We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas to your Saves list
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Monday Exclusive
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

First visit to Maui, it won't be our last. Great room, fantastic views, wonderful beach. The breakfasts were wonderful as were the dinners. It was also convenient that we had a washer and dryer in the room. We would definitely come back to the Westin Kaanapali.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean T, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Aloha Ron A,

Mahalo for your kind words. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We love reading the positive experiences our guests have and yours was a joy to read. We will definitely share your review with our staff. We hope that you had a stress-free trip back home and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort again soon.

Mahalo,

The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,438
    637
    238
    120
    73
See reviews for
1,049
961
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upland, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Just back from a fantastic week at the Westin villas. We traded our time share in Rancho MIirage for a week in Maui. Smart choice! We had a great 1 bedroom villa in building 6, an island view room. {not ocean front} but very nice. We had a nice size kitchen and loved having several meals on the veranda,, so relaxing with a nice glass of wine. We loved the pools and used both the south and north villa pools. There were lots of kids enjoying their summer break, but it was nice to see them having so much fun. We never had difficulty finding a lounge chair, and the happy hour drinks were good! Great pool service!
We had a great dinner at the Italian restaurant Pulehu. It was one of our best dinners out on the island. We also enjoyed their Monday night wine tasting social, great wines and a fun place to meet other guests.
We loved the beach and it is awesome spot to go snorkeling. We saw turtles just 20 feet off shore and amazing tropical fish. I think it is one of the best reefs on the island.. If you have a chance go to Napili cove for snorkeling, amazing turtles there!!! We can't wait to go back to the Westin!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

In May of 2013 we returned to the Westin Kaanapali Villas on a promotional package. Our experience was nothing but positive. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and immaculately maintained. We were upgraded to a partial ocean view when we arrived as our room was not ready upon check-in. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

The food at the bar restaurant was very good and the service was exceptional. One server overheard me asking another guest where they got blueberries as I didn't see them on the breakfast buffet and when I returned to my table I was delighted to find a bowl of blueberries.

The beach is perfect for swimming and snorkeling as I swam in the ocean each day from 9 am to 3 pm. Beach chairs, umbrellas, paddle boards, kayaks and snorkeling equipment are available to rent on the grounds. There are multiple pools and spas that are open until 10 pm for evening relaxation and swimming.

I had the best massage ever at the spa and relaxed in the evening with a glass of wine in the oversized rocking chairs which faced the ocean at sunset. The evening was complete with the best night sleep ever in the Westin's Heavenly Bed.

Staying at the Villa's made our vacation a magical experience. We plan to come back next year! Mahalo and Aloha until next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean T, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Aloha Coe123,

We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our restaurants, beach, and spa contributed positively to your vacation experience. Mahalo nui loa for your kind words and taking the time to provide us with your review. We certainly appreciate the sentiment and your review will be forwarded to our associates so that they too receive your compliments. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort again soon.

A hui hou!

The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was our second stay here, the staff are friendly, the beach is a short walk down a wooden path and the pools are very well maintained. We ate at the Italian Restaurant on property and the meal was very good. The room was well kept and cleaned every day we needed. Our safe in the room malfunctioned the day we were checking out but one call and the maintanance person showed up and had it opened after having to drill the door. The one thing that we would recommend, if you want a shady spot under one of the thatch umbrellas at the pool - you have to get up very early and place a towel on the chairs. They pool staff does not appear to enforce the signs that state that things are removed from the pool chairs if not used.

Room Tip: Arrive early if you can in high season to get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The facilities are great, however the quality of the room does not match the Westin brand. The room needed some maintenance. As we had two young children we were room/balcony bound after they went to sleep in the evening. Our room had a nice ocean view, however we were right above a noisy generator that was on 24/7. If you intend to use you balcony, my advice would be to check where your room is located. We could not speak as the noise from the generator was deafening.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean T, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Aloha Michael H,

Mahalo for taking the time to provide us with your review. We apologize for your villa selection during your stay with us and we regret that you were unable to use your balcony throughout your stay. You also mentioned that the villa you were in needed some maintenance. In hopes of continually improving our accommodations for our guests, we invite you to contact us via TripAdvisor direct message or email me directly at sean.tamon@westin.com so that we may dispatch our housekeeping and/or engineering teams to the villa to ensure it receives the proper care to ensure it represents the Westin brand.

Mahalo for your time,

Sean T., Manager
The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We're huge fans of Starwood and specifically the Westin and W Hotel brands. Overall we had a good experience. However there were a handful of things that would make us consider staying elsewhere the next time we return to Maui. My fiancee had planned to propose on this trip and after reading all the reviews about less than ideal room locations facing parking lots, etc. he reached out to the concierge to request a nice room. He was advised to contact the reservation agent who booked our reservation. He did as was suggested and was told to call the hotel. Getting the run around even before we arrived was a bit frustrating and kind of set the tone for our stay.

As it turned out we ended up in a room facing the parking lot. I'm not a fan of ground floor rooms near parking lots due to security reasons after acquaintances of ours experienced a horrific attack in Scottsdale, AZ. To make matters worse our room did not have a shower. This was extremely disappointing. I thought the Heavenly shower was a Westin standard but somehow we must have ended up in the one room on the property without one. Instead we had a jacuzzi tub which was nice but after spending an exhausting day traveling from Chicago (10+hrs on a plane and 16 hours traveling in total including racing through airports to make connections) and wanting nothing more than a shower to freshen up after we arrived it was a HUGE disappointment to find out there was no shower in our room. We tried calling the front desk two times but the phone just rang and rang and rang. There was just one girl at the desk when we checked in so it wasn't a surprise to us that we couldn't reach anyone. We tried calling the hotel operator and / or guest services and were advised to go to pack up all our stuff and go to the front desk and wait in line to speak to someone. After the exhausting day of travel we just decided we'd stick with the room and try to grab a bite to eat since we had basically not eaten all day.

Other minor things were that some of the standard amenities were not in our room when we arrived (dish detergent, laundry detergent, etc.) It has been my experience that these things are in your room when you arrive and the replenished during the mid week tidy. The items were replenished mid week but I just found it odd that they weren't there upon our arrival. And as we were zipping up our suitcases on check out day there was a knock on our door promptly an 9:58am (check out is at 10am) reminding us it was time to go. I'm glad I don't own here because Westin definitely falls short on making you feel like this is your home away from home.

The hotel location (Kaanapali Beach) is perfect. The restaurants were good. The pool was a bit crowded. The beach was lovely but I think I may try the Four Seasons next time. This hotel just didn't live up to everything I've come to expect from Westin and W Hotels and when you're coming from so far the last thing you want is to be disappointed in is your hotel choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean T, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Aloha Claudia C,

We would like to extend our apologize for the service your received upon check-in as well as your disappointment with your villa location. We recognize that this was a special time for you and your fiancee and we sincerely regret that we were unable to exceed your expectations during your stay. We would like to follow up with you further regarding your concerns, we invite you to direct message us via TripAdvisor with your reservation information so that we may follow up with you and a few key associates here at the resort.

Mahalo for your time,

The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, IL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I responded to the Westin 5 night offer I received in the maiI and booked this trip as a surprise for my wife's birthday. After reading some prior reviews about people who responded to the offer getting "poor" rooms, I called the hotel to try secure a nice room. I spoke to Suzie at reception who told me that the hotel would be doing their room assignments on the upcoming Monday and that she would call me on that day to tell me what she could do. I know what you're thinking: "Sure, she'll call. Right." But as promised, she called me to the minute she saId she would. And that was the second of a couple follow-up conservations. Suzie managed to get us a fantastic room - so thank you Suzie for all your efforts in turning my wife's surprise trip into an unforgettable experience!

All in all, we thought it was a great property. As mentioned, our room was fantastic, the grounds were well-maintained, and the beach was great. We ate at the Italian restaurant on the property which my wife put at one of her favorite meals ever.

A quick note on grocery shopping. We had originally decided to stop at the Costco right by the airport but then saw the Kmart next door and decided to go there because it was just the two of us (and didn't want to get Costco bulk). The Kmart is probably the worst, most disgusting grocery store I have ever had the misfortune to enter. Avoid at all cost. There is a Safeway in Lahaina (about 10 mins south of the resort) which is a far, far better option.

To end on a positive, with Starwood you generally don't go wrong, and this resort lived up to expectations - and then some.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean T, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Aloha goldbeda,

We are so delighted that you decided to celebrate your wife's birthday with us and that you enjoyed your time with us. Suzie is definitely an asset to our front office team and we are very privileged to have her with us. We'll be sure to pass on your compliments to her and the leadership team here to ensure that she is recognized for her outstanding efforts. We wish your wife all the best and we hope to welcome you both to our resort again soon.

Mahalo,

The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning vistas and an exotic, idyllic setting on exclusive oceanfront property on Maui's North Beach, with golf, tennis, swimming, nd more. Perfect for a Hawaiian destination wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.