We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ay to cool off while visiting the historic area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Breakwall Shave Ice Co.

Breakwall Shave Ice Co.
117 Prison Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
+1 808-667-7747
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 238 Restaurants in Lahaina
Price range: $1 - $4
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Vegan, Ice Cream, Hot Dogs
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dessert
Description: Authentic Epic Hawaiian shave ice, gourmet coffee's, breakfast, acai bowls, smoothie's, locally made ice cream, panini deli style sandwiches, and lots of ALOHA!
Killen, Alabama
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great ay to cool off while visiting the historic area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great service from the owner and very unique, tasty flavors of shaved ice. Make sure you get ice cream in the middle!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    18
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent--make sure to visit on your trip to Maui!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Seattle Dog is excellent--yes, they have gourmet hot dogs that are so good, we went back again! The shaved ice is great too! The owner helped us and provided top notch service. We look forward to visiting Maui again and we will most defintely return to Breakwall!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tiger Blood Flavor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We drove past 10 shave ice places to go here. Their ice shaver is the best. It was like snow, not like a snow cone. The ice held the flavors and my 3 kids all said it was the best! They rule the shave ice business in Lahaina.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A great Maui welcome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We asked some locals where they go for Shave Ice and they said "Breakwall!!" without blinking!

So off we went and were not disappointed! Dave (the owner) was laid back, friendly and very helpful. His Shave creations rocked, and he has a variety of crazy flavors available, right alongside the traditional favorites.

We'll be back on this trip, and every time we come to Maui!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best shave ice in Lahaina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a LOT of shave ice while we were on Maui. We went to Breakwall 3 or 4 times, and the guy doing the snowballs was definately the most artistic of all the people we bought shave ice from. He didn't just make a ball, he made it pretty. :o)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breakwall Shave Ice Co. also viewed

 

Been to Breakwall Shave Ice Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakwall Shave Ice Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.