We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical experience right on the ocean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honu Seafood and Pizza

Honu Seafood and Pizza
1295 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI
808-667-9390
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Honu Seafood and Pizza is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 225 restaurants in Lahaina
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kapunakea Street
Maui
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Magical experience right on the ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The energy of the open casual fun atmosphere is memorable. Mark Ellman has out done himself with this one, of his many restaurants. The burrata cheese tomato cherry bread starter was delicious. Salads, fish, sandwiches were all prepared and served very well. We love this place and highly recommend it if you happen to be in Maui.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    448
    149
    64
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Maui Restaurant Discovery ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Last night my wife and I drove 45+ minutes each way from our condo in Wailea to go for the first time to a restaurant, Honu, highly recommended by a friend. What a find! Food, ambiance, menu variety, service, and price reasonableness all A+. Well worth the long, beautiful drive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great View - Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is a great restaurant. Love my shrimp louis salad. The presentation was beautiful and the flavor was great. We have gone here many times and I have always liked it, but it seems to keep getting better. Their pizza is also very good and their mac and cheese is unlike any other you have every had or made yourself. Mac and Cheese is a must try. You can't beat the view. A few months ago we were there and a large sea turtle (Honu) was sunning on the rocks just 20 feet away from us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, NV
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Did a couple pizzas at the bar and they were average. Did the Ahi Sausage, which was interesting. Enjoyed it. Wouldn't do it again. Wife did a Margarita pizza. It was OK. Both were under cooked and soggy. Wish we would have done full dinner in restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, Ca
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not a step-sister”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is Mala's sister restaurant. We've been there several times and have never been disappointed. The ahi bruschetta and kale salad appetizers were wonderful and the main course mahi mahi and mac/cheese couldn't have been better. Peanut butter dessert was the right size to share and tasted great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honu Seafood and Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Honu Seafood and Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honu Seafood and Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.