We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding for families!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas to your Saves list
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding for families!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We were so impressed with our stay at the Westin Villas that we HAD to write a review! I try to do extensive research on each place we go (via trip advisor:) to try to make sure that we make the best choices for our family of 5 (kids ages 5-11) and this was a winner! Beautiful meticulous resort that was 99 percent full and still did not feel crowded! Ease of access to excellent quality beachfront, multiple pools, parking, gorgeous views. Never a far walk anywhere- a huge plus when hauling gear. Beachfront never crowded, had great reefs for snorkeling, great for kids boogie boarding, sand castle building, etc. optional scuba diving, paddle boarding available on site. Staff couldn't have been more attentive or professional. Kids club day camp option on site was a hit with our kids though would like to see more outdoor activities with each session. Pool with long slide occupied our kids as did tiki torch lighting ceremony in evening, watching constant whale breaches from beach, and routine koi fish feedings. We had a 2 bedroom villa (kids had their own deck, kitchen, jacuzzi bath, washer dryer - again amazing! ). On site restaurants were pricey so we started grilling for dinner and really enjoyed! We had a luxurious wonderful family time here and highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,394
    619
    233
    119
    69
See reviews for
1,030
918
30
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Az.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was our second trip to Maui and stay at the Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas. We loved the place even more than our first trip in 2012. the accommodations were just great, housekeeping most attentive, and front desk and concierge services top notch. We are already making plans to return in 2014.

Room Tip: First floor, one bedroom suite with lenai near pool is great. Noise was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our family enjoyed our week stay at this property in April, 2012. The snorkeling right off the resort's beach was fantastic (we swam with turtles). We stayed in a one bedroom (2 queen beds) condo with a small galley kitchen. The 2 burner stove (no oven) was just adequate, but we really enjoyed using the gas grills in the building's common area. There were nice tables/chairs so we could eat outside. The location of this property is a plus, within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, but not in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the southern part of Ka'anapali Beach. The resort's complimentary shuttle service is very convenient and we used it several times during our stay. Finally, the pools and landscaping added to the overall "living in paradise" effect, if just for a short week!

Room Tip: Be careful about "ocean view" categories. Our room overlooked the adjacent public park par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeton, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This resort and its employees are amazing. I had the most wonderful experience of hospitality ever in all my travels. The room was clean and well laid out. The conceirge service helped us plan our trip around the islands and we seen some historic and breath taking sights. You want a good Mai Tai ask Mosita at the pool side bar to make you one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

If ocean view is an important part of your needs, add room 4207 to the list of rooms to avoid. (See attached pictures). They do claim this as an ocean view room.
However, if the view is not critical, the room and the hotel itself are great. Large, well appointed, convenient, safe and extremely clean rooms make for a wonderful setting to enjoy the whale viewing and water activities of the Ka'anapali Coast. Adjoining restaurants and services are all top-notch and make for a great vacation setting.

Room Tip: Get a room over the second floor or have them trim the twenty five foot hibiscus trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

it could use a little refurbishment but overall still good. The facilities are keep in good order, including foliage. the pool side cafe was very good while the Italian one was not very good and the food was bad. But shuttles from there to the other resorts and Whalers Village and the separate shuttle to town and other malls are great. We have a time share at this property and are very glad to have it.

Room Tip: try to get ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed one week in a studio condo. The finishes, jacuzzi tub, stainless frig and granite countertops were expected from a property in this price range. The studio was the smallest I've ever encountered with absolutely no room to cook. The frig was full size but two electric burners on a teeny stove was impossible to cook a full meal and the ridiculous sink made washing dishes a real balancing act.
The bathroom was a good size with a separate area for the toilet so you could have privacy. No complaints in the bath.
Technically, the studio was a regular room with a small kitchen slammed in right when you walk in the door. The view was of the north buildings and a kids pool. Way too much squealing and noise during the day but quiet at night.
The grounds were immaculate and very inviting. Beach access was perfect. Parking was okay but filled up at night with no assigned parking.
I would not return to this property. I feel it was okay, not great. Next time I'll research for a complex that wasn't as busy. I've stayed all over Hawaii and although the grounds were lovely the noise level was distracting. I never found a quiet place to read because of the number of children and parents who had no regard for folks who weren't there to entertain kids.

Room Tip: Stay up as high as possible away from pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning vistas and an exotic, idyllic setting on exclusive oceanfront property on Maui's North Beach, with golf, tennis, swimming, nd more. Perfect for a Hawaiian destination wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.