We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aina Nalu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aina Nalu to your Saves list
Aina Nalu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   660 Wainee Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Comfy place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Good size 2 bedroom apartment. Excellent amenities in the room. Excellent location.
Only problem we had was the washing machine and phone didn't work but staff were very accommodating. Air conditions was loud.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Aloha gammynoir,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. I apologize your washer and phone were not working. If you would like to contact me directly I would be happy to reconfirm this problem has been corrected.

Please let me know if you need any assistance with booking your next stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    334
    123
    51
    39
See reviews for
294
344
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

let's get to the point.

the pros:
- great location to the town! not far from beaches and the main highway
- also not far from the outlet malls of maui, and grocery store (foodland)
- we went there for a destination wedding, so we knew of other guests in other suites. we noted most of the suites had renovations done -- however, some were more upgraded than others. we lucked out with the renovations in our room.
- convenient for families and friends traveling together. our two-bedroom suite was suitable for a family with a child & a baby, and a couple.
- dishware and cutlery was nice, as well as the cookware.
- washing machine helped us lots! especially since we were at the beach a lot and also with young children
- for our suite, the doors to the bedrooms were soundproof. definitely appreciated since we had to share our suite with a young family.
- the pools were great!
- love the layout of the bathroom. spacious and clean.

the cons:
- for a hotel, I had certain expectations for comfort -- this was not met as I arrived slightly before 11pm that night to find a certain corner in my room filled with ants traveling to and from a whole/crack in the wall. given the hotel was booked full, we didn't have a chance to switch rooms. we had to paid for ant traps out of pocket, but maintenance did come in upon request to spray the room with ant-spray. definitely not pleasant. fortunately, the massive quantities of ants stopped, while there were still a few found during the visit. this helped in making my stay eventually comfortable.
- although cockroaches are supposedly common in the Hawaiian Islands, I also had expectations that these would be taken care of. A friend of ours that lived in another suite had found one, and they had very young infants. again, would expect at a B&B or motel, so was slightly disappointed.
- soundproofing is not the best. we could hear the kids upstairs in the suite jumping around loudly at times.
- paid parking is an arm and a leg, given there are also nearby lots around the hotel that charge much less. there is limited free street parking, so it makes it hard for young families.

overall, i would consider coming back - with hopes that the first two cons will not be an issue with the next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This Place is great for spending a few Days in Lahaina, the location is great, just a few steps from Front street. The hotel is made up of a number of Buildings in a tropical setting with lots of palm trees and other plants, each building has 2 floors. Our unit had a big kitchen/living room, a big bedroom and washer/dryer next to the bath room so there was Everything you need. The interior was really nice and felt very modern yet cosy but stylish. There are 2 pools, one main pool with a big sitting area under a roof with a TV and bath rooms where there was internet. There's also a smaller pool, both are very nice. Check in and check out was very smooth and the staff very friendly. A very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Aloha sannis82,

Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review. I'm so pleased the property met your expectations and possibly more. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking another stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I wasn't sure what to expect when we book our vacation package through Costco travel. But, what a gem this location turned out to be. The location is within a few blocks of front street in Lahaina. The rooms were large and extremely clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. There are two pools on the property one which is a saltwater. Parking is plenty fun but the resorts charges $17 a day for it which is minor with the limited street parking in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Aloha Jay F,

thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of all the property has to offer. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The rooms are like apartments. They have a bedroom, bathroom, kitchen and living room. There are 2 pools and a hot tub. There's an alley across the street which takes you straight to Front street so there's no need to drive and hunt for a parking place. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Aloha GK19792014,

thank you for taking the time to post your fantastic review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the convenience of the property. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Please contact me directly if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We loved our room at this property. We loved being close to Front Street. What we didn't love was paying for parking on the property. We also didn't love the security person watching over us while we were in the pool at night. Or the person that owns one if the units telling us we are breaking rules and then watching over us like a hawk the rest of our time there....definitely had it's perks at this people try but also several things we weren't happy with.
It's a nice place but we will be staying in one of our previous properties next trip.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Aloha Busybee1228,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your unit and the convenience of the property. I hope you will contact me directly in regard to the things you did not like at the property as I would like to pass along specific information to the appropriate people to investigate what happened. I look forward to hearing from you.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country NSW
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stayed here in 2010 and loved the property. Coming back three years later, it is still fabulous. The location is excellent and you can walk everywhere, staff were helpful and friendly, room was spacious and very clean. The gardens and pool area were well maintained and very clean and tidy. We had six nights here and loved it. It's like being in a resort but with the convenience of being close to the local town. There was nothing about Aina Nalu that we could complain about. Everything met our expectations. Wifi is only available near the pool and reception areas but it's hardly that important when on holidays. Thanks for a great stay. We hope that we get to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Aloha LouiseS220,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope you'll be able to visit us again as well.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aina Nalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aina Nalu

Address: 660 Wainee Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aina Nalu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a mile of the beach, this newly-renovated Maui resort is set in the heart of historic town of Laihana. Two-bedroom accommodations have 846 square feet of space that includes a full kitchen. Flat-screen TVs offer pay movies. Guests can take advantage of the outdoor swimming pool and barbecue grills on site. The front desk is open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aina Nalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Aina Nalu Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Aina Nalu Resort
Aina Nalu Resort
Lahaina Outrigger
Aina Nalu Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aina Nalu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.