We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kulakane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kulakane to your Saves list
Kulakane
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   3741 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2007

My wife and I just returned from a 7-night stay at the Kulakane, and we had a terrific experience. This was our third stay there (1st floor condo), and as always we were impressed with our condo comfort level, the "right out your back door" ocean access, the upkeep of the grounds, the friendliness of the staff/residents, and Honokowai's proximity to Lahaina, Ka'anapali, and Kapalua. As usual, the sea turtles were a big attraction. - We spotted them every day in the waters outside our condo. Our biggest new discovery was the excellent snorkeling conditions right outside the Kulakane in September.....Kulakane resident "Turtle John" took us under his wing and showed us easy navigation routes through the reefs. The fish presence and coral formations were terrific. On one day, we swam with 4 of the biggest sea turtles that we've ever seen....There are several good and affordable eating spots nearby. The Kulakane was perfect for us. For its low-key comfort and terrific beachfront location, we'd choose it over higher-priced resorts.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    24
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
waipahu, hawaii
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

This hotel is over rated. There is no Air Conditioning. No Maid Service. The fans in our suite did not function properly. The pool is very small. Little or no customer service.

  • Liked — none
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndFeathers
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2007

I stayed at the Kulakane for 8 nights with some friends a few weeks ago and we were all very impressed with the experience. It exceeded all our expectations, especially for the price.

The unit we stayed in (309) was extrawide with 2b2b, very clean and well equipped with kitchen supplies, beach chairs, boogie boards and even a telescope to use. The property is only a few steps from the water and all the units have amazing views of the ocean from the very generous lanais. There isn't much of a beach directly in from of the property, but there is some sand right next door and, since all the beaches on Hawaii are public, it doesn't really matter. This is not a resort area with really big beaches, but that's part of why we liked it so much.

The photo was taken right from our lanai.

  • Liked — It is very close to the water!
  • Disliked — It is not fancy. It was built in the '70s so the building itself has a funky style.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2007

We stayed at the Kulakane for 9 days this month. We had a wonderful stay. It was our first trip to Maui and it was perfect. The pool is small but we only used it once. The oceanview from the condo was to die for. We had dinner in almost every night. We drove to several different beaches and enjoyed them all. There is a sand beach you can walk adjacent to the condo but the area is very rocky and not good for snorkeling or swimming. We rented tho condo from a private individual and she had everything we needed; a cooler, towels, boggie boards, loungers etc. The outside of the building is ugly but we loved the inside and the cozy feeling we got from such a small complex. It was never crowded or noisy.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2006

We stayed at the Kulakane #310 for 9 nights with our two children, ages 9 and 11. It was so comfortable - truly a home away from home. The grounds are immaculately kept, the pool is clean and the people (many who are there for many weeks or months) are so friendly. The on-site manager, Judith Ann, is very attentive and helpful. The nightly conch blowing and Friday night pu pu (appetizer) parties were really fun and were a great way to meet people.

The view from the condo is absolutely spectacular. The units are incredibly close to the water (I can't imagine a unit being closer) and every unit has a nice lanai. The four of us spent hours playing cards on our lanai watching the whales! At night, we went to sleep to the pounding surf which we all loved.

The pool is very small but since there weren't other kids staying there, my kids had it to themselves. They made up all sorts of fun games and I think had more fun in that little pool than they would have had in any fancy resort pool. There were plenty of beach chairs and a couple tables and chairs around the pool for game playing.

The condo is located in a very nice spot - just a short drive (5 or so minutes) to Napili and Kapaula beaches (lovely beaches) and about 10 minutes from Kaanapali Beach. Lahaina is also a short drive, at most 10-15 minutes.

The laundry facilities are great - a separate laundry room with 3 washers and 4 dryers and lots of room to spread out. I think some units have washer/dryer in them but ours didn't. I would go down and do laundry and sit in a chair under a tree reading my book while I waited. It was quite lovely!

The only negative I can say about the condo is there really isn't a beach (though there is one next door) and the swimming in front of the condo wasn't great. There was a nice sand beach next door (truly just a couple steps) that was great for sand castle building! It was also possible to walk down the coast, all the way to Kaanapali and to even closer nicer swimming beaches(though there are a few spots where you have to wade - definitely need water shoes). For us, this wasn't a big issue for two reasons: 1) THE VIEW was so spectacular - we wouldn't have traded that for a better beach and 2) we really liked exploring other beaches and for us, driving to a different beach every day was fun. I know we would have done that, even if we'd been staying somewhere with a nice beach.

Check out the Olivine Pools (see Maui Revealed for details). We all loved them! Truly beautiful and so fun to swim in!

One more note - we ate up and down the menu at Honokowai Okazuya & Deli, which was just down the street a few blocks. The food was wonderful and reasonably priced and we would often get it to go and eat it on our lanai. Paradise!!!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2006

We just returned from a wonderful stay at this quiet, lovely condominium. As an alternative to a large resort where we were originally scheduled, the Kulakane was a welcome respite and relaxing diamond in the rough. Nothing fancy, but clean and welcoming with a friendly group of people who made us feel like part of the family. We got to enjoy the entire island without getting caught up in all the hoopla of a large resort. The Kulakane made us feel like we lived there. A wonderful place all around.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2005

WOW!! What a great place to stay! We had a blast. The condo was perfect with all the luxury of home. Very clean and well maintained. Kudos to Judith Ann (the onsite manager)! She is fun, relaxed and very informative. If you are looking for a quiet, serene place to vacation, this is the place. Small beach access is 20 feet from all the condos and the small pool is the perfect size. Most days we were the only 2 on the beach or by the pool. It is close to everything. The view from the lanai is spectacular. All the condos on the first and second floor are 1 bedroom and all condos on the third floor are bi-level with 2 bedrooms and 2 baths. Great laundry facility, bbqs and free parking. We are definately coming back!!!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kulakane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kulakane

Address: 3741 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Kulakane 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kulakane resort is a low-rise oceanfront Maui condo rental property offering vacation condo rentals on the beautiful West Maui shore.These roomy one- and two-bedroom direct Maui oceanfront condominiums are beautifully appointed, with all of the luxuries of home. The spaciousness of the accommodations makes them ideal for families or couples on vacation.At the Kulakane Resort, every condo is just 50 feet from the ocean and has a direct, picturesque view of the neighboring islands of Lanai and Molokai and spectacular sunsets.When you stay at the Kulakane Resort, you can do it all or do nothing at all! Watch the whales, dolphins and sea turtles up close while relaxing at our oceanside pool, beach, or from your private lanai.Our oceanfront condo rentals are located on grounds featuring elegant gardens, gas grills, on-site laundry, free parking and free wireless Internet access throughout the complex. First class golf courses, fine dining, night life and shopping at Kaanapali Village and Lahaina are just a five-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Kulakane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kulakane Hotel Lahaina
Kulakane Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kulakane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.