We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great couple of weeks in the villas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Save Saved
You added The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another great couple of weeks in the villas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Two weeks of this breath taking place was very hard to leave! This is the first time staying two weeks and now we are working hard so we can buy more time. The grounds are kept up in a spectacular way just adding to the beautiful views seen every where you look. Already booked for two weeks in 2014 and the count down clock is a great reminder of when we will see all the great staff once again! From the bell men, bar tenders, wait staff,and everyone you meet from this Westin all are smiling and ready to assist in any way they can to make your stay the best vacation ever!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,383
    612
    231
    119
    68
See reviews for
1025
908
30
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

So the good things about the Westin Ka'anapali Villas are:

1. Promiximity to Lahaina where there are some lovely restaurants
2. The beach and the snorkelling area and the really helpful friendly guy who works on the beach. He was very happy to take our photo and told us about Frank the turtle who frequents certain parts of the beach
2. The spa bath in the room and the spacious Lanai looking out to the water - a great breakfast spot
3. The mini market and DVD kiosk on site
4. Carparking if needed

The bad....

1. Patchy service. We couldn't get our DVD player to work in our room and we called for help. We were told someone was on his way.....he never arrived. We had a couple of incidents like this. We asked for water bottles at reception before going on a tour and were told that they don't normally hand them out. If there was an easy way of getting water (such as a fliter) he didn't point it out to us....We had so little faith in the service that on check out we took our own bags from the room and didn't bother with porter help.

2.The lady on reception at the spa was very unfriendly (she basically just shoved the waiver form in my hand as I arrived) and the push to sell products at the end was awkward. Also, the lady at the water sports equipment kiosk was very unfirendly almost to the point of being rude. We haven't stayed at the hotel or in Maui before - please don't roll your eyes if we ask you a question about the best snorkelling spots.

3. The corridor to our room next to the car park is a little creepy at night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Katie_dollHongKong,

Thank you for your review. First allow me to apologize for the number of events that led to your lack of faith in our service. Please know that this is not this is not representative of our standards. We would be grateful for the opportunity to personally discuss with you the details of your recent stay at our resort. I have sent you a private message requesting for your contact information so that we may reach out to you. Again, we apologize and look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was our second trip to this property. We were there in 2011 and just returned from our recent trip. This is a beautiful resort. Yes, it is large and there are a lot of people there. Overall, we met very nice people and received very good service from all employees. We did not purchase meals at any of the onsite restaurants so can't comment on them. We had drinks at two of the bars and some appetizers. All very good. Expensive? A bit, but not awful at happy hour. You're on the beach in Maui, you are going to pay more than you do for drinsk at your local sports bar back home. We once again had a studio. The studio's are very nice and work perfectly for the 2 of us. I would not reccomend them for a family. Maybe a couple with a young child. They would be cramped for a family with older children or more than 1 child. The kitchenette was adequate for us to prepare our breakfasts and a few dinners. We barbequed and prepared side dishes at our room. We had a poor view and no balcony, we were in 3104 and if a view or balcony is a must, don't accept this room. On the other hand, if you are not an owner you will not have any say in the selection of your room. We exchanged our timeshare week through interval a year in advance and the Westin Ka'anapali told me when I called that no room assignments were made until 1 day before check in. I called a day ahead and was told they would put in a request for no first floor. Guess what? The airline rebooked our flight and we were late getting in. We were assigned the first floor and told that nothing else was available. Nevertheless, we are not "room " people, meaning we spend most of our time out of our room. Our view was of the back of the restaurant/bar by the pool and if we leaned over the railing which was right outside our sliding door (no lanaii) we could peek in the distance and see a tiny bit of ocean, therefore the resort called this an ocean view. I think they would get a lot less complaints if they stopped calling these rooms "ocean views" and just called them what they are- pool views, limited views, etc The receptionist did give us coupons for a free breakfast buffet so we were happy with that . Other than the room selection thing, we were treated very well and enjoyed the location of this resort. We could walk up and down the beach walk, enjoy snorkeling form the beach, and had the convenience of a bar, pool towels, etc. The free shuttle was a plus too. We took the shuttle and enjoyed a delicous dinner at the Hula Grill one evening, and used it to go to Black Rocks and snorkel. They have added a barbecue area outside of building 4 since our last visit which was very convenient. We love Maui, love Kanaapali beach and loved our vacation.

Room Tip: Do not be misled by "Ocean View" there are very few Ocean Front rooms at this large resor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed here in July of 2011 with my family of more than 10. We had three seperate rooms, all with amazing views. The lounge area by the pool was spectacular, with full service food and drinks. The cabanas were a plus if you can get them. They had a children's pool as well that was a little walk to the other side of the villas. Access to the beach was within 50 feet of the resort. It wasn't quite as decked out as some of the other resorts nearby, but it was a little more laid back and relaxing. The staff was always tentative to your needs, rooms were clean and spacious. Could be a good honeymoon place. I would definitely bring my family back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

The Westin can't take credit for the beach or snorkling - which is great.

Rooms are nice. We rented thru an owner, so were fortunate enough to get a 6th floor ocean view room.

Its the small stuff they need to improve on.

Restaurants are super expensive and not that highly rated. We dined at Dukes.

On nights with little to no breeze the smell from the torches is really obnoxious. Smells like a 747 just crashed.

Odor from the sewage treatment plant is also noticeable on some nights.

The pools are super crowded and the water is too warm to cool off. Glad I can swim in the ocean, which is why I came to Maui, but still, pools need improvements.

No fitted sheets on the beds. So the bottom sheet comes undone - like a cheap motel bed.

Parking is free, but it is limited and is a long walk from the rooms.

Only way I'd stay here again is if I got a deal thru an owner. There are nice condo places with rooms that are just as nice, equal views, less crowded pools and easier parking.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Aloha Davis23,

We’d like to extend our apologies that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction. Our team has reviewed and taken your comments into consideration for improvement. Aside from this, we hope that you enjoyed your time on Maui and hope that we may have a chance to welcome you back for a satisfying Westin experience. Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your review.

Mahalo,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Westin Ka'anapali Villas are gorgeous, the pools lovely and the beach perfect. We went for a wedding and between us had several villas; no one wanted to come home. The shuttle service was handy to go into Lahaina for dinner and shopping.
I loved having a downstairs villa, looking toward the park and beach.
We traded our timeshare in Scottsdale, rented on 2/2br from redweek and rented a 1/ br from the resort.
It was quite windy in May – sand blasted most afternoons.

The grounds are Lovely lovely lovely

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Sounds like you had an incredible time with us. We appreciate you sharing your experience with other travelers and look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed at The Westin Ka'anapali in Maui for a full week and had an awesome time. The one bedroom villas are spacious and the bathroom is huge. Villa is equipped with EVERYTHING you could possibly need for a full week.

Beach is nice and pools are very nice. Everything was always keep clean and in great shape. I was not bothered about timeshares sales which was nice.

Staff is friendly and mellow. Hotel is located near shops, restaurants, grocery store (Safeway). Front Street (main district) is within a few minutes driving. We rented a car but there is a free shuttle to take you to the main spots in Lahaina.

This was a week of perfection and I would DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Aloha inkedtc!

We are excited to hear that you had an amazing stay. Thank you for taking the time to post your reveiw. We look forward to welcoming you back again for yet another amazing Westin Ka’anapali experience.

Mahalo,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning vistas and an exotic, idyllic setting on exclusive oceanfront property on Maui's North Beach, with golf, tennis, swimming, nd more. Perfect for a Hawaiian destination wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.