We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base to explore Maui” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penny's Place Inn Paradise

Save Saved
You added Penny's Place Inn Paradise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Penny's Place Inn Paradise
1440 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“A great base to explore Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Edwina and I really enjoyed our stay at Penny's Place in Lahaina. Penny was a very friendly and helpful host. The room was clean and comfortable. I would definitely recommend Penny's Place for couples looking for a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    22
    5
    5
    7
See reviews for
8
84
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We have just returned from 10 days at Penny's Place. It was the best choice I made on this vacation. Her B&B is very clean and comfortable. Penny is a wealth of information and we were happy with all of her recommendations. She is restricted on the breakfast that she can provide by law--we had a wonderful plate of fresh fruit, pastry, juice and either coffee or tea each morning. And, this was just the right amount since lunch on Maui can be very large. The location at the end of Front Street was perfect. We were in the perfect spot to reach all of the sites on the island. I give this a two thumbs up and will recommend it to all of my friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at Pennys Place in late November 2012. The whole facility was immaculate. While the house is next to the highway and allows easy access to it the room was very quiet. Penny was extremely helpful with local travel advice, even lending us her guide to Maui. When we told her we enjoyed her banana cake, she printed a copy so we can make it at home.
We enjoed our stay and highly reccomend Pennys Place Inn Paradise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This place has a good location,but its for sale and the owner seems kind of burned out. There were bug traps in our room and breakfast consisted of a couple pieces of fruit and a microwaved frozen croisant. Lots of rules everywhere, no breakfast on Sunday???? Beware of this one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We just spent 5 days at Pennys Place Inn Paradise catching up with our son who resides in the US. What can I say it was just awesome. The rooms are all quaint & Pennys service & knowledge is just unbeleivable & a great location. What a lady Penny is. So very interesting & helpful. The rooms are ever so clean & the continental breakfast was fantastic. It was lovely to sit on the verandah, having a drink & playing a board game. Ever so peaceful. I would highly recommend to anyone who is after quaint accommodation & excellent service with a personnel touch. We'll be back. Thanks Penny you made our stay in Lahaina.

Room Tip: Eha room out on the verandah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwood
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We just left Penny's Place Inn Paradise. We had a wonderful time! This B&B is spotless! You feel so much at home there. Penny gave us the best advice of which places and things to see, (and which ones you want to stay away from) Penny had mini ice chests, beach chairs, and beach mats for us to use. There was also a fridge, ice macker, and microwave oven for the guests. We had a delicious breakfast to start our day. What we liked most about the B&B was how safe and at home we felt there. Thanks Penny for making us feel like family!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hodonin, Czech Republic
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Not easily for me when I departed from the pleasant atmosphere which is the island of Maui and Penny's Place in Lahaina. Beautiful and clean accommodation where I felt very safe and happy. Family atmosphere, delicious breakfast, tourist information, parking, excellent location. I recommend to all. Thank you Penny.

Room Tip: Elua room is a pleasant little room with private bathroom and shower. The room is equipped with air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Penny's Place Inn Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penny's Place Inn Paradise

Also Known As:
Penny`s Place Inn Paradise Hotel
Penny`s Place Inn Paradise Hotel Lahaina
Penny's Place Inn Paradise Maui/Lahaina
Address: 1440 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Penny's Place Inn Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penny's Place Inn Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.