We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good shave ice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hula Cookies & Ice Cream - CLOSED

Hula Cookies & Ice Cream
655 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96793
(808) 661-5854 ‎
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Ice Cream
Dining options: Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good shave ice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Service a little slow - but it is Maui, after all. Shave ice was good and had a good selection of flavors. I tried the mango, blue vanilla, and guava. I was a little disappointed that it came in a styrofoam dish but that's just a little enviro-nitpicking. Clean storefront.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    11
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great ice cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

After walking Front Street and checking out the flavors offered in other shops we bought our ice cream here. I had Maui coffee which had a true, rich and creamy taste. My husband had macadamia chocolate which he loved! I tasted his ice cream and found it was also rich in flavor. The chocolate had bits of ground macadamia nuts. We would go back for more of this delicious if we weren't leaving Maui!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellbrook
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“coconut icecream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Haupia is the named of the coconut pudding flavor. I am not a ice cream junky -however if I lived in Hawaii this flavor would definitely turn me into one! I had it on day 2 of our 2 week stay and searched for it all over the islands the remaining time we stayed.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richlands, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pricey cookies but so good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Love that they give samples. We tried them all and did the mix and match boxes and picked up a bunch of these to take in our packs as special treats as we traveled about the island. I even ended up bringing some home for a gift.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic ice cream in Lahaina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I had the chocolate macadamia nut ice cream. So delicious! Their cookies are rated #1 on Maui for 2012. Try those, too!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hula Cookies & Ice Cream also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hula Cookies & Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.