We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Save Saved
You added The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We just returned from two weeks at the Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas and had a wonderful time. We received great service from everyone, from the housekeeping staff, front desk or the restaurants on property. The location is perfect and we walked the beachwalk each day. The pools were great and never ran into any problem getting a lounge chair as I had read in previous reviews. We will definitely return!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Aloha Kathy,
We loved reading your review and knowing that your stay with us made an “amazing” impact on your vacation. I have to agree with you and admit that we are truly lucky to have sincere associates who genuinely care about your experience. Thank you for all of your kind words. A Hui Hou, Until We Meet Again.

Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,343
    590
    223
    113
    66
See reviews for
982
886
30
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Westin Kaanapali is our home away from home. The resort is beautiful, snorkeling is awesome and the service is friendly and fantastic. I want to give a shout out to Mailisa and Sam at the pool desk. Helped me pick out sunglasses, snorkel equipment and just were so out of their way to be helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Always stay at Building 6 or 7 upper floors for a good view of ocean and sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Had a wonderful time and the resort was fantastic! We were upgraded to a ocean view bedroom suite that was secluded. This was an added bonus and icing on the cake for such a beautiful resort.

Tried to venture to the black sand beach but the rental car broke down in the mountains and it took hours for another car to be brought to us; even still this did not damper the beauty of Maui or my trip. Although I did loose a whole day. Went snorkeling and sailing with "Trilogy Tours" and the whole crew were fun and professional.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Aloha Tracey,
We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time at the resort and enjoyed your ocean view villa. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and choosing us as your “home away from home.” We can’t wait to welcome you back to Maui again.

Mahalo,
The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have really enjoyed our time here at the Westin! Especially all the different pools to visit with such a beautiful view. We place a big weight on service when we travel, and felt we have been treated very well each day out at the pools. We quickly became friends with the pool attendants who became known as the "Tacoma Boys." They are always welcoming, wanting to see how our day is, and see how they can make it better. A friendly genuine smile is always appreciated. If your out at the pool make sure to find Philip A, Jesse P, and Vincent!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean T, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Aloha Britt S,

Mahalo for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are glad that you enjoyed your time by the pool. This is definitely the way to spend your time relaxing on Maui. We'll be sure to forward your positive experience to all of the pool associates you mentioned in your review. Mahalo for your time and review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Mahalo nui loa,

The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at the Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas for one week and LOVED it! The location is fantastic! As the Villas have a small kitchen, we were able to go to the Safeway down the road and stock up on some essentials. Lahaina is right down the road as well, which has a great dive shop for setting up your diving excursions. The property itself is beautifully landscaped and everything you would expect from a Westin. The rooms were very comfortable and made you want to take your time in the mornings before going out, but once you are out, beauty awaits you! The reef right behind the hotel was some of the best snorkeling we have ever experienced! We saw huge sea turtles, eels, and fish of every color! The pools are also very enjoyable, as are the bars and restaurants. We would stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone considering staying here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This Westin has a spectacular open air lobby and beautiful view of the pool and ocean. However, that was it. We opted to upgrade to ocean view. (Careful, their was only a "Juliette" balcony and no where to enjoy the view unless you were at the door) Unfortunately the room was not clean and we had to move to another room. We were not able to stay in the room and had to move back later that night. At no time did the bellmen help tote luggage. Next morning they showed us as checking out, then the keys to the room didn't work. Pools were crowded and the wait staff were busy and hard to get service at times. Must have been short staffed and training as everytime we were at the front desk there were trainees learning. The beach was amazing and great snokeling off the beach. Note that these beaches are public and anyone can access, they are not part of the Westin. We stayed at the Westin in Lahaina and it was great. This was just not what you would expect from the Westin and price of the resort. And they did not seem to care about their guests.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have lanais, so ask if the room has one before booking the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean T, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Aloha JStrickla,

We apologize for the service experience you encountered during your stay with us and we understand your frustrations. We will follow up with our housekeeping, valet and front desk teams to ensure that we constantly maintain the Westin branded experience for our guests. We apologize for the shortcomings and hope that you'll give us another chance in the future.

Mahalo,

The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I had the opportunity to stay with Starwood owners on this property for two whole weeks!! I loved the food and I'm a very picky eater. Get the fish tacos!! The spa on the premises was intimate and tranquil- Suji did a fantastic job with my treatment. Bartenders Joe and Penny were awesome!! Lahaina Sunset was my favorite drink- blended Mango, banana, pineapple with stawberry syrup. Ken and Brandon from the Beach Acivities of Maui, located on site, were the best! Ken helped us find the best and safest sunscreen for our skin. Everything from the acoustic music, the beach, and sunsets...make this the perfect place for a babymoon, honeymoon, or a relaxing family vacation. I'm going to miss this place so much!

My only words for improvement would be for the concierge- do not tell people to go on the northern highway of west Maui to get to horseback riding lessons because it is very dangerous. The concierge team should do all of the activities they offer to get a better understanding of what they are offering.

We will be back next year!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Business Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning vistas and an exotic, idyllic setting on exclusive oceanfront property on Maui's North Beach, with golf, tennis, swimming, nd more. Perfect for a Hawaiian destination wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.