We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the drive!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leoda's Kitchen and Pie Shop

Leoda's Kitchen and Pie Shop
820 Olowalu Village Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI
(808) 662-3600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 238 Restaurants in Lahaina
Cuisines: American, Bakery
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth the drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

After a few drives to Lahaina from Kihei, and seeing Leoda's place, I got extremely curious about this kitchen and pie shop just off the highway. We ended up driving there for lunch one day and it was totally worth the drive! The food was all home-made and really delicious, however it was the desserts that really 'wow'ed us! It was a bit expensive, but well worth it. And the atmosphere and decor in the restaurant was really cute! Even if you only get dessert, be sure to make it a stop on your list.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    191
    48
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

From the owners of Star Noodle restaurant. This place serves sandwiches and desserts. I had the Macnut chocolate pie, being a chocolate lover I can tell you this pie is incredible. You can tell everything is homemade. Cost is $8.75, a little expensive for a 5 inch pie, but worth it, and a great cup of coffee for only $2.00 (free refills), makes this place a must place to eat in Maui

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
“Yes, it's That good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We landed in Maui and were looking for lunch. Found this wonderful little place on TA.. We went twice in two days, and took sandwiches on our flight home, too! Relaxing, eclectic decor,great for everyone, very nice staff, and the BEST Rueben I've ever had, and I've had many, in many places. My husband had the chicken pot pie, the first day, and we shared both. They were both great lunch items!
And, DO save room for pie, or if you have a fridge of any kind, get the "trio" of baby pies to go; we got the chocolate macadamia, coconut, and banana cream all in a tidy little box, with 2 forks, to go. After dinner, we sat on our lanai, with freshly brewed Kona coffee, and found Hawaiian Heaven in a Box..those pies! Oh wow...
We also had the Pastrami sandwich, which was on good bread, and freshly prepared,.but the meat was too salty for both of us. The tuna salad sandwich with avocado was another sure winner, and I'm not a fan of tuna salad..Unless it is Leoda's! The concierge at our hotel said the egg salad was great, so we will try that next time.
On the last visit, we also got a berry handheld pie, and they wrapped it to go for the plane, and included some fresh whipped cream to dip it in..again, Amazing flavor and texture.
Leoda's is so easy to get to from the airport,and on your way to many attractions and beaches, too. Dine in, or take out..just Dine at Leoda's; and you'll enjoy one of the best lunches and desserts anywhere.
We plan to go back to Maui soon, and our first stop will surely be Leoda's!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“YUMMMM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Okay , if you're looking for some good food to impress your tastebuds - this is the place. Great for lunch, desert, or an early dinner. Find it and eat there you won't be dissappointed. Yummy homemade pies, incredible salads, and huge idelicious sandwiches. I would fly over just to eat there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"Save room for pie!!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

As frequent visitors to Maui my husband & I were pleased to see the recommendation for Leoda's left by the owners of the condo we always use. As we visit so often we have tried most of the existing restaurants and were anxious to try something new. We drove into the parking lot on a busy Saturday afternoon & had to park in a dirt lot next door. As we walked up to Leoda's we could see that there were many folks ahead of us in line to order, but decided to go ahead and get into the line. The ladies taking orders were very fast & extremely pleasant and the line progressed nicely. The biggest dilemma was deciding what to order as everything looked delicious. We ended up with one of the speciality hot dogs and a burger. Both were excellent. We also ordered the "Fried Mac n Cheese"! Delicious. A side worth trying. We both wanted iced tea and the lady taking orders gave us a large bottle of tea which was wonderful & plenty for several refills each. We wanted pie but knew we would be too full, so ordered the pies we wanted and they were boxed up & kept in the refer until we were ready to go. The pies are to die for, the rolls freshly made and delicious, and all in all a very good addition to the already great places to eat in Lahaina. We told several friends about this place & all visited it, some more than once, while we were all on Maui.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leoda's Kitchen and Pie Shop also viewed

 

Been to Leoda's Kitchen and Pie Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leoda's Kitchen and Pie Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.