We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, grounds, staff, A+, Beach A+++” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas to your Saves list
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Location, grounds, staff, A+, Beach A+++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Five night stay in October, 2013-- check in easy and fast, room clean with kitchenette, jacuzzi,separate shower, big screen tv, lots of pillows and nice bed, quiet. Pool area very nice, staff was great and helpful, they actually check pool lounge chairs to keep people from throwing their stuff on a chair early in the morning but not using it and coming back later in the afternoon -- very nice as it opens up lots of chairs...beach, well it isn't rated in the top ten worldwide for no reason -- extremely nice....parking easy. location great, free shuttles to key areas

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,459
    647
    242
    120
    74
See reviews for
1,060
978
30
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the Westin in Kaanapali along Maui Beach this January. My husband, 8 month old daughter at the time and I flew to Hawaii and visited 3 major islands in Hawaii. We were there for 2 weeks and of all the hotel properties, I would have to say this one was the best for it's class and value. Nonetheless, the beaches along the property have to be the nicest and cleanest in comparison to all the other beaches on the other islands in Hawaii. On a side note, don't remember the source I read from, but after concluding this trip I was lucky to find out that this beach along with the resort we stayed at ranked as one of the top 25 best places to stay for 2013!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We absolutely loved our 5 night stay at the 1 bedroom villa (end of Sept). Our two sons (5yrs and 3yrs) were thoroughly captivated by the pirate pool. The amenities (including shuttle service), views and service were outstanding. It was a luxurious experience. My 5 yr old gave the Maui trip a 10/10. Thank you to all the staff, particularly to Marc / Mark at the Ocean Bar and Grill.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean T, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Aloha KiwiAussie,

Mahalo for your kind words and review; we appreciate the kind words and are delighted that your sons both enjoyed the resort's amenities and activities. We'll be sure to pass on your compliments to Mark at Ocean Pool Bar and Grill for his memorable guest service experience.

Mahalo nui loa,

The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

During our 10 day stay at the Westin Villas, we encountered three employees at the pool who really stood out because of their friendliness, their willingness to help us in any way they could and to share their genuine Aloha spirit. There names were Makaio, Issac & Josh. In the 10 days we were at the villas, we saw them 7 out of the 10 days. They always greeted us with a smile and treated us like family. My husband and I enjoyed their great customer service and look forward to our next visit at the Westin villas.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Westin Villas and our encounter with these three employees made the entire trip a real pleasure all the way around. Keep up the great work. We will return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Aloha Francine B.,
We are so pleased to read that our staff provided you with exceptional service. Thank you for recognizing all of them who made your Westin Villas experience unforgettable. I will be sure that Makaio, Issac and Josh whom you’ve mentioned are recognized for seamlessly working together to ensure that you & your husband’s stay was a comfortable one. We enjoy making personal connections and memorable experiences with our guests and thank you for allowing us to do so for you. Mahalo for taking the time to post your review and for choosing us as your “home away from home.” We hope to welcome you back to Maui again. Have a great rest of the year.

Mahalo,
Krystle
Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

ok, maybe I HAVE to say this because we're Starwood gold members here, but honestly, when we were looking for timeshares, we KNEW this one would be the benchmark...who doesn't want to stay in Maui in Kaanapali?! So, we have 3 weeks here every year and most often come at least annually or transfer the points to another international Starwood property. BOTTOM LINE-This property is one of a handful in Maui where you can snorkel (what I live for) off the beach. I promise you, if you snorkle enough, you will see all reef fish AND eels you can imagine, turtles, and if you're lucky, spotted eagle rays (which I've seen several times). I adore this property. The studio as well as the 1 bedrooms are awesome. Note: Stop at the Costco near the airport, load up, and bring your goodies to your room and plan to eat lots of meals in your room. YES, everybody has to wait until 4pm to get into their room (even gold members...so just plan for it). ALL staff are over the top in helpfulness. The pools are great, although when I'm there I spend nearly 8-10 hours daily in the ocean snorkling. I have NEVER been disappointed. There's great walking trails (in addition to just walking on the beach) and the free shuttle that runs all day long is a gift. Get your snorkle gear at Snorkle Bobs or its likeness, since it'll be cheaper than at the hotel. Also, given this is so far north, take in the snorkle beaches at Napili and Kapalua, which are just a hop, skip, and jump up the road! You'll fall in LOVE!

Room Tip: I love to stay on the ?south side (next to the public park)...it's fun to still have a water vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Aloha SNOHOMOJO,
Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate you sharing your KOR expertise with other travelers. I am sure it will help them decide that the amenities we offer allow for a relaxing and stress free Maui vacation. We are thrilled to know that you were able to have some of the best snorkeling that Maui has to offer. Thank you for your taking the time to share your experience with us. We can’t wait to have you here at the resort again, soon.
Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have stayed at the Ka'anapali Westin Villas three times with our kids. We love the two bedroom lockoff units. The resort has everything that you would expect at a four-star resort. Gorgeous views, fabulous amenities and friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Aloha Cindy827,
Mahalo for your review. We can’t say enough how grateful we are that you have chosen us, three times, as your “home away from home” for your ohana (family). Mahalo! We are happy to hear you and the kids enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

There is a woman named Angela and a guy names Judson who are the BEST servers! Great advice too when you are new to the island! Weather in October is perfect and there are NO crowds! Definitely the time to visit Maui!

Room Tip: Wish I could say - really want an ocean front next time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your refreshing experience with us. We are pleased to read that our staff went above and beyond to create a memorable experience. We will be sure to pass on your comments to Angela and Judson team leaders for providing such excellent service. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning vistas and an exotic, idyllic setting on exclusive oceanfront property on Maui's North Beach, with golf, tennis, swimming, nd more. Perfect for a Hawaiian destination wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.