We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean resort great location and clean.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gardens at West Maui Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Gardens at West Maui Hotel to your Saves list
The Gardens at West Maui Hotel
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   5500 Lower Honoapiilani Highway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Nice clean resort great location and clean.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had a very spacious one bedroom room. The ladies at check in were very friendly our plane was late coming in and they stayed there for us to check in.
The room was very nice and clean. Its the first time we've stayed in a timeshare and actually cooked in the kitchen. It had everything we needed.
The location was amazing it's not right on the beach like their sister property. Which was the ONLY thing going for it. This one is across the street from one of the best beaches in the world. Great snorkeling too. This is one of the cleanest and nicest timeshares we have traded ours for.
Now the bad news is that it's surrounded by rooster farms. I was really nervous to stay reading the other reviews on the roosters but, I did not hear them at all. My mother- in-law slept on the pull out bed in the living room and said she heard them but they didn't keep her up. The same for my husband and daughter. We really enjoyed our time at this timeshare. My daughter and I even took lei making and hula lessons by the pool. This is a really nice property. The only draw back is that I don't think they have 2 or 3 bedroom rooms. We didn't need it but, in case someone should have a large family it would be nice.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and it was nice we had a big lanai and we could have a nice dinner out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Gardens at West Maui. We are happy that you found our accommodations spacious and our staff friendly. We are glad that you used the kitchen, which was equipped with everything you needed. It sounds like you had a great time exploring the surrounding area. We hope that you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    22
    5
    7
    2
See reviews for
10
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
arizona
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I traded our timeshare for this resort and we enjoyed our stay. My sister and her husband also rented a unit and enjoyed their first trip to Maui. We had units in building four and the roosters were noisy but did not bother us. Other than the roosters the unit was quiet, very nice and well kept. The unit we had was next to the pool on the first floor, no view. My sisters unit was overlooking the pool on the second floor, so we spent most of our time at her unit. The resort is in walking distance of two nice beaches. One of the beaches we have been going to for years for snorkling. A resturant is also near by. The pool was clean and the golf course was next door. The office was closed three days, if you have a problem you only had to call the office phone number and someone would be out to take care of any problems you may have. We had no issues at all. The condo is on the north west side of the island and you have a 50 minutes drive or so from the airport. about ten minute drive to Lahania from the condo. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: bld 4 was quiet. some noise from roosters but not as bad as bld 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for exchanging into The Gardens at West Maui. We are happy that you found your unit quiet and well kept. We are glad that our location was a convenience for enjoying the beach and snorkeling. We hope that you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a beautiful end unit (#300) with windows/doors on 3 sides so it felt airy and open. After reading the reviews, I was so happy to be away from the roosters but the golf course maintenance vehicles start driving up the access road (just a few feet from the lanai) at 4:30 am, so we had to close the back slider and put on the kitchen fan. During the day, the whole resort was quiet the week we were there with not that many people staying there. A few times I was the only one at the pool area so I would be able to read in peace.
Although we did not participate, they have a full week of free activities such as hula lessons, lei making, bracelet making, free ice cream & garden walks. So if you have a family and looking for things to keep them busy, that would be a good option.
The location was great and thought Napili Beach was one of the nicest in Maui. It's fairly small but good snorkeling and swimming. We snorkeled three times there and swam with a giant sea turtle which was one of the highlights of our trip.
Another plus is the Sea House Restaurant across the street. They have a great happy hour but it's pretty busy so make sure you get there early. You can sit outside and watch the sunset from the restaurant. The Napili Kai across the street also has a great "ocean walk" path past the restaurant which leads to a point with good sunset viewing.
Loved the full kitchen with every utensil you could think of so it made it easy to use the gas grill by the pool. The grill was cleaned every day.
We stayed in 4 different resorts on our Maui trip and thought that Napili area was the best location.
We exchanged our timeshare on Cape Cod for this resort and was quite satisfied.

Room Tip: Probably Building 3, 4 or 5 would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Aloha! Thank you for visiting the Gardens at West Maui. We are happy we could justify your decision to forego Cape Cod in favor of our resort in beautiful Kapalua. Our world famous ocean views are definitely worth the exchange. We are happy you got in some quality reading time by our tranquil pool. Our numerous resort activities are fun for the whole family, but can be enjoyed by singles and couples as well. Our close proximity to breathtaking Napili Beach is one of the many benefits of staying at the Gardens at West Maui. Swimming with a giant sea turtle would be high up on anyone’s to-do list. We are glad you found our accommodations with their convenient amenities to your liking. Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreciate your generous review and hope you will consider us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have stayed at this property twice in the past 10 years through timeshare exchanges. On the plus side is the the fact you are in walking distance to some of the best beaches anywhere on the planet. The pool is small, and the room we stayed in this time was quite clean. This was opposed to the unit we stayed in ten years ago. The furniture there was smelly and made us sneeze non-stop.

The unit we stayed in this time was well-maintained, and we didn't hear the chickens next door nearly as much. Unlike other timeshare resorts in this area, the Gardens at West Maui have air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for returning to the Gardens at West Maui. We are glad we could make a more favorable impression on your sinuses this time around. Our tranquil resort is located in Kapalua, in the heart of West Maui. In addition to our proximity to wonderful beaches, we are also close to championship golf courses, great restaurants and unique shops. We hope you will consider us again on your next visit to Maui, but a lot sooner than another 10 years. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

We were at the mercy of our timeshare availability, and when this condo became available, we were a bit hesitant. The reviews are accurate - the roosters are definitely loud and proud, but that didn't affect us one bit. Turn your AC on or play a noise machine in the bedroom, and you'll be fine! The roosters will only bother you if you're already a grouch and want to find something to whine about - you're on Maui - RELAX!

We stayed in building 1, and, while the "view" is dismal, the room was very spacious, clean, and comfortable. We spend very little time in our rooms anyway, and find it silly to pay for inflated luxury services at hotels, so we were quite happy with this condo.

The kitchen is more than fully stocked, the concierge and activities guides are friendly and helpful, and the pool area is private, charming, and quaint.

As far as location goes, it's perfect for tourists - short drive to Lahaina town, and walking distance from the most beautiful beaches on Maui. My husband, having lived on Maui for many years, wanted to tour other small towns on the island, however, and Kapalua is pretty far removed from the rest of Maui. We made it work though!

For the price, The Gardens at West Maui is awesome! Spend your money on fine dining and excursions, not some swanky, over-priced hotel room!

We would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review of your visit. We are happy you chose us and appreciate your complimentary remarks. Our spacious one-bedroom unit is 550 square feet and comes with a kitchen for your convenience. Located in the heart of Kapalua, we are convenient to West Maui’s championship golf courses, restaurants, cafes and unique shops. Staying with us allows you to enjoy a clean, comfortable room while putting your vacation dollars toward the things that matter. Thank you once again for sharing your comments. We hope you will consider us again on your next visit to Maui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
way north
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights in January and rented from an owner for what we felt was a good price.
We didn't know much about the property or area as this was out first time in Hawaii.
We stayed in the 100 building, right beside the office so there was a bit of road noise and of course the chickens, which didn't bother us that much.
The unit was clean but they had the carpet cleaners in while we were there, and the toilet in the master didn't want to flush. When we called the management company about this, we were told someone would be right over to fix it. Strangely, the person who was supposed to fix it sat in his vehicle, reading a book for at least an hour, without doing anything. When we left out room to go out, he was still sitting there but it was fixed when we got back.....
This is also timeshare property and the weekly orientation is designed to solicit interest in other Consolidated? properties in the area.
There was a nice bay for swimming across the street but you need to walk through a different property to get there.
All in all we were satisfied with our stay and had no real issues.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for visiting the Gardens at West Maui. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Adjacent to Kapalua, Maui's 750-acre premier resort community, The Gardens at West Maui offers richly-appointed studios and one-bedroom suites. We have full kitchens with top-of-the-line appliances, washer-dryers, large flat-screen TVs and breathtaking mountain views from private lanais. The Gardens at West Maui is a pristine and tranquil environment that will soothe your spirit with warm aloha. It was our pleasure to solve your difficulty, and we apologize it was an issue to begin with. We appreciate your remarks and hope you will consider us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

You have to be sure you understand what you're getting at The Gardens at West Maui. This is not The Ritz; it is a quality timeshare property. I agree with most of the comments already posted. The property is located in a convenient area near Kapalua, Lahaina, Napili. There are stores and markets close by. The Napili Bay Beach, open to the public, is only one block away. The rooms are dated, but they are clean and well-stocked. The kind-size bed is comfortable and includes a private bathroom. The living room has a convertible bed, which is satisfactory, and also includes a separate bathroom. The unit includes a dishwasher and washer (with detergents for both). The unit has a private balcony; the view from the balcony was the parking lot, but you're in Maui and not paying top dollar for the Hyatt, so who cares? The pool was being renovated, so it was unavailable, but you are one block from the beach so it's no loss. The grounds were nicely maintained. As other people have noted, the roosters make themselves known! The trick is to keep your A/C unit on with the fan blowing at all times, windows closed. You will barely hear the roosters. The office is only open during limited hours, but when we arrived, it was a simple phonecall to the Sands of Kahana office, a quick reach into the convenient lockbox for our keys, and we were in our room in five minutes. Overall, a very positive experience as long as you realize you're at a timeshare, not at a 5-star resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for visiting the Gardens at West Maui. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. You mean there aren’t roosters at the Ritz? Your thorough and well-written review touches on all the features that make us a Maui favorite, from our convenient location to our spacious and amenity-filled rooms. Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreciate the feedback and hope you will consider us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gardens at West Maui Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens at West Maui Hotel

Address: 5500 Lower Honoapiilani Highway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gardens at West Maui Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Gardens at West Maui Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gardens At West Maui Hotel Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.