We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, room a little unusual” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aina Nalu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aina Nalu to your Saves list
Aina Nalu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   660 Wainee Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good location, room a little unusual”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2006

We stayed in Lahaina for two nights. We picked the Aina Nalu because there weren't many hotels near downtown, and we could get a military rate ($129/night).

We weren't sure what to expect because of the renovations. One thing we didn't like was the apparently lack of elevators, so we had to haul our bags up one flight of stairs. We had a room that had been redone, and it was nice to have a kitchen with all the basic amenities (even plates and glasses, a coffee maker, toaster, etc), even though we didn't end up using much of it. We loved the overall decor, though I thought some of the features should've been better thought out. The room was pretty small, and the bed took up a lot of space, so it was awkward to figure out where to put our bags. Also, the bed was set up so we were at 90 degrees from the wall (lying parallel to it). This was difficult for watching TV, and our pillows kept coming out from under our heads.

We appreciated the new bathroom, but two things were inconvenient. The shower is open (no curtain or door), which would make it hard for families to stay there because of no privacy. Also, the vanity didn't have any counterspace, so there was nowhere to put our toiletries.

One of the things that really bothered us was all the outside noise at night. It sounded like it was coming from the parking lot, though it could've been a street or two over. While the hotel may not have been able to do anything about it, the bongo drum playing at 2am was pretty annoying. So staying one street off the main road had its pluses and minuses.

That said, we loved the location and being able to walk all over Lahaina. The town was fun and had plenty of affordable food options - it was great to be there at night. That alone made the Aina Nalu worth staying at. We peaked into some of the larger redone rooms on our hall, and the extra space (and maybe larger bathrooms) might be worth paying for. If we went there again, we'd probably upgrade. I'll give the hotel the benefit of the doubt that they've still got a way to go with the renovations, so we didn't see the finished project. As long as you realize it may not be the typical hotel room you're used to, you should be fine.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Odd room features
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    334
    123
    51
    39
See reviews for
294
344
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
home
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2006

We just returned from our 6 night stay at the Aina Nalu Resort. I was nervous about booking this hotel, because there wasn't many reviews and it was still under construction. But the price we got on a two bedroom, two bath couldn't be beat. When we arrived we were impressed by the bueatiful outdoor lobby. We had arrived early and our room wan't ready so we just walked down to front street for lunch. When we returned the room was ready, we were on the second floor and away from any construction. I was instantly impressed by this condo. The kitchen had everything you would want and it had looked like nothing had ever been used. The livingroom was a nice size and had a flat screen t.v. The bedrooms were seperated by the livingroom. The master bedroom had a king size bed and another flat screen tv and plenty of dresser space. The bathroom was attached and had a huge shower and a linen closet. My children age 12 & 14 shared the other bedroom wich had two twin beds and had its own tv (not a flat screen). The only problem with this room was that there was no dresser but the closet had a shelf and plenty of hangers. Their bathroom was across from their room and had a closet with the washer & dryer and also had a huge shower and plenty of drawers and a medicine cabnit. The decor throughout the condo was bueatiful.
I was so impressed and so happy that we had decided to stay here instead of spending more on less space.

The pool was not the greatest and the newer pool is still underconstruction, but we only went swimming one night. There is no beach within walking distance but you can walk to all of the restaurants and shops on front street. We were also close to the dock where we went parasailing. Beaches were a short drive away and never seemed like an issue not to have one within walking distance.

We did not have prolems with noise, bugs or ants. We hardly saw anyone else and never had to go to the lobby except to check in and out. We would come here again and hopefully when the place is done the prices won't go up to much

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2006

We stayed here for 5 days. The resort is just getting started (Outrigger bought out the former Maui Islander). We were among the first to check into the new lobby, which is was an open aired tropical entranceway. The staff was very friendly but a bit slow at checking us in due to the newly installed computer system. We were told they were completely done with the renovations but found there was a section of the resort that was still in progress including the parking lot outside of our building. We weren't bothered so much by the consturction noise but the dirt and huge moving equipment made it a bit annoying. This was all overlooked as we entered our room/condo. I had booked a 1 bedroom with a kitchen but they gave us a 2 bedroom! EVERYTHING was new and I am quite a snob when it comes to decor and name brand appliances (I'm from Orange County in California). We were very impressed with what they did with the place. Did I mention new appliances, Whrlpool, American Standard, and Kohler! And the TV in our bedroom was a DELL flat screen 26 inch. My techy husband was also very impressed. The only weird thing that was the TV in the living room was a regular 20 inch. I figured it was the only one that could fit into the armoire? The bathroom was covered in slate tile throughout and the shower was deep enough so you didn't even need a shower curtain. I think we were the first ones to use the toaster and washer/dryer. Even the dishes and silverware were shiny and immaculate. The only bad part was there were tiny ants everywhere! We had to put our snacks in the microwave and I was scared to sit on the toilet because they were crawling around there too! It's Hawaii though, rather ants than others...I would go back in a heart beat. It's walking distance from Front Street and since you have to pay $8 for parking, we just walked everywhere.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2006

We stayed 5 nights at the Aina Nalu in March.

This hotel was (still is) the Maui Islander, which refers to the old, unremodeled hotel. That part is a dump, with little to no toiletries, dirty rooms and tiny bugs crawling all over the bathroom. However, the newly remodeled condo-style Aina Nalu rooms are fabulous! They are beautiful with very tasteful furnishings, flat-screen TVs in each bedroom, complete kitchen with everything you need to cook provided for you. This is helpful in Maui where eating out can get expensive. If you're booking this, make sure you're in one of the Aina Nalu rooms. We also loved the bathrooms with the natural stone floors and stone showers that are open (no door or curtain but deep enough) and the Aveda toiletries.

They are building the new pool (still just a pit of dirt in March), but the old Maui Islander pool is there, but we didn't use it. Seemed so-so.

We loved our stay here and loved being able to walk through Lahaina every night and not having to drive everywhere. The only drawback is you're not on a beach. You'd have to drive to one. When there, we got a promotional price since all the renovations are ongoing. When this place is finally finished the prices will climb so enjoy it now! A photo's worth a thousand words, so look at our photos of the Aina Nalu units.

Stayed March 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2006

Aina Nalu was absolutely faboulous. The rooms are beautiful, flat screen TV's and all. The location was great, we walked a block to all the restaurants & shops-so nice not to drive!! The property has just undergone major renovation...Enjoy this wonderful boutique property in the heart of Lahaina, we did!!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2006

We found our condo on the VRBO website, so our condo was completely remoldeled. The inside was beautiful, we wake early so we never had a problem with construction noise or street noise (never really heard it when we were awake). We were pretty close to everything that we wanted to do. We had a washer/dryer in ours, 2 beds/2 baths, full kitchen, air conditioning. The large pool is not completed yet, but they do have a pool (the ocean is much warmer).

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2006

AWFUL!! Shabby furniture, old decrepit everything, bad service, and bugs. So much yellow caution tape due to construction, we thought we were in a massive crime scene. Spend just a few more dollars and go to Pioneer Inn or Lahaina Shores resort and avoid this dump!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aina Nalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aina Nalu

Address: 660 Wainee Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aina Nalu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a mile of the beach, this newly-renovated Maui resort is set in the heart of historic town of Laihana. Two-bedroom accommodations have 846 square feet of space that includes a full kitchen. Flat-screen TVs offer pay movies. Guests can take advantage of the outdoor swimming pool and barbecue grills on site. The front desk is open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aina Nalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Aina Nalu Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Aina Nalu Resort
Aina Nalu Resort
Lahaina Outrigger
Aina Nalu Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aina Nalu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.