We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra help” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas to your Saves list
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
Carmel, California
1 review
“Extra help”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Brandon at the North Pool Deck recreation hut was extremely helpful during our two week stay. I had more interaction with him than any other employee of the Westin and he is a credit to your organization. He provided great advice and was extremely friendly and personable. His passion is surfing and he grew up in Hawaii so he was able to provide great personal info to this Doode. Thanks, Brandon, for making our stay so enjoyable this year!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Aloha! We are so proud to read that Brandon made such a positive impact on your stay. Brandon is among many of our outstanding associates who genuinely cares and often goes above and beyond to provide personalized service. Great service truly does make all the difference and we feel so lucky to have Brandon as part of our ohana. I will be sure to forward your comments to him and his team and ensure that he is recognized. We wish you a happy and wonderful rest of the year. Thank you again for your review!

Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,459
    647
    242
    120
    74
See reviews for
1,060
978
30
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porterville, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

What a pleasant surprise arriving here. From the moment we got out of shuttle we were helped with check-in by Jennifer. Friendly and sweet. From there we were introduced to Bryan, one of the managers and he seemed genuinely helpful and interested in his guests.
Even our bell captain Kawahi (not sure on spelling) was as nice as he could be. Then we got to our ocean front 2 bedroom lock off. They are so nice and family friendly or whatever you are looking for. We did have an issue with a leaky air conditioner but they were on top of of it within a half hour. Ronnie from engineering fixed us up and also gave us good suggestions for fresh fish and fruits. Also very friendly.
Thank you to Crystal from management for taking care of our later check in and sending special treats for us to celebrate. Thank you again.
Meals and drinks have been great. There are always going to be hiccups but when you are in paradise who cares :-)
We will be back!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Aloha and congratulations on your 30th anniversary! We couldn’t be more delighted to share in the celebration of such a wonderful milestone. On behalf of our entire staff, we would like to sincerely thank you for choosing our resort as your celebration destination. We are also happy to hear that Jennifer, Kawahi and Ronnie were pleasingly accommodating. I will be sure to share your review with their team leaders. Mahalo again.

Sincerely,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Enjoyed our 6 night stay at the Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas. We used my aunt's timeshare, since she was unable to use it this year. I loved the Resort from the moment I stepped in the property and pulled up to check in. Excellent amenities, great and upkept buildings, and friendly staff. From the Bellhop to the Front Desk, to Dining, everyone was so polite, friendly, and helpful. I was very surprised at the quality of service I received here. Jade from the Front Desk surprised us with a Road to Hana CD to borrow, going way above and beyond their regular duties.

We rented a Studio. The bathroom had a small Jacuzzi tub and a separate shower. The toilet was separate from everything else which I enjoyed. Washer and Dryer in the unit, which we used several times during our trip, and a kitchenette. A nice bed with decent thread count sheets, and a semi-view of the ocean, and primary view of the pool.

We didn't use the pool ourselves, but it was warm, big, and beautiful. We did have a chance to enjoy one of the Restaurants on North Ocean Vilas. Very good food (great burger), and a very friendly server, although I can't remember her name.

A great world-class resort, with all the amenities you need, and more. I really would like to buy into this Timeshare at the Westin down the road.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed on Maui for a total of 10 days for our wedding/honeymoon - of which, 7 nights were here at the Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Villas.

We were lucky enough to get the Ocean Front 1 bedroom suite months in advance and thoroughly liked the room. Only issue with the room as was the herds of morning walkers and joggers that run on the boardwalk right below the ocean front rooms. Other then that, it was, well, a perfect room!

The hotel itself was very well maintained, the pol was plastered with kids under 10 (seemed like this was all day, everyday).. so we didn't even go in it. Not a hotel for a romantic getaway with thousands of children running around, but if you have kids - this is the place! the beach right out front is excellent, snorkeling is good, sand was clean and soft. Hotel restaurants/bars have a happy our, this is the only time we visioned them and yes, the happy hour was good.

By far the most memorable service staff was a bellman named Kimo. From day one we felt like family coming in. He helped us day after day with everything from cold storage for groceries, to moving lots of stuff for the wedding back and forth tot the car, etc. Kimo - thank you again for all of your help - very much appreciated!


Over all, yes, we will stay he again. Our expectations were thoroughly met. Mahalo!

Room Tip: Ocean front, but ask for the higher floor or you will hear folks on the boardwalk below you at 5 am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights using a SPG promotion. With it being my birthday, we were upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite with a partial ocean view. The hotel grounds are amazing with beachfront access and fantastic pools. We also enjoyed the friendly staff and drink specials. The location was also ideal for access to Whaler's Village via a Westin shuttle. One tip is that we also utilized Costco SpaFinder gift cards to take advantage of a couple's massage. We would definitely jump on the opportunity to stay here again...an excellent, all-around experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room; use Costco SpaFinder gift cards for the spa and save 20%
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Aloha Matthew H,
First off, Happy Birthday! I am delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay on such a joyous occasion. On behalf of the Westin Villas we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your Westin experience and choosing us as your “home away from home.” We can’t wait to welcome you back to Maui again.

Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, CA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

What a gem! We were lucky enough to trade our Napa timeshare for a 2BR unit and absolutely loved it. First class all of the way. Pools, pools and more pools with amazing customer service provided by all.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Aloha Elwaysway,
Thank you for sharing your “Wow!” experience with everyone. We couldn’t be happier to know that you enjoyed your time here at the resort. On behalf of our entire staff, I’d like to thank you and let you know how grateful we are for your stellar rating and recommendation of our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back the shores of Keka’a Beach. Mahalo again.

Sincerely,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had an opportunity to have short vacation at the Westin Kaanapali and, since our year had been a particularly busy one, we thought this would be a nice respite before we were in full holiday mood. The resort is lovely, the beach beautiful and the room location ~ well, not so much. We we booked, based on the information provided, we had expected a room with at least a limited view and a patio to sit on. We were placed in Room 3104 and were told that no other rooms were available except on facing the road driving into the resort, both on the first floor. Since #3104 was closer to the pool, we decided to go with that one. Beware - #3104 faces the back of one of the restaurants (which is all you can see) and is on the first floor. The windows do not have any tinting so in order to have any privacy you have to have the privacy shades drawn in order not to provide a show for those walking by. In addition, it only as a juliet balcony so you do not have the opportunity to sit on a balcony, have a glass of wine or just enjoy the warm breeze. In order to do any of that, you have to leave your room. Not exactly what we were expecting. While the price was fair for what we received, we would have much preferred to have paid more and really enjoyed our resort experience. My suggestion to management is that they be more clear about what is being offered in terms of rooms so that guests are not surprised. The resort itself is lovely, extremely well maintained and the staff we encountered were very pleasant. However, we really couldn't enjoy the room with people always walking by and with the need to always pull the blackout shades if we wanted to change our clothes making the room like a dungeon. Beware Room 3104!

Room Tip: Do not book rooms on the lst floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Mahalo for your review. We would like to extend our apologies that your experience with your villa was not to your satisfaction. Please know that we genuinely care about your stay and would like the opportunity to personally speak to you. Please send me your preferred contact information to krystle.silva@westin.com. We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to hearing from you soon.
Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning vistas and an exotic, idyllic setting on exclusive oceanfront property on Maui's North Beach, with golf, tennis, swimming, nd more. Perfect for a Hawaiian destination wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.