We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay at The Westin Ka'anapali!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Save Saved
You added The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing stay at The Westin Ka'anapali!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed at The Westin Ka'anapali in Maui for a full week and had an awesome time. The one bedroom villas are spacious and the bathroom is huge. Villa is equipped with EVERYTHING you could possibly need for a full week.

Beach is nice and pools are very nice. Everything was always keep clean and in great shape. I was not bothered about timeshares sales which was nice.

Staff is friendly and mellow. Hotel is located near shops, restaurants, grocery store (Safeway). Front Street (main district) is within a few minutes driving. We rented a car but there is a free shuttle to take you to the main spots in Lahaina.

This was a week of perfection and I would DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Aloha inkedtc!

We are excited to hear that you had an amazing stay. Thank you for taking the time to post your reveiw. We look forward to welcoming you back again for yet another amazing Westin Ka’anapali experience.

Mahalo,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,366
    607
    227
    118
    67
See reviews for
1016
894
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was our 5th stay at the Villas, our first time on the north side. As usual - we had another great stay. The staff is always friendly and very helpful, the rooms very clean and comfortable, amenities are great, and the beach and snorkeling right out front make it a great place to stay.

My only complaint was the condition of some of the BBQ grills - missing grates, or no gas. Cost is a little high, too, when comparing to some rates available at the newer and neighboring Holua Kai. Overall though - we love this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canadian rockies
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our 4 stay at the Westin. Stayed with 4 adults for a week in April. No problems. friendly check in. Room clean and extra towels included. Pool area clean and busy. Beach has good snorkelling and great sunsets. Whales are visible from shore. Great sandy huge beach that's never over crowded. Pool area has bar with light meals. Nice koi ponds and tiki torches at night. Fridays have local vendors and artisans near the beach area.

Room Tip: HIgher rooms have better views. Mostly owners of villas in oceanfront units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here for a 7 day time share exchange for our anniversary and we had an overall good experience. I would give this location a good rating and not the very good rating a 4 star indicates but there is no “good” rating button to push. This rating was earned due to some excellent parts of our stay and then some not so excellent.

Excellent was the location with beach and snorkeling right out front.

Not excellent was the frantic crowded nature of our arrival. This place is busy, busy and the staff is hurried to move you along. We received no information upon check in and had to learn about the resort later from the concierge (which we found out from another guest). Once we did speak to the concierge, he was extremely helpful and not pushy trying to upsell stuff we didn’t want.

Excellent is the bus service to town and other Starwood resorts. This is great to get to the Sheraton resort for their excellent Black Rock snorkeling area.

Not so great was that you cannot use the luggage carts to carry groceries or anything else to your room. “Liability reasons” was the excuse they used. Funny, I’ve used these carts at every other location I’ve stayed at as needed without a problem.

Excellent was the free midweek service, which at many other locations, is non-existent or you now need to pay for.

Not so great was the cleanliness of our room which felt more 3 star clean then 5 star clean.

There are many other examples of the great and not so great, with these being just a few. Overall, the good definitely outweighs the bad so, I would stay here again without question.

Room Tip: Stay in the North section if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This property was perfect. The 2 bedroom villa was beautiful. We were in the North building oceanfront 5th floor. The view was great. Excellent service. Food was expensive at the hotel. The breakfast buffet had a lot to offer (free with AARP rate). We enjoyed our breakfast every morning. New items added each day. All in all, we would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owasso, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a 21 day trip to Maui. Our last week we stayed At the Westin Villas. We've been here before and really enjoy it. But frankly, we enjoy staying at the Marriott Ocean Beach Club resort better. The rooms are actually a bit nicer at the Westin, but the location, the pools and the beach and number of cabanas are better at the Marriott, in our opinion. And the U-shape configurations of the different buildings around the pools means that it gets significantly less air circulation and hotter than the hotels/resorts further south on Ka'anapali Beach.
That being said, you can't go wrong with the Westin Resort Villas. It is a stellar property and they offer regular shuttle service to downtown Lahaina for their guests. It is hard to say anything negative about this property, actually.

Room Tip: Good look getting an ocean view room if you are not a time-share owner. And you'll need to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We combined a business trip with a family vacation at the Ocean Villas. We couldn't have been more happy with the accommodations, the resort, the staff, the location, everything. We had an island view studio that was large enough for our family of 5. If we had spent more time in the room, I think it would have started to feel cramped, but we were on the go most of the time.

We thought the location couldn't have been better and enjoyed using the pools and the beach (perfect for snorkeling with kids).

My daughter's birthday fell on one of our days there. Kerry Ignacio, a wonderful and thoughtful staff member, made sure my daughter had the warmest birthday greeting possible. It was so nice of her to think of my daughter on her special day. (Mind you, I told Kerry about my daughter's birthday upon check-in and she made sure that there was a special surprise 5 days later).

We had one of the best vacations we've had in awhile, especially considering we had some business to attend to also.

Thank you to Angela Nolan and the staff at the Ocean Villas!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning vistas and an exotic, idyllic setting on exclusive oceanfront property on Maui's North Beach, with golf, tennis, swimming, nd more. Perfect for a Hawaiian destination wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.