We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas to your Saves list
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
Park City, Utah
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Feels like Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is our "home" resort in the Westin chain. We have gone every year since 2007. We are divers and like to dive and snorkle in the area. We think the diving on Maui is the best of the islands and right in front of the Westin Kaanapali the snorkling is great. We say turtles, eels, and tons of fish. The property is first rate and the pools and hot tubs are great after a day of diving. The food in the restruant is great and the buffet breakfast is good but a little pricy.

Room Tip: Ocean front in Bldg 8 0r 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,415
    632
    237
    119
    72
See reviews for
1,042
941
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed in the Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort from January 11th to January 25th. We had a wonderful room with a partial view of the ocean ,,,,, It was definitely a pretty view and very quiet.

We enjoyed our stay with a studio room and kitchenette....However, the only disappointing aspect of it all was that housekeeping was not up to par for a hotel such as this. Even though we opted for every third day housekeeping, when they did come, they forgot towels on one visit...They forgot soap on another visit and not sure if it was their job, but the kitchen floor was always dirty even though I did clean up after a clumsy hubby who seems to spill coffee at every turn. There were coffee stains that I had neglected by mistake. I think even one visit they did not even replace towels or face clothes. Maybe I had the policy wrong, but never encountered this problem in other hotels.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and hope that some day we will return.

Room Tip: Ocean view on the top floor (6) are quiet and have a great balcony. Even though we had a studio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Beautiful property. Landscaping, pools, and facilities were all top shelf. Very nice rooms (apartments) were well equipped and comfortable. Great room amenities. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. My only complaint is I thought food and drink was a little pricey.

Room Tip: North building is preferable to the south building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have written a long letter to Starwood properties regarding our terrible experience at this Westin. After booking this reservation in October, I had called this hotel specifically myself on 3 different occasions prior to our arrival last week (Feb. 4, 2013). I called to verify our ADA room for my handicapped husband: an ocean view, one bedroom, deluxe with a roll-in shower. Three empoyees at the front desk (I have all their names and the dates I spoke with each one) assured me that the reservation was perfectly fine. However, upon our arrival, we found we had no reservation for this particular room. Long story. We were placed in a studio with ocean view and a roll-in shower (no shower chair; I had to request this) for the night, to be moved tomorrow. The following day, after much grief, anger, and frustration, we were placed at 5:00 p.m. in a pool view room, one bedroom with a roll-in shower because ADA requires proper accommodation for the handicapped, but certainly not deluxe and not with an ocean view. The excuse was that they have limited ADA rooms and they were "fully booked". They broke our contract; they did not honor our reservation. This vacation was ruined for us. I spoke with a number of different managers and personnel at this resort during our stay. They offered us token resort credit and Starwood points (we are members), but they could not give us back the week that we lost to poor management and corporate greed. When a couple checked into the room next to ours, shortly before we left, they complained loudly that they had booked an ocean view room but not this pool view room. They were moved immediately, apparently to a better room. Why were we treated differently from them? We are not young; nor are we in good health. Time is irreplaceable to us at this stage in our lives. We were not treated well. If you need an ADA room with specific facilities for your disability, I strongly suggest you obtain written confirmation from this hotel for your reservation. If it is not provided, I suggest you stay where your handicap will be properly accommodated and you actually receive the room you booked. This experience represents only a bitter memory for us now.

Room Tip: Avoid the pool area if you want a quiet room or an ocean view. We had a great view of children usin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your review. As it is our commitment to provide you a renewing and relaxing stay, we recognize that we clearly missed the mark in your case. Please accept our sincerest apologies for your inconveniences. While we know that we can not give you back your experience, we are truly appreciative that you allowed us the opportunity to work with you and make the best of your stay. Rest assured that this is not representative of our standards and we would be grateful for the opportunity to provide you with a positively memorable stay filled with memories to last lifetime. Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we wish you and your husband a Happy New Year.
Sincerely,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Definitely recommend this resort villas to anyone planning on vacationing in Maui. Exceptional room, great service, and the ocean view was great. The resort is well maintained with a small lily pond with fish, tiki torches, cabanas, and a nice pool. Sidewalks to walk you straight to the beach. The beach bar have happy hour to enjoy a drink on the beach. Free good breakfast if you opt out of room service the following day. One small complaint inside the room were the privacy in the bathroom area. No locks on the sliding doors. Everything else in the room and resort made up for it though. Mahalo Westin!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sean_tamon, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Aloha DRock32,

Mahalo for your kind words and the time you took to provide your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad that you were able to enjoy many facilities and amenities we have to offer our guests and we hope that we will have the privilege of welcoming you back to our resort soon.

Mahalo,

The Westin Ka’anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just stayed here for 3 nights January 30th, 2013. If you are looking for a condo-style resort, I highly recommend The Westin Villas.

Stayed in the South Building with a garden view - 3rd floor.

Positives - huge room, nicely appointed and clean. Large bathroom and bedroom (found the bed comfortable and clean), large dining/living area, nice kitchen with appliances and good size fridge. Even had washer and dryer in room. Overall very happy, exceeded our expecations. Property was nice, pool was open, short walk from room to beach. Nice patio off the room as well.

Negatives - only negative was a little road noise. Our room faced the parking lot / mountain side. Not to far from the highway and heard noise occasionally. Didn't disrupt our sleep.

We also used the spa - services were good and reasonable priced for a Hawaii resort.
Tip: Get a $15 discount off spa services in the general store.

Resturants - we only ate their for breakfast. Good - buffet.

Tip: Ask about reusing your towels instead of the maid service taking them away - they offered us a free breakfast (buffet) if we took advantage of this - effort to be green...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My room was overlooking the pool and jacuzzi. The parties in the jacuzzi were loud and late at night keeping us awake . The "non smoking" facility allows smoking on the Lanai. There was a smoker in the room next to us. I had to keep my Lanai doors closed and even then the smoke permeated our room. Not how I want to spend my holiday in Hawaii!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sean_tamon, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Aloha Cheryl B,

Mahalo for your time and feedback. We appreciate the feedback from all of our guests and we apologize for your recent experience with us. As we are a non-smoking property in the public areas, due to our vacation ownership status, the owners of the units do have the rights to smoke on their villa lanai. We apologize that this has hindered your vacation experience with us. We will also follow up with our Security team to ensure that they address noise complaints more effectively in the future as a good night’s sleep is our priority here at the Westin. We appreciate your time and hope that we will have the privilege of welcoming you back to our resort soon.

Mahalo,

The Westin Ka’anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning vistas and an exotic, idyllic setting on exclusive oceanfront property on Maui's North Beach, with golf, tennis, swimming, nd more. Perfect for a Hawaiian destination wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.