We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly, OUTSTANDING!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Honu Seafood and Pizza

Honu Seafood and Pizza
1295 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI
808-667-9390
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Honu Seafood and Pizza is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 239 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kapunakea Street
Vancouver, B.C.
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
482 helpful votes 482 helpful votes
“Truly, OUTSTANDING!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Dined at Honu at the recommendation of friends, and were definitely not disappointed: both the service and food were outstanding for a casual establishment of this nature.

Not to be missed from the dining experience are the Ahi Bruschetta and the Burratta coupled with a Honu signature cocktail.

All this and an ocean view table to accompany the dining experience!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    642
    213
    85
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Tied for Best in Lahaina!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Along with it's sister restaurant, Mala, right next door, Honu is a terrific ocean front place to eat. Excellent, open and airy describes the interior of Honu, with windows opening right out onto the ocean. You could spend hours here, having drinks, eating great food and watching the bay.

We started with a roasted beet and ricotta cheese salad that was just superb. My wife ordered the sausage flat bread with some extra mushrooms. Thin, crispy crust that ballooned into a chewy outer rim...just excellent. I got the Kobe beef burger with white cheddar cheese. Juicy, flavorful, delicious. One of the best burgers I've ever had, and the white cheddar was a real plus. The fries were perfectly fried with regular potato and sweet potato mixed together.

As at Mala, there is a real emphasis on customer service. Our server, Josh, was informed, attentive and had a great sense of humor. So I'll say the same thing I did in my review of Mala: If Honu is full, head right next door and you'll find a different menu, but the same dedication to quality ingredients, freshness, imagination and execution. No better food in Lahaina.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great sandies and great beers...whats not to like?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Had both the bay shrimp and the fried oyster sandies (both times the clams were out of stock -they should take it off the menu and just advertise it as a special when they actually have them).
Both were very tasty on a butter fried roll, with nice frites and a slaw.
Great beer selections, ended up with the 25 oz Leffe which was very nice with the sandies.
Give the pizza a miss though, had a sausage and arugula and it was rather uninspired, under cooked and didnt have very much arugula. Nice water front location.
Lots of people had other seafood and it all looked good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, TX
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
292 helpful votes 292 helpful votes
“I had higher expectations for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Honu, a very small waterfront restaurant, came highly recommended as a “must” from an acquaintance who is a part-time Maui resident. I know that prices are extremely high in Maui but, suffice it to say, I do have certain expectations when it comes to dropping hard earned big bucks

First, reservations are essential, especially if wanting with a table literally overlooking the water where fishing boats are moored or to just enjoy the sunset. This means an early dinner since, depending on the month, the sun sets between 5:45 and 6:45pm. And yes, people who arrive early do linger at their table until the sun has slipped away. There are only a couple of actual tables for 2 but the place is so small that you can see the sun set from almost any location however folks with a table overlooking the water would often see large fish leaping out of the sea. This is a full western exposure so, at times, the glare from the setting sun could be blinding. (Despite sunscreens over the windows I wore sunglasses, indoors, throughout dinner.) Regarding this location, yes, it is waterfront but IMHO, there are other waterfront/oceanfront restaurants that have a much better ambiance.

I ordered their signature Hibiscus Martini and was a bit disappointed. - I expected a bit more in the way of floral notes instead of a glorified Cosmo. My brother ordered the lava flow (pina colada and strawberry) and it was excellent. It tasted like it was actually made from fresh ingredients rather than from some prefab corn syrupy mix.

The first of Honu’s signature dishes recommended by both my acquaintance and the server was the ahi tuna bruchetta appetizer. I ordered the half portion (2 pieces for $14.00) and received a delicious but miniscule portion of charred ahi topping a tiny piece of wasabi buttered toast. These two pieces were literally bite sized.

Bro ordered the small romaine salad ($9.00) and it was, indeed, a small dinner sized salad that would not have been enough to share.

For the entrée I had been considering a bowl of steamed muscles (a $17.00 appetizer) but opted for the highly touted fresh catch of the day, mahi dore style, which was the most expensive item on the menu at $42.00. The fish was very lightly coated, pan fried, and covered with a caper, lemon butter sauce. It was served over a bed of Turkish couscous and fresh vegetables. The dish was good but didn’t knock my socks off for the price. The portion was generous and, in truth, I probably could have eaten half and taken the rest as leftovers.

My bro, not a fish eater, ordered the kobe cheeseburger and fries ($20.00). The burger was large and served with a heaping portion of white and sweet potato fries.
He said it was good but not as good as Teddy’s (more on that in a different review).

So, the tab for two cocktails, one iced tea, two appetizers, 2 entrees, and a tip came to $130.00.

The restaurant itself has a very casual vibe so shorts at dinner is adequate attire. Eyeing the bowl of mussels served to the table next to us, it looked like a good sized portion and I regretted not going with my first inclination to order it as my entrée. And, as delicious as the ahi bruchetta was, I don’t think it warranted the price of $7.00 per bite.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Nj
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We decided to try Honu restaurant on a whim. The food was excellent, the service was amazing and the view is just beautiful. It is a bit expensive but it is worth it. If you go, you must have the ahi tuna bruscetta, it is delicious. It was one of the best meals we had in Maui.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honu Seafood and Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Honu Seafood and Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honu Seafood and Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.