We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular property, family friendly luxury!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Save Saved
You added The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Calgary
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Spectacular property, family friendly luxury!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We usually stayed in Wailea, but I am glad we came to stay here! The resort is family focused, without sacrificing luxury. It never feels too busy and it is spread out. The grounds are spectacular and well laid out. It's our new favourite! The pools and toddler pools are wonderful and there are many. There is a large pirate ship that sprays water and has slides for kids. There is also a large kids play structure park here, right out the door of building 2. In the main pool there is a large slide (100ft?) that is still safe for little kids. The pool bar is situated in the heart of the action and offers wonderful cocktails and food. Kids 3 and under eat free when you order an entree, and their meal was amazing. They had a large piece of daily catch grilled fish, broccoli and rice or fries, enough for 2 little ones to share. The pizza left a lot to be desired and our grilled chicken was over charred, the New York steak was delicious, and the ahi tuna salad was great, just ask for the dressing on the side as you may get an over zealous portion of it. An excellent restaurant with really great service, and the convenience of it is a bonus. The manager's special daily cocktail for $6 is a real bargain considering they regularly go for $10-14.
We rented an ocean view 1 bedroom villa from a private owner on a timeshare rental site and what a great deal this is for such a spacious fully stocked villa with gorgeous decor. Just be aware that in Hawaii, even a very partial ocean view is classified as Oceanview. Our room had a musty smell I reported, hopefully they remediate that issue. The beach walk here is incredible, I think I prefer it since it is made of decking rather than concrete. Very easy on the knees, and safer for children if they fall.
The beach is gorgeous. There is a beautiful reef with many colourful fish for snorkelling right out front, and the rocks begin about 10 feet in so little ones can still splash on the sandy endless rock free shoreline. You have to rent chairs and sometimes there wouldn't be an attendant there for a very long time, but we're happy to sit on the Hawaii sand nonetheless.
I couldn't ask for more on a family holiday.

Room Tip: Building 2 is a nice location relative to pools, lobby, valet, restaurant, kids pools and park. 2001...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,341
    589
    223
    113
    66
See reviews for
980
886
30
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

It is true that the staff are very friendly and attentive and the rooms inside are very nice. Overall the resort comes across as overcrowded and dark and ocean views and access are not as nice as in other Starwood Hawaii locations. A big minus is that the resort does not fully recognize Starwood platinum benefits and their ploys to sell timeshares are pushy. I have definitely seen better timeshares and one does not get the impression that westin integrates very well with the starwood program benefits, leaving some doubts, whether investing in such a property in the long run will be providing consistent benefits. Location-wise it is a minus that there is no oceanfront dining and too few restaurants and pools and public areas to make the resort feel exclusive given the large number of apartments on site. This feels more than a crowded rental than an exclusive resort, unfortunately. Matthias von Herrath SPG Platinum

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony and ocean views are hard to come by
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Aloha Matthias V,
First of all, it gives us great pleasure to thank you for your loyalty that recognizes you as our most valuable Platinum member. We can’t thank you enough for your dedicated commitment to our company. Please accept our sincere apologies that we were unable to provide you with a flawless and positively memorable experience. We truly do care about your experience and would be truly grateful to have the opportunity to discuss how we can restore your faith in us. Please contact me at krystle.silva@westin.com, if you would be so kind to let us reach out to you. Again, thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The Good: Location, great attention to detail, snorkeling, safety, upkeep, amenities in the room, bed, staff, the tiki torches that illuminate the property at night. Overall: stunningly beautiful resort. If you are an owner, you will not be disappointed.

The Bad: There are too many people, for too few pool amenities (and we went on off season). They overbuilt the amount of rooms for this resort. There are over 1100 rooms. Pools are too busy, adult pool location poorly planned in the windiest spot with no sun. Some things are not working(the Redbox kiosk was out of order and it should have been covered up and not had an "out-of-order" sign on it) --the fountain in front of our lanai was off and the water was stagnating at the bottom (this should have been drained). The carpet in our room was not vacuumed and there was a beer can on our lanai. (Any one of these things I would ignore, but as a whole, they knock the rating down).

The Ugly: If you are not an owner, or trade in as an owner from Interval International, most of the time, you'll get stuck in a building #4 type of accommodation like we did. The switch will take about 1/2 hour of your time and lots of frustration which will detract from your overall experience. Room switching is very common on Sundays and they need to come up with a system to expedite it. As we were checking out, we heard another owner who had switched in, screaming at the front desk because he was put into building #4 and told there was no ocean view. He overhead the person next to him being offered a view for $200 a day extra paying as a hotel customer. As an owner, you are promised that if there is a better view, it will be offered to you.

If you are an owner using an owner's week, they will treat you very well and you may have a 5 star experience. We are owners, but we had to let it go to Interval International because we couldn't travel one year. Our original room assignment was facing the highway. We were given two choices, neither was ideal, but at least we faced the parking lot instead of the highway and saw a strip of water if we craned our neck. The lanai was huge, but we didn't want to be out there facing a stagnating pool of water from a broken waterfall :(

We smelled the "sewage smell" once, but it wasn't on property. It was while driving on the highway. Not a big deal.

We didn't eat at the resort as our experience in the past was that the food is expensive and average. For an inexpensive dinner try Aloha Plate. It's not fancy, but it's on the water and you can't beat the view. We loved the pies at Leoda's (owned by the same folks as Aloha Plate).

Room Tip: manage your expectations and come early to negotiate if you are trading in. Any view below floor t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Nice rooms, great staff, however the sole purpose is to sell time shares. Maui will not be on my list of return locations because of all the time share pitches. If you get "Aloha, where are you from?" it means I have a time share to pitch you.

The staff was friendly, but if you have a question, find someone in the garage who is working for an honest answer without a timeshare pitch. The recommendations from the concierge were just BS if they were even right.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Aloha JHMoss,
We greatly appreciate your honest review and thank you for sharing your kind words about our staff. However, we are disappointed to hear that you had a negative experience with our Concierge Team as we pride our staff to deliver the “Aloha Spirit” at each encounter with our guests. We genuinely care about your experience and would like to discuss your stay in detail. Please contact me at krystle.silva@westin.com, if you would be so kind to let us reach out to you. Again, we apologize and look forward to hearing from you soon.

Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanra Rosa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We have been going to this resort for 10 years. Each year it gets better. We have seen that since their GM Angela Nolan has been in charge things have changed for the better. Staff is wonderful and grounds are beautiful. Over the years we have made many friends and most of them are the staff. Great family resort. Have already made plans for March!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed one week at this property. The rooms were nice, ocean beautiful and staff were friendly. We needed a room change upon arrival and were apprehensive about it. DeeDee East who works at the main desk worked out all the particulars and had our rooms in order immediately. My in-laws were celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary and when DeeDee found out she had a fruit and cheese platter sent to their suite, she was amazing!

Room Tip: We were in building 4 was very good. Building 2 was closer to restaurants and fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

come to this Westin property

i never write these reviews but here we go

three things

great and friendly service by Brandon
100% full easy to get a chair at 10 am
will come here again

great place will come back again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning vistas and an exotic, idyllic setting on exclusive oceanfront property on Maui's North Beach, with golf, tennis, swimming, nd more. Perfect for a Hawaiian destination wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.