We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Save Saved
You added The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
canadian rockies
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“great stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our 4 stay at the Westin. Stayed with 4 adults for a week in April. No problems. friendly check in. Room clean and extra towels included. Pool area clean and busy. Beach has good snorkelling and great sunsets. Whales are visible from shore. Great sandy huge beach that's never over crowded. Pool area has bar with light meals. Nice koi ponds and tiki torches at night. Fridays have local vendors and artisans near the beach area.

Room Tip: HIgher rooms have better views. Mostly owners of villas in oceanfront units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,383
    612
    231
    119
    68
See reviews for
1025
908
30
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
So Cal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here for a 7 day time share exchange for our anniversary and we had an overall good experience. I would give this location a good rating and not the very good rating a 4 star indicates but there is no “good” rating button to push. This rating was earned due to some excellent parts of our stay and then some not so excellent.

Excellent was the location with beach and snorkeling right out front.

Not excellent was the frantic crowded nature of our arrival. This place is busy, busy and the staff is hurried to move you along. We received no information upon check in and had to learn about the resort later from the concierge (which we found out from another guest). Once we did speak to the concierge, he was extremely helpful and not pushy trying to upsell stuff we didn’t want.

Excellent is the bus service to town and other Starwood resorts. This is great to get to the Sheraton resort for their excellent Black Rock snorkeling area.

Not so great was that you cannot use the luggage carts to carry groceries or anything else to your room. “Liability reasons” was the excuse they used. Funny, I’ve used these carts at every other location I’ve stayed at as needed without a problem.

Excellent was the free midweek service, which at many other locations, is non-existent or you now need to pay for.

Not so great was the cleanliness of our room which felt more 3 star clean then 5 star clean.

There are many other examples of the great and not so great, with these being just a few. Overall, the good definitely outweighs the bad so, I would stay here again without question.

Room Tip: Stay in the North section if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This property was perfect. The 2 bedroom villa was beautiful. We were in the North building oceanfront 5th floor. The view was great. Excellent service. Food was expensive at the hotel. The breakfast buffet had a lot to offer (free with AARP rate). We enjoyed our breakfast every morning. New items added each day. All in all, we would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owasso, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a 21 day trip to Maui. Our last week we stayed At the Westin Villas. We've been here before and really enjoy it. But frankly, we enjoy staying at the Marriott Ocean Beach Club resort better. The rooms are actually a bit nicer at the Westin, but the location, the pools and the beach and number of cabanas are better at the Marriott, in our opinion. And the U-shape configurations of the different buildings around the pools means that it gets significantly less air circulation and hotter than the hotels/resorts further south on Ka'anapali Beach.
That being said, you can't go wrong with the Westin Resort Villas. It is a stellar property and they offer regular shuttle service to downtown Lahaina for their guests. It is hard to say anything negative about this property, actually.

Room Tip: Good look getting an ocean view room if you are not a time-share owner. And you'll need to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We combined a business trip with a family vacation at the Ocean Villas. We couldn't have been more happy with the accommodations, the resort, the staff, the location, everything. We had an island view studio that was large enough for our family of 5. If we had spent more time in the room, I think it would have started to feel cramped, but we were on the go most of the time.

We thought the location couldn't have been better and enjoyed using the pools and the beach (perfect for snorkeling with kids).

My daughter's birthday fell on one of our days there. Kerry Ignacio, a wonderful and thoughtful staff member, made sure my daughter had the warmest birthday greeting possible. It was so nice of her to think of my daughter on her special day. (Mind you, I told Kerry about my daughter's birthday upon check-in and she made sure that there was a special surprise 5 days later).

We had one of the best vacations we've had in awhile, especially considering we had some business to attend to also.

Thank you to Angela Nolan and the staff at the Ocean Villas!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF , CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We truly enjoyed staying in our North studio villa; it's location and service are great. However, we wouldn't recommend its restaurants. Especially bad were breakfasts at Ocean Pool Bar and Grill.

The staff was friendly, helpful and professional but the food very mediocre for the high price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sean_tamon, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Aloha gdynia10,

Mahalo for taking the time to provide the resort and restaurants with your feedback. We truly appreciate the reviews we receive as it gives us the opportunity to continually improve our resort and operations. We deeply regret the experience you had at Ocean Pool Bar and Grill regarding the quality of food and we will be addressing your concerns with our culinary team. While there are many items for breakfast on the menu, it would help us further if you could provide us with what food specifically failed to meet your expectations so that we can improve the menu. While there were setbacks during your vacation, we are glad however, that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Mahalo for your time and we look forward to hearing from you soon. Please feel free to contact us via direct message on TripAdvisor or email me at sean.tamon@westin.com.

Mahalo,

The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our family stayed here for a week in February. From the begining, we had issues with other guests throwing food on our balcony, thousands of bugs invading our room, and the most unresponsive staff I have ever encountered. We even took the time out of our vacation to contact the resort manager, who never returned our call. The front desk manager made one attempt to contact us, but she never took the time to address any of our concerns. We were traveling with our disabled child and had asked for a quiet room that she would be able to take a break in from time to time during the day and their response to that request was to place us right above one of the restaurants. When I expressed concern about the noise level, they refused to do anything about it. Bottom line, our interest in purchasing a time share from this company was immediately quashed as soon as we realized how poor their customer service is. The only saving grace was the concierge. They booked over $1000 worth of excursions for our family and every one of them was amazing. Usually when we stay in Maui, we stay at the Grand Wailea. When we return to Maui, it certainly will certainly be there, not at this property.

Room Tip: If you aren't an "owner" then expect to be placed anywhere without the view you came t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Aloha aoconnell57,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post your review. We extend our deepest apologies for the lack of response and issues that you experienced during your stay with us. I have forwarded your comments to our leadership team for immediate follow up. Please know that this is not representative of our standards and that we would be grateful to have the opportunity to personally discuss in further detail the aspects of your stay. I have sent you a private message requesting for your preferred contact information so that we may reach out to you. Again, we apologize and we look forward to hearing from you. Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Mahalo,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning vistas and an exotic, idyllic setting on exclusive oceanfront property on Maui's North Beach, with golf, tennis, swimming, nd more. Perfect for a Hawaiian destination wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.