We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Relaxing Environment, but so much for "Aloha"!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aina Nalu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Aina Nalu to your Saves list
Aina Nalu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   660 Wainee Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Value and Relaxing Environment, but so much for "Aloha"!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

Easy to find just behind the main through road, I arrived on Sunday afternoon for a week's stay on Maui, but as for 'Aloha" ....... ?! I was confronted by the most unwelcoming welcome I have had at any hotel, ever – xyz the Sunday receptionist at the Outrigger Aina Nalu, had clearly graduated with honours from charm-removal school. She was disinterested, unhelpful and unfriendly. On the map of the complex she rapidly circled various facilities and services, of which I missed a couple, on asking her to repeat the last two, she folded the map, passed it over with a scowl and told me all I needed to know was on the back. I then had the temerity to enquire whether my room was a Garden View room as booked – “All our rooms are Garden View rooms!” she spat. When I returned to ask, as instructed on the back of ‘the map’, for the access codes for the complementary WiFi at the Pool Area, her response was a staccato “What WiFi?”. When I explained, she stated that there was only WiFi at the pool area - not so, also at reception - and there were no access codes. I’m so glad that I asked!

Although the garden view consisted of a row of palms separating the sitting and bedrooms from a courtyard, and the rooms were a little dark, the place was enormous and fully kitted – the kitchen/diner, sitting room, bedroom, utility and shower-room were clean and well appointed. The complex is set in large well kept gardens with two pools, barbecuing facilities and has three free WiFi hotspots. It is towards the back of Lahaina, which means that it is away from the hustle and bustle of the main drag, but it is only a three minute walk to Front Street and the harbour. As for the parking charges, yes they are steep and irritating, but parking isn't always easy on the very busy and narrow streets, so it is a small price to pay. If they didn't charge, no doubt the rates would rise!

All in all, it was a great place to stay and explore Maui, I would certainly go again, but my rating reflects the intermittent quality of reception, they were generally better than xyz, but not always and she was there to see me off the premises when I left, her usual surly and 'irritated at the inconvenience of it all' self. Pity really, it took the edge of an otherwise enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    333
    123
    51
    39
See reviews for
294
343
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, DE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

This location is perfect for anyone looking to enjoy all the great "feel" that the town of Lahaina has to offer. It's close to all the shopping centers and more importantly close to Front Street and the beach / waterfront.

A very clean place with great layouts in the rooms with lots of living space and kitchen space with beautiful bathrooms and a very functional washer and dryer unit.

The pools were well placed and nicely decorated.

Perfect location for a couple, a single or a family
A great choice

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

Was everything my family was looking for. We stayed in a two bedroom two bathroom unit and the washer/dryer came in handy. Kitchen was perfect and was more then adequate. All rooms were air conditioned and the location to Front Street was very convienient. Only complaint is the same as all others, the price to pay for parking. There is little to no parking on the street and Aina Nalu will not allow you to park/pay per day. It would be better for Aina Nalu to just add this price into the cost of the room so you don't feel like you are getting ripped off. This was a small issue that did not take away from the resort or trip. Pools are both great and uncrowded and the grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL USA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

Except for the fact that my wife got lost on the grounds at night and the lack of free Internet in the rooms, this was an excellent value. Free wireless Internet is available in the lobby and by the pool. The buildings and pools are spread out over low-lit grounds, attractive but can be confusing. There's not much beach at Lahaina, but the town is neat-funky and we enjoyed walking around. These condos are in an excellent location for doing that. It's a short drive to the beaches further up the coast, but a much longer drive to the airport at Kahului (40 minutes) and even further to the road to Hana or to the Haleakala volcano or to the better beaches along the Wailea coast.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, WA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

We had a wonderful time in maui and the rooms were amazing for the money. Location was perfect, within walking distance to town and the harbor. The bummer part of the hotel was the parking situation. They charge you $15 PER DAY to park in their lot, and there is tons of space!! Luckily we found a parking space on the street every day for 2 weeks. The housekeepers were really nice but they would knock every day around 830am! Too early! We asked for a King but were given a Queen sized bed. Other than that, we will probably stay in an Outrigger again. For our 2 week stay it was very nice to have a full kitchen and a washer and dryer in the room.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

I stayed at this hotel last week, we had originally booked for 2 days, but ended up returning for 4 more. The condition of the rooms is excellent, the staff was friendly and helpful and the pools and grounds are beautiful. The hotel is located only 2 blocks from all of the shops and the ocean and it is easy to walk to everything. We stayed at a different Outrigger hotel for 1 night, and this hotel was 100 times better. We stayed in both 2 bedroom and 1 bedroom units.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

Our stay was great! It's in a great location on a quiet street in Lahaina and walking distance to a lot of great restaurants. The rooms were clean and brightly lit with sunlight. The pools were very relaxing with great views of the west Maui mountains. If you're looking to be on the beach, this is not the place to stay. If you're looking for something likr the Ritz, this is not it. However, If you're looking for a high quality place to lay your head at night with a great price and a convenient location, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aina Nalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aina Nalu

Address: 660 Wainee Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aina Nalu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a mile of the beach, this newly-renovated Maui resort is set in the heart of historic town of Laihana. Two-bedroom accommodations have 846 square feet of space that includes a full kitchen. Flat-screen TVs offer pay movies. Guests can take advantage of the outdoor swimming pool and barbecue grills on site. The front desk is open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aina Nalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Aina Nalu Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Aina Nalu Resort
Aina Nalu Resort
Lahaina Outrigger
Aina Nalu Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aina Nalu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.