We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal -- great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kahana Reef

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kahana Reef to your Saves list
Kahana Reef
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   4471 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Southern California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good deal -- great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2005

The Kahana Reef is a pleasant, quiet condo facility right by the ocean. My family of four has now spent three very enjoyable vacations there over the past 10 years. It must be one of the better deals on Maui. This year we called directly to make the booking and were given a rate of $115 per day for a week's stay. Not surprisingly, it has aged a bit compared with 10 years ago, but still seems generally well-maintained. There is considerable variation between the different condos (since they're all owned by different people.). Some are better-equipped and furnished than others. Some have brand new carpets, while others (such as the one we were given this time) have grubby old ones. When booking, you might try asking if there are any newly-refurbished units available -- that's what I'll do next time. Definitely ask for a unit on the 3rd or 4th floor, for a better view and for security reasons. When we were there last month there were signs posted warning of recent break-ins, apparently carried out by entering through the sliding-glass doors from the lanais (balconies, en anglais.) It would take an extraordinily agile burglar to scale above the 2nd floor. The view across the ocean to Molokai, occasionally framed by a perfect rainbow, is just gorgeous. The small swimming pool is well-kept and we usually had it to ourselves. Nancy at the front desk was genial and helpful, although the desk is only manned after noon. Many of the guests seem to be repeat visitors. There's no housekeeping, so be prepared to make your own beds, keep the kitchen clean etc. It's a short drive or a long walk to the idyllic Napili Bay beach. There are nearby restaurants and grocery stores, but then nothing is really far away on Maui. It's a half hour drive from Kahului airport, and what a beautiful drive. For a reasonably-priced self-catering condo vacation on Maui, I highly recommend the Kahana Reef.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    30
    5
    5
    6
See reviews for
14
61
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2005

Spur of the moment vacation. The Kahana Reef was available and down the street from our usual getaway site. Very nice one bedroom on the third floor. Staff is helpful and polite. All units oceanfront with fantastic views. Great pool. Location close to all west Maui. It is the usual housekeeping condo. Don't expect room service, etc. If that is your thing then go to the resorts. Walking distance to some great restaurants so no need to wander far.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwater, CA
2 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Kahana Reef in March of 2004 for our anniversary. We were on the third floor, very comfortable with incredible views. Spent a very romantic and active week, had great weather, and met numerous people just enjoying life.
The condo needed some renovating, but for the price, location and view it would be very difficult to beat the overall time we had.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2005

We rented rm. 220 on the 2nd. floor. My decision was based on the reviews, the scenery is great, never thought we would be robbed. On our last day, May 24th., while we were sleeping, someone climbed up our 2nd. balcony & took everything that was on our kitchen counter. The residents were very kind & sympathetic, I was informed by them & the police dept., that there have been several breakins here, & windows in rental cars have been smashed out. The owner of the condo didn't even respond, his ins. Co. states he only has liability ins., so my ins. Co. had to pay for my losses! There is no security there, even though the view is beautiful, I would be afraid to return under these circumstances. I was also informed a New York police officer was also robbed!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2005

We loved staying at Kahana Reef! The view is breathtaking! We watched whales and sea turtles from our 3rd story lanai. Sunsets were beautiful.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2004

We stayed in Apartment #120. It was very clean when we arrived and the cabinets had been newly painted. All fixtures, even though an older condo, were in good working condition. We expected some bugs because that's just part of being in Hawaii (We know because we used to live in Hawaii). I only saw one cockroach and very few ants the entire time we were there. These are decent sized one bedroom apartments with full kitchens. No A/C but the ceiling fans and tradewinds were sufficient for cooling the apartment. The ocean was right at our back door. We had the privacy that we wanted because this is not a crowded hotel or resort. Nice and quiet. There is a small sandy beach next to the property. A great value for the price. We had to go to other places for snorkeling, but other than that, it was just what we were looking for on this trip.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2004

Very nice, well appointed condos with truly exceptional views. The scene from the balcony is spectacular. We were there first week of June and still no need for A/C. Nice pool, but no swimming beach in immediate walking vicinity.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kahana Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Reef

Address: 4471 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kahana Reef 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kahana Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Reef Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Reef Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahana Reef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.