We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Nice for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aina Nalu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aina Nalu to your Saves list
Aina Nalu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   660 Wainee Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Rosemount, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Super Nice for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed May 2013 in the 2 bedroom 1 bath unit (H-205) For the price we payed I was amazed at the unit. Nothing fancy and you don't get any extras, but if you're looking to save some $$ than this is a great place. Close to town so you can just walk there. They do provide you with all the plates, pans, paper towels, laundry detergent and any other basics that you need.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Aloha Jenny B,

thank you for posting your positive review. I'm so pleased your were able to not only enjoy your stay but also found great value in it. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Please contact me if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    346
    128
    54
    39
See reviews for
303
354
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

It should be noted that we did not travel to Maui for the resort life. We were just looking for a place to rest while we did all of our island adventures. This place more than exceeded our expectations. We were originally booked for a studio and were upgraded to a one/one. I was extremely content with the upgrade since it allowed us to wash our clothes and use the kitchenette. The location is optimal; walking distance to Front Street, which is full of restaurants and shops and the Lahaina harbor should you be taking any boats out of this place. The pool and heated pool were a very nice touch. You have the view of the west Maui peaks in the backdrop. Also, we won a sunset cocktail cruise (2 for the price of 1) at the 1st day complimentary breakfast. Okay, to be fair, the complimentary breakfast is a bit pitiful, but I would recommend you go just for the opportunity to win something. The only thing I would advice against is paying for parking. We stayed 8 nights and we found parking on 7 of those 8 nights. The night we didn't, we parked in an overnight lot just down the street for $3.00 less than the hotel's price. When we did find parking, we parked right outside of the hotel. The only thing that was a bit questionable was the cleanliness of the bedsheets heh!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

i stayed in a 2-br, 2-bath condo with my husband and another couple. the room was very modern with an impressive kitchen and bathrooms.

it is a 2-minute walk into town, which was perfect for a night out after a day on the beach. a 20-minute $2 bus ride will take you to whaler's village and kaanapali beach.

i got to spend a brief morning at the pool but wish i had more time to enjoy the pool and bbq.

i would recommend the condos to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Aloha jooliecoolie,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. You have noted a couple good tips for other guests. I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend us to other guests.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We 've stayed at the Outrigger Aina Nalu for years but this time, it was very disappointing. It was dirty and frankly, we will look for other location next time. Apparently they've been stratified and different owners for the units/buildings and although they offer daily housekeeping, it comes with a $50 charge per day. Consequently, we had finger nail clippings, stained mattress covers, and heavy accumulation of dust on window coverings.

Room Tip: I dont think theres a bad location if they were all clean but not sure what the other buildings were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Aloha SierraBc,

thank you for posting your review. I'm sorry the unit did not meet your expectations. I apologize you were not informed of the changes to our housekeeping service prior to your arrival. Please email me as I would like more information on your stay so we can be sure this does not happen again.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I am a little leery of writing a great review because I would love to keep this place a secret. However, the property deserves some recognition. First, it's location is best for a short block walk to Front Street. The attention to the upkeep and cleanliness of the place is noticeable from the grounds, to the pool, to the living space. My only reservation about the property is it can seem a bit dark because of the architecture of the place, but the pool areas and other outside areas are sunny and welcoming. Best value in Maui. Great for families or couples. All amenities and updated!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

When we arrived at this hotel we weren't unsure of what we may have found. But... The room is sooo nice. Almost everything is brand new. We had a 1 room bedroom and we had a fully equipped kitchen with oven, microwaves, big fridge and the dishwasher. In the toilet we found a fantastic washing machine and a very useful dryer.

The hotel is well located.
The only thing missed was a bar in the hotel.
If you need to clean up the room you will have to pay a fee.
Maui is really far from our country but i would come back in this hotel if i could!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Aloha russolalaura,

thank you fo much for taking the time to post your positive review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I spent lots of time trying to figure out where to stay on Maui, and when Aina Nalu had a rate of $115/night + tax offered for a one-bedroom it became the clear choice. Recently renovated, full kitchen, washer/dryer, excellent central location, no resort fees, no maids I feel obligated to tip to straighten my bedsheets. Exactly what I wanted.

You can easily avoid the extra $15/day parking charge if you're willing to walk a little further. I parked on the nearby streets for free without a problem, and $15/day is more than what the surrounding pay-lots charge as well.

The unit was very large and mostly renovated (some things were still from the dark ages, such as some nasty green night stands and bedspread). I was on the second floor and beside the highway, but noise was never a problem at night. The AC easily drowned out external noises and I slept great.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, even at a higher nightly rate.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Aloha tch77,

thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. You have noted some great tips for other guests. Please contact me in regard to the unit you stayed in so we can make sure it meets our standard requirements.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aina Nalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aina Nalu

Address: 660 Wainee Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#23 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aina Nalu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a mile of the beach, this newly-renovated Maui resort is set in the heart of historic town of Laihana. Two-bedroom accommodations have 846 square feet of space that includes a full kitchen. Flat-screen TVs offer pay movies. Guests can take advantage of the outdoor swimming pool and barbecue grills on site. The front desk is open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aina Nalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Aina Nalu Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Aina Nalu Resort
Aina Nalu Resort
Lahaina Outrigger
Aina Nalu Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aina Nalu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.