We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Maui Vacation Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kahana Falls

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kahana Falls to your Saves list
Kahana Falls
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4260 Lower Honoapiilana Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Chaska, Mn
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Maui Vacation Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Kahana Falls is a beautiful, quiet and relaxing resort about 5 minutes south of downtown Lahaina and 2 minutes south of Kaanipali. We were two couples in our 50's who stayed in a 1 bedroom two bath unit. We had units 302 A and B meaning it is a studio unit plus a lock off hotel unit. We exchanged for this unit through RCI. My husband and I took the hotel unit which was very private with a huge bathroom with a large tub. There was a small kitchenette in it. I've read reviews from people who only booked the hotel and I agree that the units are dark, as they are behind the studios. Ours friends slept in the studio Murphy bed and they said it was very comfortable. Lots of windows and light in the studios.

The 4 of us cooked and used the living area in the studio portion throughout the day. Studios have a washer and dryer also. There is a nice balcony in the studio that overlooks the grounds. We had a partial,ocean view too. There are grills down by the pool . Parking is free. The pool and grounds were well kept and beautiful. All of the employees were extremely helpful and kind.

If you're taking a hop to another island, I holy recommend the JHM regional airport which is 5 minutes away. We rented a car from dollar, picked it up at the main airport, OGG and dropped it off at JHM.

Betty, at the activities desk recommended the sunset dinner cruise and a whale watch that we're amazing. We got them free for doing a painless timeshare gig at the Kaanipali Club. We had wanted to see the property anyway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Kahana Falls, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Sounds like you had a wonderful vacation with us! Mahalo for your comments and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    125
    47
    28
    37
See reviews for
74
164
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is our 2nd stay at Kahana Falls. The first time in 2009 we stayed with friends in their 2 bedroom timeshare but this time we rented one of the hotel rooms. The room is small but clean and quiet. We spend as much time as possible at the beach or out exploring so the room is not that important as long as it's quiet and clean which it was. Kahana Falls is beautiful, lovely waterfall pool, flowers, coy pond, hot tubs, exercise room, etc. a great value for the money. It is very close to the beach, very nice restaurant with bargain breakfast across the street, free laundry facility, free parking, friendly and courteous staff and only 6.5 miles to Lahaina. We plan on coming back and staying 3 to 4 weeks next February!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Kahana Falls, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We look forward to welcoming you back next February! Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had a terrific time at the Kahana Falls Resort, where we just completed a three week stay. The unit we had for the whole stay was a one bedroom, two bath unit, and was spacious, very well equipped and very clean. It even offered daily towel exchange. The staff are exceptionally helpful and have a very positive attitude. The resort is not large, but one of the highlights for us was the pool area which is very well done with many tropical plants, trees and shrubs and, with a series of small waterfalls constantly flowing, it provided a very peaceful background that added to the overall ambience. We would happily return to Kahana Falls for another visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Kahana Falls, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Mahalo for your comments. We appreciate taking time to review our resort. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a very nice, clean and well maintained tome share condominium. It is not on the water but just across the street form the ocean. The staff was very responsive and Betty (Paradise adventures) was GREAT - I cannot emphasize that point enough. The hotel is in an excellent location for Kapalua, Ka'anapali and Lahina. It is a bit of a hike to wailue and Kuhukui.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Kahana Falls, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your review (and we agree - Betty is the best!!)! We look forward to welcoming you back to our Ohana here on Maui soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was my first trip to Maui and was a bit apprehensive about staying here because the reviews I read ranged from not so great to terrific. I rented 2 rooms, a studio suite and a one bedroom suite. I stayed in the one bedroom suite and couldn't have been happier. It was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The full sized kitchen had newer appliances including a dishwasher. The dining table was used rarely since we preferred having breakfast in the balcony. Towels were replaced and trashed emptied on a daily basis. I like that we can get beach and pool towels @ no extra cost. The fitness center had enough equipment for a good workout and I never had to share the space with anyone outside my family. The staff was courteous, helpful and very accommodating. Betty, the concierge suggested Castaway for lunch one day and we loved it! The studio suite was a bit cramped. Hardly any space to walk in.

Room Tip: Opt for a corner suite with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Kahana Falls, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We'll welcome you back any time! Thank you for staying at Kahana Falls and for your review. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

After reading some other reviews on this site we were skeptical about this hotel. I was so skeptical I tried to upgrade my room before even arriving there. We were not able to upgrade so we had to deal with the room we had booked from the begining. By the way, we had booked a studio suite.
The good.
We had read horror stories about the murphy bed in the studio rooms. How to discribe a murphy bed, perhaps some people already know how they work. It is bascially in the case of Kahana Falls a coutch in which you remove the cushions from the coutch and pull the bed down out of the wall. The matress was firm but nothing to terrably bad. The pillows were also a little firm but nothing you could not sleep on. In the morning you would put the bed back up into the wall and replace the cushions on the couch returning the room to you living room.
We had a great kitchen with everything we needed including a new oven with 4 burner stove top, a dish washer, microwave, standup fridge with a freezer on top, clothes washer and dryer. A nice glass top dinning table with 4 chairs. A full bathroom and a deck. The air conditioning worked well when we needed it.
The staff were great. Ice was avaiable. The information/concearge person Betty was very helpful and arranged a couple of events for us.
The swiming pool was OK neither good or bad just OK.
The not so good.
Each time you used the bathroom when turning on the light the bathroom fan came on and it was very loud. The view from our room and deck was of the front entrance and parking though we could see a sliver of the ocean between the ocean front resorts across the street.
The one hot tub was a milky color when we first went to use it and didn't try to use it again.

Room Tip: Our cost for the 8 nights we stayed was 1089.00. The Shearton wanted 3800.00 for the same number of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Kahana Falls, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest opinions about Kahana Falls. We hope you enjoyed your time in Maui and will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Peaceful and Quiet. We own timeshare here and love the small boutique style. Love a peaceful vacation. We just visited our other timeshare. Not so peaceful. Was nice change. That's why we love Maui! 40+ years.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Kahana Falls, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Welcome back to Kahana Falls! We are happy you enjoy your timeshare and we look forward to welcoming you back every year! Mahalo for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.5 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#29 of 31 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 31 in Lahaina
3.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
6.6 mi away
Aina Nalu
Aina Nalu
#25 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Napili Shores
Napili Shores
#18 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 528 reviews
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
#15 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 583 reviews
14.5 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahana Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Falls

Address: 4260 Lower Honoapiilana Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kahana Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kahana Falls rests just steps from the beach on the west coast of Maui. Enjoy the lush landscaping, splashing waterfalls and wonderful amenities of this tropical resort. Each one- and two-bedroom unit offers a partial or full kitchen, air conditioning, lanai and much more. Our on-site activities desk will help you see the best of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kahana Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Falls Lahaina
Kahana Falls Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Falls Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahana Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.