We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach, nice rooms no need for a car.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Save Saved
You added The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great beach, nice rooms no need for a car.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in these villas for a week this December. The good: the rooms were nice, bed pretty comfortable, nice facilities, full-sized fridge even in the studio, charging privileges, nice pools, great beach, easy walk to store, whalers village and farmer's market, nice staff, convenient shuttle to Other westin properties and Lahaina all day, also good food and a store on site. They gave us a breakfast buffet voucher for each day we opted out of housekeeping as well, which was nice. The bad is really only minor but the elevators and stairwells are placed poorly, it almost feels like you're in a maze with all of the turns. Hallways are pretty stark and barren, the deepest part of the pool is 4feet in all of the pools, check out is an early 10am. Had a really wonderful, relaxing stay there and look forward to returning!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,384
    613
    232
    119
    69
See reviews for
1025
911
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We purchased a 5 day vacation package from Westin. Our room was on the south side of the north building complex, facing a quad containing the “kiddies” pool.

The resort was a mixed bag, leading me to an apparently contradictory assessment: On the one hand, the room was nice, close to the beach, had good amenities, and the “vacation package” deal was very inexpensive. On the other hand, the place had so many flaws that we concluded we’d never stay at that resort again at any price.

Once you start encountering problems, it gets hard to stop looking for more. Taken by themselves, some of the problems might seem minor, but there are SO MANY things wrong with this place.

At the top of the list is the poor views. The building layout seems designed to minimize the number of rooms with decent views of ocean or mountains. The south side of north building faces a kiddies pool “quad” with buildings angled towards each other in such a way as to allow only VERY limited views of mountains or the ocean through small gaps. Our room should have been labeled “garden view”, or more accurately “kiddies pool view”.

Looking at the Westin resort map, I suspect that the views are very poor from over half of the rooms. Aside from ocean front rooms, many rooms have views that could be in Orlando or Anaheim if you did not know better.

At one end of the “kiddies pool” quad there are loading docks, and there is an endless early morning parade of delivery and trash trucks using loud backup warning beepers.

More bad layout:
 The hidden fire escape stairs seem dangerous. The fire escape stairs are often hidden in alcoves. They are shown on emergency maps in rooms, but in an emergency, someone might get confused and die. (Did the local fire marshal approve the plans?)
 The number and placement of elevators: Almost every trip involved a hike to an elevator, riding the elevator, then BACKTRACKING a fair distance to get to actual destination.
 There is poor shade on many/most of the lanai's. Maybe the architect could have taken sun angles into consideration?
 The restaurant/bar closest to the ocean is a sports bar. Its ambience was poor. A bar with stools facing the water would be nice. Being able to hear the waves would be nice. Occasionally reducing TV volume a notch below "stun" would be nice.
 All the pools are too shallow. None of the pools in the north complex are deeper than 3 feet.
 There is no hot water in the bathrooms near theBBQ pits. Some cooks might like to wash their hands in hot water after handling raw food?

The beach at the resort is not good for swimming if you don’t have face mask and snorkel with which to see the all the rocky coral near the water’s edge. I suspect that some people occasionally get banged into the coral by the waves. I got a few scrapes myself.

You can take the shuttle to the Sheraton resort instead – it has an excellent beach. (But wait: I should NOT have needed to take a shuttle to another beach. I had called the Westin before I booked and I specifically asked about coral at their beach. The Westin rep said it was an excellent beach for swimming. However, when I got there the resort map said to head south if you wanted a good beach for swimming. Very annoying...)

Truly offensive: This is a non-smoking facility, but WESTIN PROVIDED AN ASHTRAY in the room. The ashtray contained a card with the cute little message, "breathe westin (sic) Westin Hotels & Resorts is proud to offer a refreshing, smoke free environment to our guests. A $200 cleaning fee will be added to your bill if we find evidence of smoking in your guestroom." WHAT? Is Westin DARING their customers to smoke? Why not throw a packet of matches into the ashtray while they are at it?

The resort has a towel distribution system that requires guests to exchange cards for towels. The problem is that while people usually remember their room number, they may forget their towel exchange cards and need to hike back to the room to get them. Annoying.

The list goes on and on and on and on…

Room Tip: Avoid south facing rooms on south side of north building. Actually, if a good view and a good lanai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sean_tamon, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Aloha,

Mahalo for taking the time to provide valuable feedback for our team here at the resort. We do take all feedback and comments seriously and will review your comments regarding your stay with us closely. Regarding the views of the rooms, they are deeded into a specific category as they are sold as real estate as we are a Vacation Ownership property. We do apologize for the noise you experienced during your stay with us from the deliveries that occur throughout the day and will work with our departments to see what we can do to mitigate this issue in the future. We will also work with our Food and Beverage department to ensure that the volume of the music and televisions are at an appropriate level for a relaxed dining experience. The ashtrays are placed in the rooms for the convenience of our owners and guests at the resort; because we are a Vacation Ownership property, we do allow smoking on the outdoor lanais of the villas. We would be pleased for the opportunity to personally discuss with you your experiences in further detail. I have sent you a private message requesting for your contact information so that we can reach out to you. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to hearing from you soon. We hope you and your family have a safe and pleasant holiday season.

The Westin Ka’anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Just spent 3 weeks at the Westin Kaanapali, and found the staff to be the best we've experienced at any timeshare. They were friendly, professional, fast, and effective. I find that every resort may have one or two staffers who can really get things done, but I was suprised that amost all the staff I encountered at the Westin was like that. And truly friendly! Felt like I had personal friends on staff working my issues. We're retired and spend about 10 weeks a year at timeshares through exchanges, rental or reservation at a home resort. Can't beat a high end resort in Hawaiian paradise with great staff!

Room Tip: I prefer building 3. It's close to the pool, whirlpool, restaurant, and activities shack for po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Been there a week ago with family. About 40 min from Kahului airport, but easy drive. Resort looks great, especially south villas. Room are comfortable, even our, which supposed to be the smallest - studio villa. Well equipped, all that family needs for living, including washing and drying machine. Pools are nice, although I missed some deeper water. Beach next to the hotel is nice, but you can find even better if you go a bit souther - just follow the beach pathway.
Staff is friendly, willing to help.
I was not invited to any timesharing presentation, so you can take that as plus or minus.
Would deffinitely recommend this property to anyone, especially if you have children - pirat boats, slides, pools,...
Nice job, Starwood,...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were first given a studio on the 1st level. It was very dark as the plants outside blocked most of the balcony doors. In addition the studios here have very cramped kitchens with no counter space. Big contrast to the much better studio layouts at the next resort over, Honua Kai.
I spoke to guest services and they put me through to the manager. The manager listened to my comments and said he would get back to me to see what he could do as the place was highly occupied. I actually had to call him back as there was no call back from him for over 4 hrs but the manager did give me a choice of 2 larger one bedroom units to move to on higher floors with an large kitchen. Much appreciated. In addition they quickly brought us a requested rice cooker.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This property is planned very well and easy to navigate. The staff was very helpful and always available. The pools and ponds are very clean and well maintained.
Beach is very close and clean with plenty of space to find a spot.
The work-out room has nice equipment, but is in a boxed room with no windows. Such a shame because a few windows looking out to the ocean would have been beautiful and enhanced the work-out.
Thanks to Jenni Lyn (front desk check-in) as she was very helpful and LISTENS to the customer.

We had a one bedroom which was excellent since it had a washer/dryer, refrig, stove, microwave and cabinets with full utensils. This enables you to bring groceries to the room and cut down on the food bills. They also have grills outside for personal cooking....NICE!
Self parking is also very easy and no need for valet, however; we did valet 2 days and it was also good.

We compared this place to the Westin Hotel down the street and this one (villas) is clearly the winner. We were in building #2.

Lately, we've been dissapointed by several other SPG properties, but we'll definately return to this one as it is managed.

Thanks again Jenni, for remembering that it was our anniversary #22.

Room Tip: Building #2 center was good and we were still able to see a partial shot of the water. Try to get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The rooms are nice but the service leaves little to be desired. The pool is crowded and you have to get there early. You sit crammed and close -- packed in tight and it is far from relaxing.

We arrived at 11:00am and called at 9am to request early check in. We also called throughout the day and were not able to get a room until 4pm. We called the front desk repeatedly and either the phone just rang or they picked up to remind us that guaranteed check in was at 4pm. We figured since check out was at 10am, they should be able to clean a room within 6 hours or less.

They told us they would hold our luggage and food for the stay but when we got our stuff, some items of our food were missing and they told us that we never gave them that food.

We booked an expensive Luau and after reading reviews that it was not authentic and more of a "show" we were told that we could not change it due to a cancellation policy that we were never told of (and we had only booked it an hour earlier. Overall very disappointing for the price and based on other reviews.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for providing your comments. Please accept our apologies that your stay was a disappointing one. We would be delighted to have the opportunity to personally discuss with you the details of your experience. I have sent you a private message requesting for your preferred contact information so that we may reach out to you. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to hearing from you soon.
Mahalo,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning vistas and an exotic, idyllic setting on exclusive oceanfront property on Maui's North Beach, with golf, tennis, swimming, nd more. Perfect for a Hawaiian destination wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;