out' towels in exchange for a card each day- great way to keep track of towels. We did pick up our info bag about the property, but did not attend the timeshare preso (we've been to them prior). The team was not aggressive or intrusive. We did buy tix to the Westin Maui Luau (~$300 for priority seating for the 3 of us). Meal was good, entertainment was good; just about every table was priority seating tho. lol. Burgers were pretty good at Pailolo grill. Wings were better at Oceans, main pool. My husbands birthday was the day before we arrived and I wanted to have an in room wine/cheese upon arrival- but due to travel delay, and I could not get to staff in time, it arrived on our 3rd day (not an issue, it was good). Christmas Day, Santa arrived in a canoe, kids had a good time with that! There is a store on site that has decent quick needs like cereal,wine, etc. for your room. Prices weren't terrible either. Starbucks onsite as well. There is a free shuttle service to the other Sheraton properties, as well as Lahaina for shopping, etc. Very nice to use this.

The Cons: The room is showing wear/ tear- trim is really beat up, the grout needs to be cleaned and there is that nasty black stuff in the shower. really needs to be scrubbed. The air vents are filthy as well and need a good cleaning. The Christmas Day dinner (crab fest) was honestly, awful. The turkey was dry, green beans were bland, the crab legs were so skinny and the cheese had been sitting in the sun too long (greasy)... i regretted paying $54/person instead of going somewhere else, dumb decision on my part. Extreme disappointment. The pool cabanas fill up quickly- so make your reservations at the pool house when you arrive so you are guaranteed a bit of shade/comfort. the sun is intense! Ice tea is over $6/glass from the bar... ouch. make your own in room, I learned that the hard way. Bring your goggles, etc from home, typical markup in anything pool related ($24 for goggles).

Take a walk on the beach and go to Dukes.. about a 10 minute walk; go to Whaler's village as well, good restaurants and nice shopping. Front St. has all the small shops and restaurants. We visited Kobe for hibachi.. its not 5 star, but it was good and service was friendly. We liked the breakfast at Longhis on our final morning on way to airport. French press coffee, fresh pineapple and hawaiian sweet toast.. can't beat that. the lobby area of the Westin Maui was very nice as well; waterfalls, flamingos, etc. there is a burger restaurant there called Relish- VERY good burgers and sweet potato waffle fries. Their hot wings were pretty good too.

My husband and daughter rented a kayak for $40/hr. They had a blast.

this resort is very close to Kapalua Golf course- husband said it was great. Definitely worth the money. He also played the Kaanapali course- you can get resort rate at any one of 3 properties, $95.

Make sure you 'pay it forward' with your beach toys. Some nice people gave us boogie boards when they were leaving and we did same on our last day... No need to have everyone repurchase!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
red deer
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The Westin Kaanapali lives up to the Westin reputation. It had great activities for all ages, including a pair of fantastic childrens pools. The waterslide/pirate ship was perfect for our 1 year old.

The food on site was reasonable quality, and well priced. We had a slight concern with one room service meal, and it was corrected immediately (even after hours).

The property itself is very very large. A good 10 minute walk across it for sure. If that does not bother you, then this property is like a mini city of it's own.

Location is good for the north west of Maui. 5 minutes drive straight south to Safeway (or Foodland) and 6 minutes drive to great shopping.

We booked a suite with bedroom. This 900sqft beauty felt like we were at home. Perfect kitchen, and all the plates/cups etc we needed to cook a good meal. The only thing I missed was having a convection over as opposed to a real oven. Oh well. The bbq pits made up for this.

Great job staff of the Westin. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We visit the Westin Ocean Resort Villas every year and this year we had the pleasure of being greeted by Sam,Brandon,Brock & Roy at the towel desk at the north pool. All of these guys were friendly each and every day. So sweet and fun when interacting with our kids. Made us always feel welcome and were there to serve us with whatever we needed. Great group of guys! Until next year!
Mahalo,
The McKinsey's

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Aloha The McKinsey’s,
We are delighted to hear that you love coming back every year. We are truly grateful that you do and appreciate your loyalty. Thank you for acknowledging our staff and for mentioning Sam, Brandon, Brock and Roy who helped to make your stay an outstanding one. We feel humbled to have caring and dedicated staff such as them who we can count on to make you feel at home. Thank you for your review and please let us know when we can expect your return.
Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning vistas and an exotic, idyllic setting on exclusive oceanfront property on Maui's North Beach, with golf, tennis, swimming, nd more. Perfect for a Hawaiian destination wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.