We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great happy hour pupu's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Five Palms Lahaina - CLOSED

Five Palms Lahaina
1450 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
8086610937
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $33
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Honoapiilani Hwy.
Mill Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great happy hour pupu's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Quality pupu's at half off from 3-7pm. Not real busy, staff was nice, friendly, happy. View was great, though not right on the water. Traffic light detracts from the quiet beach view but hey, pupu's are half off and you're hanging out in Lahaina on a beautiful day. No worries....

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    41
    18
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“best value happy hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

$2 pacifico's all night and half off apps, cool location, by the ocean with great outdoor seating. Apps include sushi, great value!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stopped in for dinner one night recognizing this as a restaurant we visited in 2009, which was named Canoe's back then.

The food, prices, and our waiter were very good. The inside of the restaurant hasn't been updated in years and could use a make over. Although we didn't get there in time, it looks like they have pretty decent early-bird specials.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Solid Happy Hour with a Good View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We went to Five Palms in Lahaina for the first happy hour from 3-7 pm. We were initially a bit wary, because the restaurant does not have a website operating at this time. We sat outside on a deck.

The mai tais were among the $4 drinks, and we found them quite good. As one who finds mai tais too sweet, the juice mixture was tart enough to counter the rum. The $4 drinks are served in a cocktail rocks glass about half the size of a pint. Also, these are not weak happy hour drinks, the rum was quite generous. At one point we almost wanted a little less rum, which is not a complaint, since I have never had too generous of an alcohol serving during happy hour.

The sushi and appetizers are discounted fifty percent during happy hour with the minimum of one drink per person. The prices were then about four to six dollars for a variety of sushi rolls and delicious appetizers. We tried the vegetarian sushi, spicy tuna roll, teriyaki tidbits, and kung bao calamari all of which were well made and presented.

My wife is unable to drink alcohol at this juncture, so they counted my two drinks as our minimum. We treated the apps more like tapas and made a meal of it. I believe we will go again while we are here. We were quite happy.

Oh, also there was live music. A gentleman was singing classics with a backup soundtrack. As a musician normally I would be a bit wary of such a setup, but hey it was actually classy and done well. Of course, rum can do that as well.

Cheers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“5 star view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I love Five Palms in Lahaina! The view is truly amazing...the ocean, sunset, whales..and the atmosphere is wonderful..everyone makes you feel very welcome. The food is very good. I live in the Lahaina area and I go once a week..for many reasons. I highly recommend it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Palms Lahaina also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Palms Lahaina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.