We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great condo experience with most of the amenities and services of a hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Save Saved
You added The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great condo experience with most of the amenities and services of a hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Our family usually stays at high end luxury resorts (Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton, etc.). We chose to stay at this property because we got a good deal and thought we would give the "condo" approach a try as we have two kids that are getting older and a single room in a hotel can be a challenge. We were impressed with the quality of the rooms, the pool has a "hotel like" water slide for the kids and it is on a very nice beach in close proximity to shops and restaraunts (long walk or short drive). We also liked happy hour by the pool ($4 Mai Tais!) and enjoyed the option of having some meals in the room. We did not like that maid service was offered only every three days. Many employees went out of their way to be friendly and extra helpful, including Sheena at the front desk when we checked in. I usually just take care of the logistics at check in and try to move through the process as efficiently as possible. I found myself having a nice conversation with Sheena as she asked about my family and the kids, all without slowing down the check in process. Overall we enjoyed it and will likely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Aloha and thank you for taking the time share your experience. We are honored that you have chosen us for your family vacation and are happy to hear that Sheena personally interacted with you. Thank you again for your valuable feedback. We can’t wait to see you and your ohana (family) again.
Mahalo,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,355 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,353
    596
    226
    114
    66
See reviews for
998
888
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Harbor, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the North Villas August 14th - 21st to celebrate my 50th birthday. We had a 1 bedroom villa in building 6 with a pool and ocean view. The room was great with a fully equipped kitchen. Since my husband is a fantastic cook we ate a lot of our meals at our villa on the Lani. There are large grills located on the property where we met many nice people that gave us ideas on where to go and what to see since they had been on Maui before. We purchased most of our groceries from Safeway (be sure to get a Safeway savings card, it's free) and found the prices for the things we purchased to be not anymore than other vacation destinations we have visited. We also purchased items at Farmland Foods and Times Market. Since we rented the property we had daily maid service and always found our room to be very neat and clean. It's also nice having a washer and dryer available.

We enjoyed the pool area and especially the beach which has one of the best reef's we've snorkeled on before. The only negative was I was treated very rudely by a towel boy who said I was damaging the reef with my sunscreen and I needed to purchase their brand of natural sunscreen. I had not worn the sunscreen in the ocean but had put it on to use at the pool.

Checkout is at 10am and we didn't need to be at the airport until 8pm so we were given key cards to use at a lounge room which allowed us to use the pools and beach until we needed to leave. The lounge has access to showers and towels, so we were able to enjoy another full day at the resort.

My husband and I would recommend this resort!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Happy Birthday! Thank you so much for choosing us for your special occasion. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful time. I would like to extend our apologies for the incident you had with our pool services agent. They are very passionate about protecting the environment, but by no means do we expect them to treat anyone rudely. We will follow up with our team so that this will not happen again. Otherwise, we greatly appreciate your 5 rate review and look forward to welcoming you back again for many more birthday celebrations.
Mahalo,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We traded our timeshare at Atlantis Harborside for Maui. (Atlantis can't be compared to anything.) Maui is beautiful. The resort is the prettiest of the Starwood places I've been. the pools and landscaping are super.
But, you get a studio for the price of a small one bedroom elsewhere, and ocean view included parking lot view. There also seemed to be a lot of nickle and diming. Every activity carried a fee.Still, if you have the opportunity Hawaii is Hawaii.
It is a Westin, so you get a great bed, and there are two free shuttle buses that take you where you need to go locally. A car is not necessary if you aren't going to do much off property, but may be cheaper than taxis if you have a family with you.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We (couple with three boys ages 8, 8 and 11) just wrapped up 7 days at this resort and the experience was as close to flawless as one can get - Paradise comes to mind. I read a lot of the reviews before booking and arriving and the negative ones I simply do not understand. The service was prompt, the workers were friendly and helpful and any requests we made were handled quickly. We stayed in a one-bedroom villa which was one of the largest resort rooms we ever stayed in. Beautiful layout, modern kitchen, jacuzzi bath, separate shower, king size bed, couch with pull out bed, full refridgerator, balcony with two chairs and table, everything was clean, modern and comfortable. There are at least 12 gas grills set up overlooking a grassy lawn that leads to the beach - the grills all worked well, were kept clean. And, by the grills, there are a number of tables with umbrellas and chairs for you to sit down and relax and eat. The beach is nice and the snorkeling off the beach was among the best snorkeling spots we visited on Maui and that includes Turtle Town and Molikini. The reef is sometimes a mere 10 feet or less from shore, lots of colorful fish and turtles to see. The only two downsides were the slide, which was a bit slow for my adventurous boys, and the snuba guy (free demonstration is cool - your kids actually do snuba in the pool) is a bit aggressive in trying to sign you up for his beach snuba tours. But, he is trying to make a living so understandable. I would just say to anyone that based on our experiences we have ZERO hesitation in recommending this resort - it is 5 stars all the way for us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011 via mobile

I checked in yesterday with another family. We were checking 2 rooms that we wanted close together. In the computer they were reserved in buildings on opsite sides of this vast property. Hannah was the lucky one to help us with our demands. She was so patient and accomadating. She did finally get us in the same building just down the hall from eachother. Yeah for Hannah. And the rest of the trip is a fairytail and sunset ending and happy children...

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge Hannah. We can’t be luckier that Hannah is a part of our team. She truly shows time and time again how she genuinely cares about our guests and their experiences. I will be sure that she is recognized. Mahalo again for your comments.
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I loved staying at the Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort and I will definitely be coming back. My one bedroom villa was the perfect place to come back to after exploring Maui, but I could have easily spent my entire stay at the resort.
The beds are exactly as they call them: heavenly. I tend to be a restless sleeper, but I didn't miss a wink of sleep during my 6 night stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights for our honeymoon. Great staff (front desk, concierge, cleaners, restaurant, bell staff) everyone greeted us saying hello and seemed happy to work there. Great buffet breakfast with lots of variety. Beach access, lots of pools with separate pools for kids. Also recommend the spa. Gym meets your needs and despite being small was not over crowded. Will definitely go back. Concierge staff were great resources for other places to go and eat and also arranged for extracurricular activities for us. I definitely recommend trying to catch the sunrise on Mt. Haleaakala...but be sure to dress for the temperature drop and being a camera (this is one opportunity to take a picture where you are literally above the clouds).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning vistas and an exotic, idyllic setting on exclusive oceanfront property on Maui's North Beach, with golf, tennis, swimming, nd more. Perfect for a Hawaiian destination wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.