We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value for your dollar.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kahana Falls

Save Saved
You added Kahana Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kahana Falls
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4260 Lower Honoapiilana Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
san francisco, ca
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Outstanding value for your dollar.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The room was large enough for the two of us. There was an additional resort fee of $5.10 per day, but it was worth every penny! The resort fee included free Wi-Fi internet, use of BBQ grille, washer/dryer, computer and printer(in hotel lobby), gym/recreation room and free parking(plenty of space every night.) No need to bring quarters or coins for the washer/dryer! Our room had a refrigerator, microwave, double bathroom sink, dishes, cups and utensils to use during our stay. If you need ice go to the front desk and they will happily give you a bag. During our stay the front desk person "Frannie" did a fantastic job of offering quick and courteous service with a smile. If you go to Honolulu you pay $10 to $15.00 per day for parking at most hotels! Why go to Honolulu when you get more bang for your bucks in Lahaina, Maui!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Kahana Falls, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
That's what we like to hear! Many thanks for your review. Sounds like you had a wonderful stay and vacation - we appreciate it! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    95
    32
    18
    27
See reviews for
53
112
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Unit was very functional. Not fancy but perfect for a family's needs. Much better than a hotel room. Staff were attentive and helpful. Great location. . Restuarants, grocery store near by. The only downside is you need to drive to a nice beach but that was not an issue for us since it is not far from Lahaina or the beaches of Napili

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Kahana Falls, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Mahalo for taking the time to review Kahana Falls! We would love to have you stay again with us. We'll welcome you back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

If you like a smaller resort with attentive staff and all of the amenities that you expect from a time-share condominium resort, Kahana Falls is the resort for you. Across the street you can watch the sun set each evening over the waters between Maui and the islands of Molokai and Lanai. The resort's signature pool has 2 waterfalls and, although not a large pool, it has a very relaxing atmosphere. In the lobby, the concierge is available to help you book your island activities, and she or he only recommends reputable providers. It is a short drive either North or South to world class beaches, including Kapalua Beach to the North and famous Kaanapali Beach to the South.

Room Tip: One or two bedroom units have a lanai and full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Kahana Falls, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We appreciate your reviews and thoughts about our resort. Please come see us again soon. We look forward to having you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We used our timeshare points to stay at this property and were very pleasantly surprised. I don't think the photos really do it justice. It's an older property but very well maintained. The pool area was lovely and we loved the back jacuzzi with it's hot waterfall. We even utilized the gas grills for a cookout one evening. The best part of our stay was how helpful Bho and Betty of the concierge staff were. We sat through one of those cheesy timeshare promotions off property, but it was well worth the $200 discount we received on activites. The ladies booked all of our main activites for us beforehand and everything was absolutely lovely. They even recommended an alternate luau when the Old Lahaina Luau was sold out and we had a great time. The staff was very friendly.

Our only complaints were that the parking spaces are TINY and there were several times when we had to call for towel service or maid service. Also, there is a beach directly across the street, but it was certainly not the most amazing beach we experienced. It was a little too rock covered for my tastes. If you wind up staying at any of the Kahana properties, be sure to visit the shops near the Farmer's Market. There is a great gift shop owned by a wonderful woman named Jasmine and a Latino market that has some of the best food I ate while I was on th island for dirt cheap prices!

Room Tip: Room 112 was lovely and in close proximity to the back jacuzzi. There is also a very picturesque wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Kahana Falls, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Mucho Mahalos for writing a review regarding your stay at Kahans Falls. We appreciate your thoughts and are glad you had a pleasant stay. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay at this property and be the guest of my sister-in-law who is a time share owner. The property is very nice, if you go out early in the morning there are staff there cleaning the pool area. It is in very good condition. The room was always cleaned when it was scheduled and was in very good condition. Location was good, across the street from the beach as well just walk up a block or two and you are at a McDonalds if you have a late night craving. We went to a morning de-briefing and I was the lucky one to win the door prize which was a dinner cruise.

The washer/dryer in the room is very handy. The fully equipted kitchen was very nice to have as well. We made baked potatoes in the oven and hubby grilled steaks on the barbeques by the pool area.

I would not hesitate to stay there again and if you are lucky enough to stay there I don't think you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: We were in building 4 (room 403) and while having breakfast on the patio you could see the whales ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Kahana Falls, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Mahalo for your wonderful review! We are so happy you had a pleasant stay and hope your vacation was memorable and relaxing. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Traded our timeshare and got put into this place. It was okay, but we were not in the room much, so it was okay that it was just "ok". Every time we ran the dishwasher it leaked all over the carpet. We didn't want to tell them about it until we left so that they wouldn't move us or be in the room working while we were not in the room. Nice woman at the concierge desk and some other nice women at the front desk later in the week. They young guy who was working at the front desk when we checked in seemed uninterested in us and I felt like he was ready to get off work. We had a 1-bdrm unit, on the corner by the road. They set-up was unusual as it appeared to be a hotel room on one side called "A" and a studio through the other door called "B". We had to prop open the door between the bedroom and the studio as it would not stay open and it was a heavy door to open every time you wanted to get from the bedroom to the living room/kitchen. Even though the unit was on the road side of one of the buildings, with the doors and windows shut you could not hear the road noise. I will also say that I had a low back ache all week long which I think was due to the old soft mattress. Luckily I had Advil! We never used our lanai/deck as it was loud if you sat outside and the view was over the road and timeshare entrance. Not so great. It was nice, however, on those days where we just wanted to "chill", to walk across the street and through the resort located on the beach, to put our towel down and lay in the sand or swim. Kahana Falls is close to Napili Bay which has spectacular snorkeling along the right side of the bay. It is also close to some great restaurants like Pineapple Grill or Sansei Sushi. AND....Maui Brewing Company is close by!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Kahana Falls, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Kahana Falls. We appreciate your visit and hope you enjoyed your time on Maui!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Be aware of $150.00 energy tax for 2 bedrooms!!! that's outrageous for a NOT SO special place.
A/C does not below COLD air...what a disappointment. Ok staff, they don't seem interested when you have issues.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Kahana Falls, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to address your specific concerns. Please email us at kfr@tradingplaces.com with your name, dates of stay, and unit number so we can resolve these issues in a timely manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kahana Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Falls

Address: 4260 Lower Honoapiilana Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kahana Falls 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kahana Falls rests just steps from the beach on the west coast of Maui. Enjoy the lush landscaping, splashing waterfalls and wonderful amenities of this tropical resort. Each one- and two-bedroom unit offers a partial or full kitchen, air conditioning, lanai and much more. Our on-site activities desk will help you see the best of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Kahana Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Falls Lahaina
Kahana Falls Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Falls Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahana Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.