We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas to your Saves list
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Gorgeous Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This resort is simply beautiful. The grounds are more lovely than the pictures show. Check is was a breeze. We had a 1bedroom ocean view with a huge balcony complete with table and chairs to enjoy breakfast or sunset cocktails. All the staff were helpful, friendly and just fantastic couldn't do enough to help with anything you needed. Our waitress Cynthia at the Italian restaurant was very helpful in menu recommendations as well as wine suggestions. She helped make our experience very enjoyable. I would highly recommend checking out this restaurant the food was amazing. We also ate at the north buildings poolside restaurant. The girl who served us there was also great sorry can't remember her name but she was very helpful and a lot of fun. We tried the SNUBA with Dave he was awesome. He did the pool demo and went out the next day right in front of the hotel with Evan. Dave & Evan were extremely patient & it was an unbelievable experience that I would recommend to everyone. This is a fabulous resort, the villas are spacious, modern and clean. The resort is spotless & the staff are fantastic. We have already booked to return next year.

Room Tip: Rooms in North building have bigger balconies. Kiddie pool is at south building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Aloha Margaret S,
Mahalo nui loa for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our resort. We greatly appreciate your recommendation to other travelers on harnessing the spirit of aloha. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our resort overall. From Pulehu an Italian Grill with our tempting menu offerings, your one bedroom ocean view villa and your Snuba experience right in front of the resort. I will be sure to pass your kind words to Cynthia, Dave & Evan as it is positive words like yours that keep our staff motivated and strive to make your stay memorable and unique. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back again.
Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,458
    646
    241
    120
    74
See reviews for
1,059
977
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just got back from a great trip to Maui. We stayed at the Westin Ka'anapali Resort Villas and had a great experience. The weather was amazing and we were treated well by the staff. We were treated especially well by Vincent Noga at the North Pool area. He has super helpful and arranged for a nice set-up on the sandy beach in front of the resort.

Look forward to our return-

Bill Leversee

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We stay here just about every year now and just love it. We used to stay at Lahaina Shores, but KORV is superior in every way. Great location and great beach. Close to Lahaina and Whaler's Village but without the crowds. Already have next year's vacation planned.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Aloha Larry H,
On behalf of our entire staff, I’d like to extend a heartfelt mahalo for staying with us year after year. We cannot thank you enough for your loyalty and for your kind words about your recent stay at our lovely resort. We sincerely appreciate your review and can’t wait to welcome you back next year. Aloha & A Hui Hou!

Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My family and I have stayed here several times, and every time it seems to get better. The staff is friendly and helpful, the location is great, snorkeling is good, the shuttle service is perfect for those not wanting to rent a car. Great place for family vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Aloha jbcapital,
Mahalo Nui Loa for another 5 star review. Each and everyone one of us here at The Westin Ka’anapali Ocean Resort Villas greatly appreciates it. We are delighted to hear that you and your family “Love this Place." We look forward to welcoming you back to our Westin ohana in the future.
Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Alberta
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We recently returned from our stay at the villas where we had connecting ocean view rooms. The resort was beautiful, modern and clean. I did find it a bit spread out, the kiddies pool is away from the other pools and most families have older children so this caused a bit of problem. You should expect to pay for everything from the volleyball for the pool to floaties. We were a bit shocked at the prices, $25 to buy the ball for the pool, $45 for a kayak rental for the day where we usually pay around $12/day in Waikiki. Most of the pools are fairly shallow, typically 3.5 ft deep which is nice for the kids. The rooms were beautiful and sound proof, comfortable beds and pillows were so awesome I noted the brand and plan on ordering some for home! Overall, really nice but we did feel a bit nickeled and dimed by the time we left..

Room Tip: The north tower ocean view that we rented looked out over a field with the ocean in the distance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Aloha MHABCanada,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us – we really appreciate your comments and have taken them into consideration. On the other hand, thank you for sharing your relaxing stay in your villa. We invite you to visit our website to purchase your very own Westin products so you may enjoy them at home: http://www.westin-hotelsathome.com. Mahalo again for taking the time to share your experience with us and we await to welcome you back to Maui again.
Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

OMG!!!! Where do I start? I guess from the beginning. We arrived at this beautiful resort by incredibly nice Bell boys who in turn handed us off to the correct entrance since there are two entrances. Jacob then assisted us in checking us in quickly and we asked for a free upgrade which he provided. Our room was very clean and cool and ready early. We meet with a GREAT concierge AMY FECHTER (Go see AMY!!) She was incredibly nice and very helpful. Her overall attitude was great didn't push anything on us and was excited for us as we picked out a Luau and a massage at the spa in the hotel. She then signed us up for a tour of the hotel (Take it it's only an hour and half and if you see Walter Rygiol you could be an owner just like us) the hotel pool was great in our area it had a large pool and a smaller "adult pool" to the right. We could walk right out to the beach where there is the best snorkeling i have ever experienced. I have taken numerous snorkel tours and now I know I don't need to pay lots of money because the fish and reef right behind the hotel was the best. More fish and color coral then in any other place. I saw fish I have never seen before and that's coming from someone who has been coming to Maui every year for 4 years. Loved it and no big waves so easy for family's to go play at the beach.

We became vacation rental owners and are excited about it. Walter explained everything to us in a manner we could understand. we could not pass this up and are very excited to travel the world in great hotels or villas with (SPG) Starwood Preferred Guest. Three things made this the best. The hotel itself was great much better then expected. Amy Fechter concierge was wonderful and Walter Rygiol was great as well. All three of these things made for the BEST VACATION SPOT EVER!!!! Cant wait to come back!!!

Room Tip: We had ocean view but it appeared all room had nice views. Try and get North tower location we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Aloha Kerrie70,
WOW! It sounds like you had a wonderful time. We are so honored and cannot thank you enough for choosing us as your “Home Away from Home.” I will pass on your kind words to our team about your EXCELLENT remark. We are truly lucky to have such enthusiastic people on our staff. We can’t wait to welcome you back to Maui again soon. In the meantime, enjoy the rest of the wonderful year.

Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Our family owns at this beautiful property and has been coming here for about 6 years, sometimes as couples and many times with family. The resort is in an excellent location since its not as busy as hotels right at Whalers Village, but a 5 minute ride away. The walking path allows beautiful walks all the way to the village or there is a shuttle. The villas have everything needed for a family-spacious, with kitchens and laundry. The North property is undergoing renovations now, one building at a time. I do wish they would have Hawaiian Music by the pools so we could feel the atmosphere of aloha a little more.

Room Tip: Ocean front is best, then ocean view. With small children ask to be in a building near the pirate po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Aloha Ruth N,
We are delighted to hear that you love coming to the resort making it 6 times this year. We are truly grateful that you do and appreciate your loyalty. It surely sounds like you all had and incredibly fun time and the resort was a perfect fit for your vacation. Our team has reviewed your feedback and has taken your comments into consideration for improvement with Hawaiian music around the pool. Thank you for your review and please let us know when we can expect your return.
Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning vistas and an exotic, idyllic setting on exclusive oceanfront property on Maui's North Beach, with golf, tennis, swimming, nd more. Perfect for a Hawaiian destination wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.