We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breakwall Shave Ice Co.

Breakwall Shave Ice Co.
117 Prison Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
+1 808-667-7747
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 203 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $4
Cuisines: Hot Dogs, Coffee Shop, Ice Cream, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert
Description: Authentic Epic Hawaiian shave ice, gourmet coffee's, breakfast, acai bowls, smoothie's, locally made ice cream, panini deli style sandwiches, and lots of ALOHA!
Evanston, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Kids and adults had great fun! They have both natural and regular favors. VERY clean and much nicer ambiance compares with the other great locations around.

Much better if you have younger kids or want a bit more personal attention.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    20
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Vestal, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't Leave Maui without trying Shaved Ice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were halfway through our vacation and everywhere we had seen signs for shaved ice, but were never in “the mood”. So one day we find our selves in Lahaina. It was hot we were hungry, and I could not face another shop. Suddenly we look up and find ourselves in front of Breakwall Shave Ice Company. It may be related to the snow cone, but you need to think on a much grander scale. We were lucky enough to have a family in front of us who were from the island and they instructed us on how to build our dish. We picked the medium size, it is plenty big. I started with a bottom of sweet azuki (red) beans, my wife chose gummi bears and macadamia nut ice cream, you then watch as the server spins this large block of ice and builds a mound of shavings. You can then pick your three flavors (there is a lot of them – so make you mind up while building up the pile) and top with snow (condensed milk). You then pick your spoon and straw and have at it! If it is hot – eat quickly – it is sticky, sweet and delicious.

There was only a single server who acted as cook, waitress and cashier. She was great.

Turns out that was the only shaved ice for us while we were in the islands. I’m glad I was so great!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“The best shave ice in Hawaii!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Awesome service, the shave ice was great, defiantly recommend it.The natural flavours are awesome. The owners were great they made sure our shave ice was nut free.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Our First Shave Ice Experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We definitely wanted to try shave ice and this was our first! Unfortunately, the power was out for most of downtown Lahaina, but we were still able to be served. The girl was really nice and recommended a few flavors. As we ate, we chatted with her about island life and enjoyed our stay. The shave ice was excellent too! Get it with the vanilla ice cream... Wish I had some now!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This shaved ice could change your life. Get the Mac nut ice cream bottom and the tiger blood for sure. The sizes are huge and the staff is great. Met the owner Finch while we were at dukes. He rocks and so does his shop and staff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breakwall Shave Ice Co. also viewed

 

Been to Breakwall Shave Ice Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakwall Shave Ice Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.