We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maui Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Aina Nalu

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Aina Nalu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Outrigger Aina Nalu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   660 Wainee Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #21 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Monterey, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Maui Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The location was perfect for us...walk to town for dinner and shopping or catch a movie at the theater after being tourist or beach bums all day.
We had a 2 bedroom 2 bath - separated by living room and kitchen. We were on the first floor so the ceilings are not as tall as the 2nd floor units so for taller folks the ceiling fans could be concern...so we just didn't use them. The beds were fine, lots of towels, loved having the washer and dryer and each room had a TV.
The only issue was the unit needs a good spring cleaning...the thick layer of dust caused us sneezing fits.

Room Tip: the kitchen is stocked with all the small appliances like toaster, coffee maker and blender.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Outrigger Aina Nalu, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Aloha juliej2013,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. You also have provided other guests with some ideas for their next stays with us. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking another stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    358
    314
    112
    48
    35
See reviews for
276
322
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

pros: we loved the location of this place. everything on front street was literally 5 mins away. made cruise trips and finding food and groceries very easy. we could just park at the location and walk everywhere (which is great cos parking is difficult to find). Pool was also very nice. they had grills out by the pool for ppl to grill their own food which is great if you want to do that. we were in a 2 bed 1 bath. the kitchen was a nice size and lots of utensils were provided.

cons: the place has no wireless internet in the room. It does at hotspots near the pool and there is wired internet in the room. we couldnt use our tablet or comp who's wire we hadn't brought. They should upgrade on that. only one of the 2 bedrooms had AC and the living room had it too. those of our party in the second room were a little uncomfortable. the agent who sells timeshare vacations was a little agressive. i preferred to just walk down to the harbor and get brochures of all options available.

Room Tip: the 2 bed 1 bath has a bigger kitchen and living space than the 2 bed 2 bath which is convenient if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Outrigger Aina Nalu, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Aloha portlander123,

thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. I'm glad to see you were able to enjoy your stay with us. And we agree that the property is a great home base for guests who enjoy exploring the island.

I would enjoy hearing back from you in regard to the internet in the unit and why you were not able to plug your computer into the ethernet port. I will also pass along your comments in regard to the agent you were speaking about.

Please contact me if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us. And I look forward to hearing from you soon about the internet.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Forest, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We rented through an owner on another website and loved our unit. It was modern and extremely comfortable. The grounds are very well kept but you have to pay if you want to park your car in their lot. We were fortunate enough to easily find free street parking everyday of our stay. Loved the pool, it was a great place to hang out when we were sick of dealing with sand. The location is perfect, walking distance to all the shops and restaurants in Lahaina. It was also a convenient place to use as a base to explore the rest of the island without feeling like you've been in a car forever. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daejeon, South Korea
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

The good:
Two bed room condo was great for a family.

The salt water pool was a nice touch.

Short drive or long walk to a wonderful reef protected beach that is perfect for children (baby beach)

Restaurants in the neighborhood are plentiful

The bad;

Worst bed I have ever sleep on (no joke). The mattresses are terrible and offer no support. Every night was painful.

The service--having read other reviews I expected this, but being disinterested is one thing, but I witnessed what I would say was unprofessional behavior towards another guest (it was embarassing to watch. Don't expect to get help. Take care of your own problems.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bed, 1 bath unit. It was great to have a full kitchen to store breakfast foods, snacks, and wonderful fresh fruit. We liked the unit - clean and well maintained. We liked having the washer/dryer in the bathroom so we could pack lighter. The staff was pleasant, and my daughter really enjoyed the smaller pool -- which was active but not overcrowded. The condos are located near enough to walk to many attractions, and was a convenient location for exploring farther by car as well.

Only two small complaints - the AC in the living room was incredibly loud, and there was no AC in the second bedroom so it could get quite stuffy. However, we weren't in our room during the hottest part of the day, so we could run the AC for a while in the evening to cool the place down and then just open up the windows and run the fans.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Outrigger Aina Nalu, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Aloha springcircle,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. I'm glad to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Outrigger Aina Nalu and were able to take advantage of staying in a condo. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This condo is two blocks from Front St in Lahaina. Quiet location walking distance to entire town. Friendly staff no issues. Modern, clean fully stocked dishes and utensils. Very comfortable. We would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Outrigger Aina Nalu, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Aloha MelissaH2052,

thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. It was clear and concise and we appreciate your postive response. Please let me know if you need any assistance in making your next booking with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our stay at aina nalu was fantastic. The place is close to the restaurants, shops and the beaches. Great location!!!! The place has an awesome pool with an AMAZING view of the mountains. So peaceful and clean. The only thing that we didn't like is this one front desk older lady. She was kind of unprofessional and rude when we asked for hotel information and some towels. aside from that, everything was great. Another thing we didn't agree is that there was no WiFi available in the rooms. You have to go to the pool area or in the lobby to get WiFi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Aina Nalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Aina Nalu

Address: 660 Wainee Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#21 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Outrigger Aina Nalu 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a mile of the beach, this newly-renovated Maui resort is set in the heart of historic town of Laihana. Two-bedroom accommodations have 846 square feet of space that includes a full kitchen. Flat-screen TVs offer pay movies. Guests can take advantage of the outdoor swimming pool and barbecue grills on site. The front desk is open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Outrigger Aina Nalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Aina Nalu Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Aina Nalu Resort
Aina Nalu Resort
Lahaina Outrigger
Outrigger Aina Nalu Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Aina Nalu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.