We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Penny's Place Inn Paradise

Save Saved
You added Penny's Place Inn Paradise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Penny's Place Inn Paradise
1440 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

If you want to stay in a place that is homey, clean, comfortable, with a knowledgeable, friendly host, interesting fellow guests -- this is the place for you. If you want to be isolated in luxury, look somewhere else. My adult daughter and I spent a terrific week on Maui last April. We stayed for seven days and so were offered one night for free -- what a bargain. Breakfast was healthy and simple -- our preference. Our room was simple and comfy. There are a "house rules" that we appreciated: no smoking; let Penny know ahead of time if you want breakfast, lock the door behind you, etc. Penny was a font of knowledge for restaurants, places to visit, etc. The location is excellent, right at the edge of Lahaina and across the street from the water, but easy walking distance to excellent restaurants, shops, etc. One of the delights of this B & B is that Penny has thought of all the little things that one needs/forgets and makes them available: beach mats and towels; small coolers for picnics; iron and ironing board; sunscreen; shampoo; tape; scissors; sewing kit, as well as a small shared kitchen and fridge where we kept food for lunch and snacks, etc. etc. I can't wait to visit again -- this time with my husband.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
likkii, Owner at Penny's Place Inn Paradise, responded to this review, June 23, 2010
Mahalo! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. I hope this finds you both well and happy. All the best - Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    22
    5
    5
    7
See reviews for
8
84
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

Penny's place is a fabulous B & B. The rooms are immaculate and located not far from the centre of Lahaina. Penny is friendly and makes great coffee and gives information about all the fun things to do on Maui. A big advantage was the laundry facilities. Overall a great stay.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

We just spent a week on the Big Island and were not ready to return home yet. We went to a travel agent to see if they could find us anything on the west side of Maui for a few days and needed a reasonable price. They booked us at Penny's Place in Paradise and advised that it was a bed and breakfast. We were a bit worried because we have never stayed at a B & B but we were in a pinch and the price was right at just over $100 per night. We stayed for three nights and loved this place. The rooms are very clean, comfortable, and well decorated. The owner, Penny, keeps everything you need in stock including things for the beach like beach towels, beach chairs, boogie boards, small ice chests, and sand mats. You do not get daily maid service here which was fine with us but if we needed anything to be restocked it was available in a hall closet. Another nice feature was free internet service which we used often to find the best beaches and restaurants. I was a bit surprised to find out that Penny was not able to cook a breakfast due to some Hawaiian law but she does provide a continental breakfast with fresh fruit, coffee, tea, juice, and we also had mango bread which we enjoyed. Although we did not get to see Penny very often except for breakfast, she was pleasant and provide lots of info about where to eat and things to do. The house was a beautiful yellow plantation style home with a great upper deck for the guests to hang out. The deck has a sitting area with good views, a small refridgerator, ice machine, microwave, and coffee maker. You could place your food and drinks in the fridge and labels are provided to mark your items from other guests. This made it nice to stock your cooler in the mornings before heading out for your daily activities. The only negitive things I can really comment on was that the tv in the room was small and the home sits next to a pretty busy road so you get some road noise. These were pretty minor issues for us because we slept fine and didn't have much time for tv watching anyway. I will say the room had a dvd player which would probably be good if you had young kids with you. All and all we found this to be a great place to stay if your choice of a vacation in Maui includes having a rental car and venturing all over the island to see the sights or visiting the different beaches. If you enjoy the big resorts where you pretty much stay on the property for the duration of your visit, this is not going to be the place for you. Thanks Penny for a great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

We stayed in the casually elegant ‘Ekahi Room’ during our 10-day honeymoon on Maui in September 2004, and we were extremely happy with the accommodations and the convenient location. It was a pretty easy choice to return to this B&B on our recent trip. The rates can’t be beat, the location provides a perfect, central base, and the amenities and Penny’s personal and enthusiastic assistance are valuable things you really can’t find anywhere else.

Penny’s website and previous reviews describe most amenities, but I want to add how useful it was to have beach towels, mats and even low beach chairs available to use. Made every beach outing stress-free. A small boogie board and one or two swimming noodles are also available, though we didn't use the latter. Also worth repeating is the availability of small coolers for outings, and lots of ice to fill the cooler or use for drinks.

This time around, we stayed in the ‘Eha Room’, the honeymoon suite, for 7 nights. Very clean, spacious and relaxing. Lots of character and charming details throughout the B&B, which made both stays unique and memorable, unlike hotels and hotel rooms that often seem exactly the same from one to the next.

Good breakfasts provided with a lot of relaxed chat and suggestions/advice from Penny. Can’t wait to return! Mahalo, Penny!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

LOCATION:

Great location, is very close to busy street but you can't hear it in your room! Loved the close ocean access, didn't feel comfortable enough to dive in given its a lava rock beach but enjoyed the view, and took a stroll when the tide was down and we could find some sand.

ROOM:
Great Room! We stayed in the Eha Room which is the honeymoon suite! Entrance is from the upstairs balcony, which gives a feeling of solitude from the other rooms...LOVED IT! Got to see Gecko's by the porch lights very cute but very quick!!

AMENITIES:
Everything was complimentary in the sense that there was no charge for using beach towels, she also had large handbags and umbrellas available for beach excursions! Also available were individual coolers if you wanted to pack a lunch. And use of an outdoor kitchen which had a microwave and a small fridge!

No toiletries, which Im not sure if that is something offered at a B&B....we had packed our own anyway.

Access to washer/dryer, detergent supplied!! We were able to wash our clothes on our last morning, the fee nominal...as in you set the rate with a little coin jar.

SERVICE:

Overall we had a great experience.

Unfortunately Penny was under the weather for part of our stay, so her expertise wasn't available to us on our first full day there. She did compensate us for the inconvenience by knocking off part of the price since breakfast and her time were not available 1 of the 3 days we stayed there. We only got to meet her and have breakfast on our last day. (Keep in mind our 2nd day there we missed out because of our schedule not her availability) Part of the reason we chose to stay there was we like to get a local feel and talk to a resident to get some insight...by our third day we had kinda figured it out, this was with some help from her handy guide/rule book!

During our meal, Penny made herself available for pointers, but we didnt have many questions at that point; I think she may have still not been feeling the best as she vented a bit to us on the issues that face her running the B&B and also mentioned wanting to get out of the business; she seemed bitter about recent law changes and competing with resorts and being put in the same bucket as Con-B&Bs and such. I think had she been feeling better she may not have left the kind of impression she did with us. The place is a real gem and she was helpful, but meeting her in the state she was in left us feeling less in love with our stay.

I left a note in hopes that a positive guest experience would brighten her outlook but she reminds me of a teacher who has been tossed around by the No Child Left Behind legislation! I dont blame her just feel sorry for what she has gone through.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

I have never been to Maui before and also have never stayed in a B&B before. Penny's Place worked out better than great. It's conveniently located between Lahaina and Kaanapali. It looks as if it might be a noisy location, but I never heard a peep of outside noise from my room. Having air conditioning and a private bathroom were musts for me, and cable TV was a nice plus; it's like comfort food for me, sort of a slice of home.

I had three breakfasts, all of which were delicious, and Penny was very helpful without being pushy.

If you don't want or need the amenities of a full-service resort, but are looking for a safe, clean, quiet home base in west Maui, then Penny's Place is for you.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

We returned a couple of weeks ago from an amazing trip to Kauai and Maui -- our first time to the Hawaiian Islands. We had been in touch with Penny and decided to book her condo at the Lahaina Shores Beach Resort after my finance's brother stayed there -- and LOVED it!. The studio condo was so attractive and welcoming. We loved the Murphy bed and once we had folded it into its home for the day we had a large area open for us. The balcony overlooking the mountains was lovely and Penny and her husband are very attentive hosts. The kitchen was immaculate and had more than we needed in terms of appliances and pots/pans, etc. It was a perfect location and the sunsets from behind the resort were the most magnificent we have ever seen!!! Lovely pool and right on the beach. Parking was incredibly convenient, rates were good -- what can we say - it was perfect for us!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Penny's Place Inn Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penny's Place Inn Paradise

Also Known As:
Penny`s Place Inn Paradise Hotel
Penny`s Place Inn Paradise Hotel Lahaina
Penny's Place Inn Paradise Maui/Lahaina
Address: 1440 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Penny's Place Inn Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penny's Place Inn Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.