We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping yards from the highway!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Penny's Place Inn Paradise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Penny's Place Inn Paradise to your Saves list
Penny's Place Inn Paradise
1440 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sleeping yards from the highway!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Beautiful house which is used as a bed and breakfast yards away from the ocean but along way from a beach. There is a busy highway on one side of the house and a busy street on the otherside which means you hear traffic all night and we were unlucky enough to stay there when they were doing major roadworks at night. The room we stayed in was small but charming but the bed was very noisey and you can hear everything That is going on in the other rooms.

Room Tip: If you are up after 10 pm like having a party and watching tv late at night give this place a miss o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    22
    5
    5
    7
See reviews for
8
84
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Loved the view from the balcony. Whenever we had a chance we would hang out on the balcony have cocktails and a snack. One night we even saw a whale breech. The room we had was small but comfortable. The price was right. Penny gave us breakfast vouchers to a restaurant called Lulu's. Although this is a b&b there was no breakfast on Sunday. Not sure why.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the honeymoon suite, it has more room and lots of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Edwina and I really enjoyed our stay at Penny's Place in Lahaina. Penny was a very friendly and helpful host. The room was clean and comfortable. I would definitely recommend Penny's Place for couples looking for a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We have just returned from 10 days at Penny's Place. It was the best choice I made on this vacation. Her B&B is very clean and comfortable. Penny is a wealth of information and we were happy with all of her recommendations. She is restricted on the breakfast that she can provide by law--we had a wonderful plate of fresh fruit, pastry, juice and either coffee or tea each morning. And, this was just the right amount since lunch on Maui can be very large. The location at the end of Front Street was perfect. We were in the perfect spot to reach all of the sites on the island. I give this a two thumbs up and will recommend it to all of my friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at Pennys Place in late November 2012. The whole facility was immaculate. While the house is next to the highway and allows easy access to it the room was very quiet. Penny was extremely helpful with local travel advice, even lending us her guide to Maui. When we told her we enjoyed her banana cake, she printed a copy so we can make it at home.
We enjoed our stay and highly reccomend Pennys Place Inn Paradise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This place has a good location,but its for sale and the owner seems kind of burned out. There were bug traps in our room and breakfast consisted of a couple pieces of fruit and a microwaved frozen croisant. Lots of rules everywhere, no breakfast on Sunday???? Beware of this one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We just spent 5 days at Pennys Place Inn Paradise catching up with our son who resides in the US. What can I say it was just awesome. The rooms are all quaint & Pennys service & knowledge is just unbeleivable & a great location. What a lady Penny is. So very interesting & helpful. The rooms are ever so clean & the continental breakfast was fantastic. It was lovely to sit on the verandah, having a drink & playing a board game. Ever so peaceful. I would highly recommend to anyone who is after quaint accommodation & excellent service with a personnel touch. We'll be back. Thanks Penny you made our stay in Lahaina.

Room Tip: Eha room out on the verandah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penny's Place Inn Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penny's Place Inn Paradise

Address: 1440 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Penny's Place Inn Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penny`s Place Inn Paradise Hotel Lahaina
Penny's Place Inn Paradise Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penny's Place Inn Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.