We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific option!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Save Saved
You added The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 28 hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Terrific option!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had a great vacation and would definitely return to this property. The main pool is being renovated and we were told that upfront when we booked our stay. It wasn't a big deal. We received superior customer service from EVERY single employee we encountered and we really liked having a kitchen.There are two workout rooms but we only used the one in building 2. The treadmills need to be updated and the room was pretty small but typically workout rooms in hotels are largely empty anyway. Lots of parking, lots of activities, plenty of room in the studio for 2 people...we really enjoyed this property and would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sean_tamon, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Aloha Melissa M,

We are delighted that you had a relaxing and enjoyable time at our resort. Our associates work diligently day in and day out to provide excellent customer service to our guests and it is through these positive comments that we continually strive to exceed the expectations of our guests. We appreciate the feedback regarding our Westin Workout facilities as well and will forward your concerns to our leadership team here at the resort. We wish you safe travels and we hope to have the opportunity again to welcome you to our resort.

Mahalo,

The Westin Ka’anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,274
    565
    212
    112
    63
See reviews for
936
848
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

August 20-28,2012 We booked a two-bedroom ground floor villa and enjoyed every minute of our stay. One week out, I requested a handicap room to be assured of a ground floor location and easy access. The only drawback is the shower is wheel chair accessible and it has a floor to ceiling shower curtain vs. a glass walk-in shower. Overall, you get more square footage. The adjoining rooms had connecting patios that faced the inside garden and the patios were very private with tropical flowers and large palms. The rooms were exceptionally large and beds comfortable.The housekeepers did an excellent job however I was challenged by the lack of timing (several times) as they did not follow my instructions. For example, when I asked for service before 2:00 pm so the children could nap they came after 2:00 pm and one time they showed up just as we were having a party at 6:00 pm. I work for one of the only Five Star/ Five Diamond hotels in Las Vegas and my expectations are very high. We had 11 family and friends staying at various other hotels who joined us for a barbecue and we had plenty of room. The valet parking worked well for us and was convenient. You pay a fee for self parking which is the same for valet. The local stores are very close and we were able to go shopping and fill the refrigerator. I enjoyed breakfast some mornings on the patio to control costs and went to "Dukes" a local restaurant another. Dukes is a short walk away from the Villas with a local ambiance and the views, service and food were excellent. The Westin hotel beach is magnificent and you can inexpensively rent snorkeling gear to enjoy the tropical fish 5 feet off shore. We were quite surprised to see clear aquamarine water with views of Molokai and Lanai right from the beach. A must see is the gigantic sea turtles off black rock and a trip into town. I also enjoyed a spa treatment at the Westin hotel which was nice. Overall, Maui was a beautiful place with great weather, beaches and we had a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a wonderful property, everything about this resort has been great. The customer service is excellent, we booked a studio island view room & upon are arrival we were upgraded to a 1 bedroom villa & we didn't even have to ask. Our room is considered an "island view" yet we have a beautiful view of the beach & ocean from our lanai. Thank you Weston, this bonus has definitely added to our vacation. The property is beautiful & has everything you could possibly want or need. I can't review the restaurants since we haven't eaten at them yet, however the drinks from both pool bars (north & south) have been amazing!! My family & I are very happy, satisfied customers & would highly recommend this property to anyone coming to vacation in Maui.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I did enjoy the kitchen in our room, the whale watching , the cleanliness, but it went down from that point. The entire pool area of the south. bldg was closed due to a refinishing project...noise noise noise!!! All the guests then went to the over crowded north pool...fun finding a chair! Also the workout room needed to be 3 -4times the size for all the guests that wanted to use it...cramped!
Bur hard to complain much as the weather was perfect and the whale watching a thrill while walking on the beach boardwalk...
Great sunsets too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We booked a one bedroom ocean view unit for 16 nights. When we arrived, we were given a unit on the north side of the north villas, close to the highway. We asked for a room closer to the ocean, but were told that it would take a couple of hours to get ready. I said, no problem, we would go and eat supper at the restaurant. However, they encouraged us to take this unit. Once we got there, we discovered that it was very noisy because of traffic on the highway, and seemed quite small. It turned out that we had been given a studio, rather than the one bedroom we had booked and paid for. The woman at the front desk said that there was nothing she could do and told me to talk to a manager the next day. No one apologized for putting us in the wrong room. After we talked to the manager, it took a while to get the room ready, and even longer for our luggage to show up. We did get a bit of a credit, but we wasted a lot of time repacking our things, moving rooms and unpacking again.

After we moved out of the studio, we decided to walk around the resort. We discovered that the big pool at the south end of the resort is being completely renovated. I had booked our accommodations at the end of December. Neither the Westin's booking agent, nor the staff at the front desk, mentioned this very significant disruption.

Because of the renos, a lot of people end up coming to the much smaller pool at the north villas, with the result that this area gets very crowded. Many people throw their towels on the lounge chairs and then disappear for a long time, despite the signs telling them not to do this. We prefer to sit on the beach, but when the weather is windy and cooler, we move to the lawn area.

We discovered that the hot tub is open 24 hours per day. Once the bar closes, the hot tub gets busy with very noisy people. The parties usually are the noisiest between 10 pm and midnight, although there was one night where it didn't shut down until 3 am! Calls to the front desk didn't always help.

Now for the positive:

The beach is great!

Chef Wes at Puleho restaurant is awesome! My husband has a lot of food allergies. Wes talked to us before the meal to figure out what he could eat and then again afterwards to make sure that everything was OK. The restaurant was a bit on the pricey side, but we enjoyed the food and the service.

We really like their green program. For every day that we give up housekeeping services, we get a coupon for one breakfast buffet. We have enjoyed our meals there.

We ignored the requests to attend the timeshare presentations. No one has bothered us since.

Overall, the staff here are friendly.

The room is comfortable and well equipped, although there is no conventional oven in the kitchen.

The property is lovely.

We have stayed at two other resorts on Kaanapali Beach. For the price we paid, we expected more out of The Westin Ocean Resort Villas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your comments. We greatly apologize for the occurences that have resulted in your ‘mixed feelings’ review. Please know that this is not representative of our standards, and we have informed our teams of your encounters for immediate follow-up. We would be delighted to personally contact you and discuss your recent stay with us in further detail. I have sent you a private message requesting for your contact information so that we may reach out to you. We look forward to speaking with you and to welcoming you back for positively renewing Westin experience.
Sincerely,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson Az
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is the third year in a row for us to stay in this property. we have just loved our stay. i called the front desk to specifically thank the room clerk for the location of our room. it is quiet, we have views and everything is just perfect. the only imperfection was an order placed at the pool bar. as luck would have it Antonio, our waiter saw the problem and before we could say anything he fixed the problem. we didn't even have to ask. how good is that. there is plenty of parking, the rooms are very well appointed and housekeeping couldn't be better for this picky traveler. we can not imagine ever having any thing negative happen. the staff seems to sense the our needs before we do and we are like, wow. thank you for a dream vacation

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Maui is my family's favorite destination and we are lucky enough to come here often. We've stayed at all the major Kaanapali hotels, plus the Marriott at Wailea and the Ritz-Carlton at Kapalua, so we've got a good perspective to make comparisons.
This is our favorite place to stay on Maui. The facility is great, with a well maintained modern decor that is a cut above other time share properties we have stayed in. For a family, it is a huge convenience to have a full kitchen and not have to rely on the extremely expensive restaurants on Maui. One minor complaint is the absence of an oven. They even sell things in the store at the resort that can only be cooked in a conventional oven...and there's no oven?
The pools are great, the beach is very good for swimming, sunning or snorkeling. The restaurants are overpriced as you would expect with a Maui resort.
One thing that has separated the Westin from anywhere else we have stayed is the extensive list of free or close to free activities available, primarily for kids. Melissa has been more than fantastic in leading everything from lei-maiking to koi-feeding to hula lessons. She's practically become our "Auntie Melissa" during our stay.
OK, so if we like the place so much, why only four stars? Well, we are here celebrating our five-year old's birthday. For months, she has been looking at pictures of the resort and has been totally excited about the big water slide. When we made our reservation, we were told that the "south kids pool" would be closed for a seven day period during january or February, and that might be during our stay. OK, no problem. Well, when we arrived, the entire main pool complex was torn up and out of operation, and will be that way for another couple of weeks. I inquired about the discrepancy with a gentleman at the front desk, but he very firmly told me that all incoming guests had been fully informed of the pool closure, and besides, there was no such thing as the south kids' pool, so I must be wrong about what I was told. I couldn't resist using his own resort map to point out the "South Keiki Pool". Anyway, our daughter was very disappointed that the pool and slide was out of operation. If we would have known, we would have come after the repairs were complete.
Anyway, we are still here for three more nights, and I'm sure our good times will continue.

Room Tip: Try to get away from the highway....you can hear the trucks 24/7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sean_tamon, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Aloha hongisto,

Mahalo for your feedback and we apologize that the pool refresh project has inconvenienced your stay. We will follow up with our front office staff as well to ensure that they are fully familiar with the scope of the project and how to appropriately communicate the project to our guests and owners. Please feel free to reach out to us for any further concerns you may have. We want to ensure that you and your family have an enjoyable time at the resort.

Mahalo,

The Westin Ka’anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
Westin Kaanapali
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina
Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning vistas and an exotic, idyllic setting on exclusive oceanfront property on Maui's North Beach, with golf, tennis, swimming, nd more. Perfect for a Hawaiian destination wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Starwood, BookIt.com, Tingo, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.