We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honu Seafood and Pizza

Honu Seafood and Pizza
1295 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI
808-667-9390
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Honu Seafood and Pizza is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 238 Restaurants in Lahaina
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kapunakea Street
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

this place is amazing. Make reservations because it gets packed. We were a little lazy so when reserving at the last minute, 5:00 p.m. was all they had. But we still had a great table up front with a terrific view, and our server never made us feel rushed.

The ahi crostini appetizer was delicious. My craft cocktail was great and my husband was so happy to find Ballast Point Sculpin! The ahi sausage pizza - just amazing. Just the right amounts of fennel and spices.

The restaurant is a step-up from a "pizza" joint and the service was stellar. There were so many things that looked delicious on the menu I was sad we were not able to eat there again. We will definitely be back at Honu on our next Maui trip! Highly, highly recommend.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    180
    73
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“One of our favorite spots”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We love coming to Honu when we visit Maui. The staff and servers are very professional but so friendly. The menu has a wide variety of great dishes locally inspired and with super fresh high quality ingredients. Great wine list as well as excellent choices by the glass. The restaurant sits right on the ocean so the views are amazing!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Was recommended to try honu and we were very glad we did! The location is superb as was the food, and the service as well! Best resteraunt we tried in maui!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The food was great and service was excellent. Try the Kale salad with fresh fish of the day.
Would differently recommend!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This was listed in a local review as the # 2 seafood restaurant in Maui so we decided to try it.

It is a fairly small place and does not look like much from the front. Once you are inside you immediately see that it has a spectacular view of the ocean. Fresh air, lively, good service and the food was really good. I tried the oyster roll and tried the fish and chips, both were very good. The combination of atmosphere and good food made a very pleasant lunch. We were glad we picked this place and I would recommend it.

This is an expensive restaurant. Tipping should be optional. Otherwise it would be a 5 star choice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honu Seafood and Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Honu Seafood and Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honu Seafood and Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.