We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penny's Place Inn Paradise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Penny's Place Inn Paradise to your Saves list
Penny's Place Inn Paradise
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1440 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Medford, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed here for three days recently. The rooms were very clean and pleasantly decorated, each with a private bathroom. The bed was extremely comforatable, my wife and I slept better here than we do at home! Penny was a great host, but we were so busy touring, we hardly had the chance to enjoy the place - we left before sunrise each morning and couldn't take advantage of Penny's breakfast! Located at the end of Front St. in Lahaina, you are just a short walk from the beach, shops, restaurants, night life, etc. My wife and I have stayed in bed and breakfasts in the past, and this one was as good or better than any of them. Without question, if we ever return to Maui, Penny's Place would be our first choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteLombardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

My stay at Penny's Place was fantastic! The room was beautifully furnished, comfortable and clean. The location of the property is wonderful - at the quiet end of the main street of Lahaina. You are within walking distance of an ocean sunset view, shops, restaurants and one of the best Luaus you can find!
Penny was a great hostess - she was extremely helpful with planning my activities, as well as making some great suggestions with places to go and things to see.
The breakfast was delicious and filling.
I would be happy to recommend this accomodation and would definitely return without any hestitation!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed at Penny's place for 7 days last January and we really loved it. Our room was nicely decorated and very clean. The breakfast was also really good, and Penny always gave us good information about the places to see and where were the best beaches. The location was also very convenient and we only had to cross the road to see the wonderfull sunset on the water and also a few turtles! We will be sure to return at Penny's Place on our next trip to Maui! Thank You!

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank StephGuitard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Our stay at Penny's Place was so much more relaxing than the huge resort hotels. We were treated like family by Penny. Breakfast time was pleasant, yummy and informative. Each room is uniquely furnished and decorated. When we return to Maui we will choose Penny's Place Inn Paradise again. We love this place, Virgil and Lois

Room Tip: Love the outdoors? Small rooms are big enough!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois7503512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadow Vista, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Penny is a good hostess--she gave us a lot of useful and interesting information, and she is very kind. Breakfast was delicious. We slept better in the bed in our room than in ours at home! Penny's Place is in Lahaina, a very convenient location for shopping, food and beaches. We could see the ocean from the veranda--where we spent a lot of our time! We loved the little kitchen on the porch--very convenient. Thanks, Penny! Kathy and Phil

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dfaye26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Penny's Paradise is a wonderful value in Lahaina Maui. We were evacuated by Penny, due to the tsunami danger immediately afer the Japan earthquake. Penny treated us like family bringing water and food for our comfort. She took us to the Grace Baptist church up the hill away from any potential danger. Thankfully there was no damage.

Apart from Penny's care and professionalism her establishment is super clean, the breakfasts healthy and delicious, and a great place to stay within walking proximity to Lahaina Town. We will stay at Penny's Place when we retun to Maui. A+++

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandra4thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainbowsLahaina, Owner at Penny's Place Inn Paradise, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Mahalo - my tusnami six! We shared an experience I will always remember. No finer people to spend a night with in cars at the church - so glad you got to spend the next in your room. I enjoyed your company and sense of kokua - aloha nui loa. Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Initially, I chose to stay at Penny's Place because it's about half the price of most other hotels in Lahaina - and was pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. The room was very clean and comfortable, and a bit more spacious than expected. It's quiet at night and easy to sleep.

Breakfast was excellent (fresh pastries and a variety of fruit). Penny is very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area, so chatting at breakfast is a good way to get some ideas about things to do and places to see. The beach and downtown areas are both a 15 minute walk away. It was nice not getting charged for every little thing (free breakfast, wifi, parking, etc.) unlike some of the more resort-ish hotels in town.

On top of all this, there was an island-wide tsunami warning one night during my visit - Penny made sure all of her guests got to a safe location, and even brought food and drinks for everyone. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slothu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainbowsLahaina, Owner at Penny's Place Inn Paradise, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Mahalo! I enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again - hopefully minus the tsunami warning! Quite a story to tell tho and a bit of an adventure to boot. Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#18 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 3,141 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kaanapali Alii
Kaanapali Alii
#2 of 31 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 stars 704 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
#15 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 660 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Maui Guest House
Maui Guest House
#1 of 13 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penny's Place Inn Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penny's Place Inn Paradise

Address: 1440 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Penny's Place Inn Paradise 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Penny's Place Inn Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penny`s Place Inn Paradise Hotel Lahaina
Penny's Place Inn Paradise Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing