We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must-Do in Maui” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rivers to the Sea

Rivers to the Sea
126 Hinau St., Unit A, Lahaina, Maui, HI
808-280-8795
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 165 Activities in Lahaina
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once in a life time beginner surf lessons which take place five minutes south of LAHAINA and advanced surf lessons which take place right in the heart of Paia. The Rivers brothers and our team of professional, fun & experienced surf instructors invite you to join in on the fun of becoming a surfer! With our Maui surf lessons, you will be welcomed to the surfing world with plenty of aloha and taught to surf with an emphasis on water safety and proper surfing etiquette. By the end of your lesson you will learn how to stand up, stay up and catch a wave all on your own!
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Must-Do in Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I had a one-on-one lesson with Tide and it was awesome! The surf was amazing and I really enjoyed my first time surfing. Well worth the expense to get the best instruction. I highly recommend Rivers to the Sea for everyone of all level of experience.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great lesson, great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Tide was our instructor and explained everything clearly and simply. We were up on the boards in no time , even though this was our first time surfing. We would highly recommend. We were in a group of 3.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“well worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Our private two-person lesson was well worth it. After quickly going over the basics on the beach, we immediately went out into the water. Our guide knew the perfect spot to catch waves, and gave us a helpful push the first couple of times. Throughout the lesson, he provided insightful feedback and warm encouragement. In a matter of minutes, we were standing and riding the waves! I couldn't asked for anything more.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My wife and I were really excited to take a surf lesson while on our honeymoon and Rivers to the Sea was a great choice. We had a lot of fun and we were up and riding very quickly. The private lessons give you all the individual attention you could need from help paddling out to an extra push to be in position to catch a wave. Wangdu was a great instructor and a very nice guy. He went over all the essentials of board position and alignment, paddling technique, how to end a ride and fall off your board. We got right to it and caught many waves during our session!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

My surfing lesson with Kiva was by far the most fun
activity that I had on Maui. He was constantly reminding
me of the basics of surfing, and as a first time surfer,
I managed to have several good rides. I couldn't have
picked a better way to spend my 50th birthday!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rivers to the Sea also viewed

 

Been to Rivers to the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rivers to the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.