We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas to your Saves list
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
NYC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

What a stay!!, cannot complain about anything. We had a great time in this magnificent property, beautiful pools, grounds, beach,... The room was very spacious, beautiful, and welcoming. Service was great, staff was always very friendly with my daughter.
Hope we get the chance to come back soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,452
    646
    241
    120
    74
See reviews for
1,057
974
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at the Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas for eight nights. From check in to check out the folks who work there really made our stay special. Every employee greeted you with an Aloha and a big smile. Our ocean view room was clean and well appointed as you would expect for a property at this price point. The pool areas were beautiful and spacious with plenty of lounge chairs, towel service, and pool side dinning. Our concierge Janet was fantastic. She called us before we even left from home to ask how she could assist us with reservations and activities. When we arrived she met with us and arranged for all of our excursions and dinner reservations enabling us to get a great table at sunset each evening. We have already made plans to revisit Westin next year.

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean View room in the North Buildings where each room comes with a lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Heights
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I were at the Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resorts for 10 days in September. We loved it. My husband ran the Maui Marathon. Everything was absolutely breath taking. The room itself I do believe the furniture and carpeting could have been a bit cleaner however the rest of our stay was impecable. If there were any issues during our stay the staff took immediate attention and corrected the problem. The food was excellent my husband and I enjoyed the restuarants, shopping the shows busing back an forth to Lahana. This was our second trip and we love Maui it truly is the most beautiful place on earth. We will be back again for sure. It took some time for me to learn this was not a hotel and instead these are time sharing places and once I got acclamated to what my responsibilities were we worked out fabulous and I would definately recommend the Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resorts to everyone family or couples. Enjoyed our stay and we will definately be back.

Love Bill and Lynn Amey

Room Tip: We had not problem with out room we enjoyed the air conditioning it was quiet never disturbed us at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We just spent last week here, and overall it was a pleasant experience. The room was fairly spacious (we had a one-bedroom unit, the studio rooms are pretty tiny) that had a giant bathroom with 2 sinks, and the bed was comfy (the mattress on the sofa bed was memory foam so was pretty relaxing). Spacious kitchen in the room, a balcony big enough for 3 to have breakfast, and decent guest parking.

The best part of this hotel--the beach! It's a few yards from the pools/lawn, and lined with trees so you can sit in the shade. It stretches pretty far right and left for a nice beach stroll, and the water is calm and offers some decent snorkeling. It's whale calving season at the moment so there were plenty of whale sightings, and seeing the sun set over Lanai was lovely.

The worst part of this hotel--it's noisy! If you have an ocean-front room you'll probably avoid some of the noise, but the majority of the rooms are centered around the pool areas which are crowded with kids and families with babies lounging poolside. The horse-shoe shape of the buildings around the pools seems to amplify noise, so don't plan on an afternoon nap with your windows open if there's a water polo match going on in one of the pools or noisy kids playing (which is pretty much all the time). There is also construction going on on one half of the building (I believe it's the south wing) so I have to imagine anyone staying on that side will be pretty miserable--lots of construction noise and closed pools.

Lastly, the food at the pool bars was pretty lackluster. We didn't try room service or the hotel restaurant, but went to both pool bars and had expensive, underwhelming food. Probably best to take advantage of the happy hour drinks and make yourself a sandwich in your hotel room!

Room Tip: Call ahead to see if one of the wings is still under construction, and avoid it, or ask for a discou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had a great vacation and would definitely return to this property. The main pool is being renovated and we were told that upfront when we booked our stay. It wasn't a big deal. We received superior customer service from EVERY single employee we encountered and we really liked having a kitchen.There are two workout rooms but we only used the one in building 2. The treadmills need to be updated and the room was pretty small but typically workout rooms in hotels are largely empty anyway. Lots of parking, lots of activities, plenty of room in the studio for 2 people...we really enjoyed this property and would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sean_tamon, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Aloha Melissa M,

We are delighted that you had a relaxing and enjoyable time at our resort. Our associates work diligently day in and day out to provide excellent customer service to our guests and it is through these positive comments that we continually strive to exceed the expectations of our guests. We appreciate the feedback regarding our Westin Workout facilities as well and will forward your concerns to our leadership team here at the resort. We wish you safe travels and we hope to have the opportunity again to welcome you to our resort.

Mahalo,

The Westin Ka’anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

August 20-28,2012 We booked a two-bedroom ground floor villa and enjoyed every minute of our stay. One week out, I requested a handicap room to be assured of a ground floor location and easy access. The only drawback is the shower is wheel chair accessible and it has a floor to ceiling shower curtain vs. a glass walk-in shower. Overall, you get more square footage. The adjoining rooms had connecting patios that faced the inside garden and the patios were very private with tropical flowers and large palms. The rooms were exceptionally large and beds comfortable.The housekeepers did an excellent job however I was challenged by the lack of timing (several times) as they did not follow my instructions. For example, when I asked for service before 2:00 pm so the children could nap they came after 2:00 pm and one time they showed up just as we were having a party at 6:00 pm. I work for one of the only Five Star/ Five Diamond hotels in Las Vegas and my expectations are very high. We had 11 family and friends staying at various other hotels who joined us for a barbecue and we had plenty of room. The valet parking worked well for us and was convenient. You pay a fee for self parking which is the same for valet. The local stores are very close and we were able to go shopping and fill the refrigerator. I enjoyed breakfast some mornings on the patio to control costs and went to "Dukes" a local restaurant another. Dukes is a short walk away from the Villas with a local ambiance and the views, service and food were excellent. The Westin hotel beach is magnificent and you can inexpensively rent snorkeling gear to enjoy the tropical fish 5 feet off shore. We were quite surprised to see clear aquamarine water with views of Molokai and Lanai right from the beach. A must see is the gigantic sea turtles off black rock and a trip into town. I also enjoyed a spa treatment at the Westin hotel which was nice. Overall, Maui was a beautiful place with great weather, beaches and we had a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a wonderful property, everything about this resort has been great. The customer service is excellent, we booked a studio island view room & upon are arrival we were upgraded to a 1 bedroom villa & we didn't even have to ask. Our room is considered an "island view" yet we have a beautiful view of the beach & ocean from our lanai. Thank you Weston, this bonus has definitely added to our vacation. The property is beautiful & has everything you could possibly want or need. I can't review the restaurants since we haven't eaten at them yet, however the drinks from both pool bars (north & south) have been amazing!! My family & I are very happy, satisfied customers & would highly recommend this property to anyone coming to vacation in Maui.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning vistas and an exotic, idyllic setting on exclusive oceanfront property on Maui's North Beach, with golf, tennis, swimming, nd more. Perfect for a Hawaiian destination wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.